We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wagon Wheel Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Wagon Wheel Country Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 49: English reviews
Cape Point, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazingly good service and incredibly good food for a small motel but it desreves every star it has, the owner is currentlyn upgrading and their were a few wierd things in the room like no acess to socket for the kettle plug but the room was otherwise well finished, clean and a great sleep. Value for money was exceptional at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CultjaVultja
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 November 2016

For basic accommodation it is never wise to have huge expectations, however the basics I feel are a foundation for any property, regardless the star rating. I booked my accommodation 2/3 months well in advance and I was placed in a room in the middle between rooms that were being renovated and there was drilling and grinding and hammering. After...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeniseM_Jackson
Management response:

Dear Denise Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge and I am terribly sorry you found yourself in the middle of the rooms being renovated. I am so sorry this was not picked up and that you were moved to a better room, you were booked into a room...

Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Reviewed 19 October 2016

My family used to visit this hotel when I was a little girl. I still remember my brother and I being "chased" by tumble weeds in the parking lot :) It was lovely to see how the new owners have renovated the rooms. My husband and I stayed in a queen room with an extra single bed. Crisp white linen,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracey b
Diana K, Owner at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tracey Thank you for taking the rime to review your recent stay with us at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge and that it brought back some child hood memories. Wagon Wheel has been around for many, many years. I am so pleased that you noticed the changes we have made and continue to make at Wagon Wheel to offer our...

Meyerton, South Africa
Reviewed 6 October 2016

This was a wonderful surprise after a long stretch of road with small towns here and there. The rooms are super neat . The bedding is white and clean and you just feel like lying down and getting comfy! no problem with hot water as you get so many times, the only item I missed was a fridge which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandagrobler7
Management response:

Dear Amanda Thank you so much for staying with us at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are so pleased you were happy and that you found the rooms clean and neat and the hot water great. We have a fridge in our Self Catering Rooms and a fridge in both...

London
Reviewed 14 September 2016

New owners have been renovating this long standing Beaufort West establishment since taking over in 2013. We were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the offering, both in terms of the cleanliness, fit and finish of the room (we stayed in one of the "deluxe" rooms), the quality of food and service in the bar & restaurant for drinks &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MainerinExileLondon
Diana K, Owner at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge. We have done so many improvements to Wagon Wheel over the past 3 years and we continue to upgrade and restore this very popular and convenience stop over. We aim to offer our guests the best possible accommodation at the...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

On my way to cape town we stopped over at wagon wheels country lodge. Paid R500 for the night for me and a friend. Stayed in Room 30 was very clean and comfortable. Had drinks and supper in the lodge and had a great lamb shank. Staff all friendly and will definitely come back. Thanks guys.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christophernaude
Diana K, Manager at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Christopher Thank you so much for the positive review. We really appreciate the time you took to send a positive comment on your stay at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and the famous lamb shanks. Please do visit us again to see the constant upgrades to offer our guests the best...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The older rooms aren't in good condition but they are busy renovating the rooms and the new rooms look good. Food was tasty. The road is quite noisy especially the trucks but didn't disturb us too much. Some small animals (chickens, rabbits, etc.) and a swimming pool on-site.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rozp283
Diana K, Owner at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge. We have been busy renovating our deluxe room bathrooms for the past 4 months. We are pleased to say we have now completed 20 bathrooms and have installed new air-conditioner with heating and cooling as well as flat screen TV. We continue...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 27 August 2016

As a child i always remembered this place travelling between Beaufort and Nelspoort. We needed acommodation last week and booked there. We received a phone call from Brendan to say that we must please eat on the road as they not opening the restuarant and bar due to minimum clients. He wished us well with the rest of our journey....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yoliswow
Diana K, Owner at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Yolande and Trevor Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge. I am so happy you were received well and that Reception contacted you to find out if you would be having dinner as the specific night you booked was very quiet. Our restaurant is normally open daily...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Stayed in number 48 - felt concerned to switch on the broken wall heater and had a dismally cold nights' sleep. Even though it is mentioned in the room brochure, waiting around for a shower to heat up with water spurting everywhere due to an old shower head definitely was not my idea of fun. Can understand that cement floors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missmeg7n
Diana K, Owner at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent stay at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge. We have experienced an extremely cold winter this year and realize the need to put in some loose carpets into the budget economy rooms. We are looking into doing this in the next 2 weeks. Thank you for mentioning the shower head, i have...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We booked last minute in our way to Nelspruit having left Cape Town in the early afternoon. As a family of four we booked family room with bunk beds and queen bed. Bedding and towels were great quality, the hot water in the bathrooms works ( which is not a given as we had experienced on a previous trip with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
Diana K, Owner at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Angela Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent stay at Wagon Wheel Country Lodge. I am so happy to hear you found Wagon Wheel to be a convenient stop over with great quality linen, towels and hot water. We are busy revamping all our deluxe room bathroom, TV's and air conditioners and have had such positive...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort West hotels
33.0 km away
Olive Grove Guest Farm
Olive Grove Guest Farm
#2 of 22 in Beaufort West
253 reviews
0.9 km away
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
Cape Karoo Guesthouse
#3 of 22 in Beaufort West
290 reviews
1.6 km away
17 on Bird Guest House
17 on Bird Guest House
#7 of 22 in Beaufort West
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Haus Holzapfel
Haus Holzapfel
#4 of 22 in Beaufort West
153 reviews
5.6 km away
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
Lemoenfontein Game Lodge
#1 of 22 in Beaufort West
579 reviews
1.5 km away
The 3 Chimneys Guest House
The 3 Chimneys Guest House
#6 of 22 in Beaufort West
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The very popular and well known Wagon Wheel Country Lodge conveniently located just off the N1. The newly revamped rooms offer you the best value for money at very affordable rates. To satisfy the needs of all travelers we offer various types of accommodation from Deluxe, Standard and Economy rooms to family units, self catering, caravan facilities and backpackers accommodating a total of 190 guests. Our rooms are tastefully decorated with certain units offering heating and air-cons, TV and coffee facilities. We offer ample secure parking right outside your rooms as well as 24 hour reception for late check-ins. Cool off in our new swimming pool after a days traveling before enjoying a refreshment in our new boma while watching the Karoo sun set. There is also the option of unwinding in the Ladies Bar and then enjoying a homemade Karoo dinner in our dining room. Perfect overnight accommodation on the N1 main route between Cape Town and Johannesburg.The Wagon Wheel Country Lodge offers breakfast and dinner (traditional meals and a la carte) every day of the week. We accommodate overnight travelers, business executives, families, backpackers as well as tour and conference groups. Our aim is to offer our guests the best value for money with crisp clean percale bedding and a comfortable bed. Our motto is "luxury for less". * Air-conditioned rooms* Breakfast and Dinner* Conference Room and facilities* 24 hour reception* Wheelchair friendly* Pet Friendly* Safe and secure parking at your room* Swimming Pool on site* All major credit cards accepted* Regret, no cheques accepted* Caravan Site* Deluxe, Standard, Family Rooms, Economy, Backpackers and Economy Rooms ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wagon Wheel Country Lodge

Address: N1 | P O Box 1011, Beaufort West, Beaufort West, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Beaufort West
Price Range: ₹ 2,444 - ₹ 5,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wagon Wheel Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wagon Wheel Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wagon Wheel Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify the type of room you want and where you are travelling from.”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseM_Jackson, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“book one of the "deluxe" (ie recently renovated) rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MainerinExileLondon, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room with double bed had better AC than room with 3 singles.”
 of 5 bubbles JduPN, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you are forced to stay here make sure that you have a "deluxe" room - it may pass muster.”
 of 5 bubbles Nick-Durban, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you have to, stay in the Deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles NicoBrits, 29 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay