We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

President Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
President Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for President Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 668: English reviews
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Only booked the Hotel on line the night before when we were in Johannesburg. Got to the Hotel the following day at Lunchtime. The reception we got was very good, polite and friendly. We were allocated our room and had a drink while we waited for it to be prepared & cleaned. got into the room at 1;30 after only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Derek W
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. It's great to know you had a good stay with us and enjoyed your meal in the restaurant as well as the location in a whole. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Cape Town. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Knysna, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Despite the size of this hotel, +- 350 rooms and the fact that it used by various Tour groups of different nationalities, various Airline crews as well as catering for various conferences, it obviously is very busy ,not to say hectic at times. Despite this, the staff is always very friendly and accommodating. I have visited this hotel on various...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ghoceans
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you had a good stay with us and that Nadia Simon could be of such great help to you. I will most defiantly commend her on that. I hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 April 2016

The staff are the most friendliest people I have ever met. The food is good. Rooms are clean and feels like a very welcoming hotel. The pool is a little bit small but perfect for a cold dip in the sun. Fantastic location. Amazing hotel in an amazing city. The service I received from Nadia L and Mariam was impeccable...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank spencer_rosen
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. It's great to know you had a really good stay with us. I will defiantly commend Nadia and Miriam on their fantastic service. I hope to see you again on your next Trip to Cape Town. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016

This was our seventh visit to this hotel and we stayed for 6 nights. We first stayed about 16 years ago when the hotel had just opened. The rooms have been re-furbished (although I think the second floor has still to be done. As usual we booked a one bedroomed, sea facing apartment. The lounge is furnished in a modern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnSM6
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted you chose to revisit the President Hotel. Thank you for your comments we will defiantly look into them. I'm glad you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again on your next trip to Cape Town. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Bantry Bay
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Magnificent setting /good service /very relaxing stay Only minor issue is maximum wifi per day which is capped at 500 Mb and runs out rapidly Overall very pleasant stay , no issues of any real concern

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianrD1437JK
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear you received great service during your stay and you loved the location. I hope to see you back again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

UK
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We spent one night is this lovely hotel and stayed in a one bedroom sea view apartment. The location is really lovely and convenient to get to all the sites around the Atlantic seaboard. The room was fresh and had everything we needed - no complaints. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast near the pool in the morning which had everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath2525
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delight to know you had a great stay with us. Indeed the location is stunning! Im glad you enjoyed the room you were in aswell as the buffet at breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you back to the President Hotel on your next trip to Cape Town. Kind...

Bantry Bay
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I received great service including reception at arrival,the room was spacious with excellent lockers,big Tv screen with Dstv channel for a football fun like me,the breakfast was absolute fantastic,overall,awesome experience!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank godfreyr915
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the room facilities aswell as the food and the reception check-in. I hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 20 April 2016

The ocean view is beautiful - all the way to Robben Island and beyond! Rooms are sunny and large windows that can open fully for the sea breeze. One can hear the ocean at night and then wake up to it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmandaSwart
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests, Thank you for the post on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your room with the views mentioned. I hope to see you again soon!! Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Bantry Bay
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Comfortable air-conditioned room with view, great breakfast buffet, easy access to city Hop On Bus, knowledgeable travel desk people for day tours, polite staff, complete gift shop, good room service and menu

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy I
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. I'm delight you enjoyed your stay with us, aswell as the location and the food. I hope to see you again in the not so distant future. Kind Regards Jeremy Clayton

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 April 2016

A Cape Town property with very limited sea view, the service, decor and general mien of the President combine to make the place feel more like an institution than a hotel. It's a good base for group package, but not a destination in itself.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bruced208
President_HotelCT, General Manager at President Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your posting a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. I am disappointed that his is you perception of the President Hotel. We have over the past 6 months added numerous fresh and organic spaces to the hotel. I would be delighted ,if you visit Cape Town again, to welcome you back to the...

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (105)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Sea Point
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#70 of 106 in Cape Town Central
297 reviews
4.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,599 reviews
1.6 km away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,028 reviews
10.2 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience affordable and luxury living in Cape Town's most beautiful urban resort, the President Hotel is a peaceful haven just a step away from the buzz of Cape Town's CBD. Situated in the wind-free suburb of Bantry Bay, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of endless ocean horizons set against the backdrop of the infamous Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Exquisitely designed for maximum light and a sense of space and tranquility, the President Hotel offers an enticing selection of restaurants, bars, lounges, conference facilities, gardens and terraces to suit your changing moods, desires and needs. The hotel's 349 rooms and apartments combine contemporary sophistication and comfort with spaciousness and each and every guest room is beautifully appointed with a semi self-catering kitchenette. The President Hotel has all the luxury facilities and guest services you would expect in any world-class hotel. Work, Rest and Play at the President Hotel that offers you the best of both worlds: In the City and By the Sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about President Hotel

Address: 4 Alexandra Avenue, Bantry Bay 8001, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel President)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: ₹ 7,124 - ₹ 16,601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — President Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Bantry Bay
Protea Hotel President
President Hotel Cape Town/Bantry Bay
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bantry Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from President Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from President Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea view rooms are nice but no balconies”
 of 5 bubbles CardiffMano, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are fine”
 of 5 bubbles khw2017, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“seaside has best views. also end rooms on land side did have view of the sea from the little patio”
 of 5 bubbles ORTraveller2000, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms that are very close to the pool and so can get noisy in the afternoon. Try and avoid those”
 of 5 bubbles DruidGetafix, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best to ask for a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles MargaretB687, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5