We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

52 De Wet

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
52 De Wet
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for 52 De Wet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 229: English reviews
Cape Town
Reviewed 11 April 2016

amazong and stunming view, the hosts marnie and russell are fabulous and servie is impeccable ... you feel at home immdetiately, we will certainy highöy recommend and always to come back when we sre in capetown, barbara & roland

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rolandp432
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, it's always a pleasure to hear you felt at home, hope to see you again soon.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This small hotel just gets everything right. The staff are very friendly and helpful, without being overbearing; the accommodation superb; and the views from the dining and deck area are just stunning. The food was excellent, including the best breakfasts we had on a 3 week trip to South Africa, and the evening meals represent fine dining and are definitely...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NW_TeeCee
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Great to hear you had such an enjoyable time. I'm sure the chef will be very happy to hear your comments. Thank you very much

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Without a doubt Hotel DeWet is a must stay when in Capetown. The most beautiful place ever! What you see on line us what you get! And the service you receive is amazing, along with the view! Trust me you don't want to stay anywhere else!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerrian M
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Amazing, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was an absolute pleasure hosting you guys.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 March 2016

The house and the Location is very nice as well as the rooms which are great as well. The side sea view is somewhat dissapointing as it is only through a very small Window in the corner. Staff is generally very friendly but did not reach expectations as the dinner and taxi bookings did not work at all. In this...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin252655
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

This review serves as an excellent reminder to people visiting Cape Town, the best restaurants will get booked early in the busy season (especially public holidays) To avoid disappointment we send a list of recommendations so we can organise tables prior to arrival.

Reviewed 28 March 2016

This place is not just amazing because of its standard, but I think it must be the most beautiful location for sunsets we have ever been to. Not only sunsets, but you will be stunned all day long just looking at the Atlantic ocean from above. Staff is also fantastic. Nothing more, nothing less. We had a short but great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rune S
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you for adding the sunset pics too. Autumn certainly seems to bring the most dramatic of evening skies.

Cape Town
Reviewed 15 March 2016

One of the best views in the city and very good service! If you want to live in a quite place please go to 52 de wet. It's a big nice house where you feel like home but not like at a huge hotel. Highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mariabT5348LZ
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Thank you Maria, if you felt at home but with good service then the team have done a great job, it is exactly what we try to achieve.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Beautiful house high on the hill overlooking Bantry Bay. Excellent service from all the staff, overseen by Russell & Marnie. They were incredibly hospitable and helpful with all our requests. We were also upgraded to the penthouse suite on our first night which was great. Would we stay at 52 De Wet again? Absolutely.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. It's always a pleasure to be able to upgrade guests to the penthouse when available.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We started our Honeymoon here and it was the most incredible start - the view is breathtaking, the staff are always on hand and happy to help with anything and everything! The rooms are lovely and filled with all sorts of little extras such as Nespresso machines, candles around the bath, fluffy gowns and towels! The breakfasts are very tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicky_baillie
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Hi Vicky, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a nice review. Its always great to get honeymooners and to help you guys enjoy your special trip is all the more satisfying.

Cape Town
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Great hotel , great staff, but no restaurants / bars within walking distance , but taxis readily available . Rooms excellent and great service by all staff , who genuinely seem to want to help you enjoy yourself. They provide good advice and will book restaurants and taxis for you

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B8028ONdavidw
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

Thank you 'season traveller' No doubt, walking to the nearest restaurants is a bit tricky, we are situated half way up Lions Head, great views but a bit of a hike.

Cape Town
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Just perfect, service and food was exemplary. Views from the infinity pool out of this world. Room was very comfortable and clean. I never had to ask for anything, everything was at my disposal. I will 100% be staying there next time I travel to CT

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnL8073DV
marns23, General Manager at 52 De Wet, responded to this review

What a great review, thank you so much. Its nice to know you'll be returning, this is the biggest compliment to the team.

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (148)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (86)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
2.2 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
601 reviews
2.9 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
230 reviews
0.7 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
236 reviews
6.2 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
3.3 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 52 De Wet is superbly positioned in windfree Bantry Bay, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in a most dramatic way. The hotel is a showcase of ultra-modern design, bright and exuberant. Frontal panoramic sea views from all six double suites. In addition the hotel offers a grand two-bedroom suite with private pool, again with frontal sea views. 5 star TGCSA accreditation ... more   less 

Additional Information about 52 De Wet

Address: 52 De Wet Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa (Formerly The Cascades on 52)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Price Range: ₹ 11,595 - ₹ 40,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 52 De Wet 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your 52 De Wet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
52 De Wet Cape Town/Bantry Bay
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bantry Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 52 De Wet staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from 52 De Wet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the Penthouse Suite- you will not regret it. (All other rooms are amazing as well).”
 of 5 bubbles 558giladk, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms a superb.The Day Room is nicer than some hotel rooms Ive stayed in!”
 of 5 bubbles CHOPSKI, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go the extra mile and splash out on the Penthouse for the best views!”
 of 5 bubbles p1nkyandperky, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“For two opt for the penthouse, for four room 6 & 7”
 of 5 bubbles petervanminderhout_9, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If your travelling with friends the double room apartment is great with a huge lounge and great plunge pool on the balcony”
 of 5 bubbles johnyh739, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay