We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Al Villa Romantica

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Al Villa Romantica
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Al Villa Romantica
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Warner Beach KZN South Africa
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Location great. Rooms, bedding and cleanliness great. Owner George is foreign so communication is poor. No keys given so we were locked out. His cellphone went to voicemail, and he was full of excuses. Property is run down, so does not look like the website - deck tables broken, astro turf on deck loose, and flaps all night. TV not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BarbsWhiting
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband was working in Cape Town and wanted to surprise me by flying me down to join him for a romantic weekend. He found this place on line - and when he saw the online photos was sold. However when we arrived, we discovered that the room backed onto the office - and was minute with no space to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shrlryl
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We went on a romantic weekend away and I booked at Al Villa Romantica after having looked at the pictures and desriptions on this site and let me say that we were nothing short of disappointed when we arrived. The room looked nothing like the pictures although the view of the ocean was amazing. The entire establishment was dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Donald C
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Dear Donald, We at Villa Romantica appreciate your comments but I feel that your review has been a bit harsh. We do take care and ensure we clean all our rooms regularly and to the best of our ability. We apologise if we did not live up to your standards. When you wanted to leave earlier why did you not...

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Al Villa Romantica takes poetic licence. Whilst the place has potential and some redeeming factors (location, views, proximity to Camps Bay) etc I would not choose to stay here again. The two staff (Elvis and the chef) were extremely helpfui and attentive and Paul the owner asked the right questions but the basics were missing. Our room was a hodge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen B
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi Maureen, I really am taken aback about your review. I was present most of the time here and all you had to do is ask and we would have pleased your request. The furniture is our own design. some of it was made especially for us. our lodge was recently painted and upgraded . we afforded you one of...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Got a brilliant price for a beautiful suite and I was left speechless with the amazing sea view but that's about it. Pathetic service, poorly managed and not maintained at all. If you are ready to comprise on service and want something close to Camps Bay its a good option.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kartik02
marvel100, General Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Dear guest please always use our place. We believe our guest house was not up to your standard. I am humbly sorry. We have taken account of your comments and have attended to these issues. the pity is , is that you should always make it aware to me as I am around to help improve our standards at all...

Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I was recommended this Hotel and on the whole I was not disappointed. The good points were that I had a lovely room - never tried a jacuzzi bath before! The large bed was very comfy and my glass doors opened directly onto the terrace and nice little pool. I had a couple of comfy sunbeds and a little table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickyp P
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I booked Villa Romantica as a surprised getaway for myself and my husband. I have asked a manager Sophia to make a room look a bit more special and romantic and was prepared to pay extra for that - but unfortunately the request was left unattended. We arrived on Sunday and the person who opened the door was nice, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Milla G
marvel100, Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi, After you checked in Sophia apologised and told you that the stuff for making the room romantic was running late as the owner had errands to run. All the stuff was bought at our expense and when you returned the room had been done up. We apologise again for the items arriving late. We have recently done renovations and...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We booked Villa Romantica for a 2 night stay as part of our holiday. What a complete disappointment. The entrance hall is run down, pocky and stinks terribly. Our accommodation was on the basement level, where you need to negotiate an incredibly small and steep staircase. I had specifically phoned to check if they can accommodate children to which the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindybrm
marvel100, Manager at Al Villa Romantica, responded to this review

Hi Cindy When you phoned we told you that the guesthouse is child friendly as long as the door is closed. You were paying Daddy's Deal rates so you already got the room for quarter the price. The roof broke while your husband was showering and we wanted to fix it but you would not allow us to. We have...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed in the Al Villa Romantic for five nights and spent four of them in the Torino suite. I'd thoroughly recommend booking this apartment as it has fabulous views over Camps Bay and Table Mountain. The owner, Paul, is a great host and is extremely accommodating. His staff are very helpful, providing a good hearty breakfast and an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay_Leslie
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Very Disappointing! I booked this hotels for the view. It was more expensive than some others in the area, but I thought it would be worth it. On arrival just before 6pm, we were unable to enter for several minutes as no one answered the doorbell or our knocking. We finally entered with the assistance of a returning guest (with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Annutka

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
Swiss Cottage no.1
#35 of 54 in Camps Bay
15 reviews
Beachside
#31 of 54 in Camps Bay
47 reviews
City Bowl
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
Southern Comfort Guest Lodge
#80 of 156 in Cape Town Central
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairways on the Bay
#45 of 54 in Camps Bay
56 reviews
Camps Bay Resort
#10 of 32 in Camps Bay
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thanks for all the comments. Your complaints have been noted and the guest has recently been upgraded.The Al Villa Romantica has two luxury Guest Houses for you to choose from - La Montagna (The Mountain) and La Spiaggia (The Beach). Both Guest Houses are centrally based, making attractions such as the Winelands, Robben Island, shopping and beaches easily accessible. La Montagna – No 52 Hely Hutchinson Avenue. Situated on the slopes of the mountain, with panoramic views of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and Camps Bay Beach. Facilities include a barbecue (braai) area, swimming pool, sauna, guest bar and a tanning deck. We offer Standard, Luxury and Super Luxury rooms as well as Self Catering Apartments (breakfast included). Standard Rooms Romantica Cozy Penthouse self catering for 2. This fully equipped (fridge, microwave, safe, stove) cozy apartment offers a private tanning deck with views. En-suite shower bathroom.Amore Double room offering sea views and tanning deck. Room equipped with fridge, microwave and safe. Full bathroom. Luxury Rooms – including breakfast.Valentino The Valentino suite is equipped with a fridge, microwave and safe. This room offers sea views and has an en-suite Jacuzzi bathroom. imini Suite: As our Valentino suite, Rimini is equipped with fridge, microwave and safe, as well as an en-suite Jacuzzi bathroom. Super Luxury Apartment – also with breakfast. San Remo Suite self catering (large apartment)A self-contained garden apartment with a fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge. Jacuzzi bathroom. This apartment sleeps 4 people and is perfect for family (2 Adults & 2 Children).Torino Penthouse self catering (2 large rooms)This apartment offers 360 degree sea and mountain views, a private tanning deck, large lounge area with a bar and fully equipped kitchenette. A King size bed and Jacuzzi bath. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Al Villa Romantica

Address: 52 Hely Hutchinson Avenue, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Price Range: ₹ 4,563 - ₹ 5,939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Villa Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Al Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Villa Romantica Camps Bay, Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Al Villa Romantica staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Al Villa Romantica staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a clean one”
121Sue121, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I really would not recommend you to stay here but if you do, avoid the room with the open plan toilet...first room upstairs on your left.”
98sophieh, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“If you're going to risk it ask for the one on the top floor in the far corner”
ade74, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
“don't bother to stay here - complete waste of money.”
shrlryl, 16 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Don't stay here at all! Avoid at all costs!”
Cindybrm, 7 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates