We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palace of the Lost City

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Palace of the Lost City
The Palace of the Lost City
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,796 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Palace of the Lost City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,329: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a chance to visit this place while on a business trip, really loved this place, it's unfortunately not a place to be enjoyed solo, very family oriented, plenty of activities to do. The Maze was a bit of a disappointment, either than that everything else was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thierry K
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Thierry K Thank you so much for your review. Hopefully we will see you soon again with your family and friends. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I decided to spoil ourselves for two nights at the palace. Being South African you hear a lot about the architecture ,design and high end service! It has a five star rating and the rate does show this. We arrived after 14h00 and our room was ready on arrival. There was a lovely front desk lady that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle M
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Chantelle M Thank you for reviewing your stay. Great to see you enjoyed your getaway from Johannesburg. As mention we do have an extensive buffet available. Glad to see you also went exploring the resort. We hope to see you soon again! Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As I heard this Hotel is the best Hotel in South Africa, and really it' is. The architecture of Hotel is really beautiful. Breakfast was great and full. Our room was very beautiful and beds was fantastic and comfortable. Alacarte restaurant was great but expensive and also you have free access to water park (Valley of the waves). Just the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mehrdad P
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Mehrdad P Great to see you had a great stay at The Palace. Kind regards

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is absolutely stunning and you are spoiled for things to do. The welcome and check out is amazing and you feel so spoiled. But it ends there. The service at all the restaurants are painstakingly slow. Drinks take 30 mins to arrive. the wait staff are friendly but cannot cope with the amount of guests there. At night,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DawnMegens
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear DawnMegens Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. Great to see that you found the check in and check out to be faultless. Your comments regarding the slow service in the restaurants and the noisy night cleaning staff ,has been brought to the attention of the appropriate department heads. Kind regards

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. The building is stunning, everything is so beautiful and there is something new to notice at every turn. Reception and concierge team both very friendly and helpful, room beautiful, if maybe a little tired and could do with an update but stunning none the less. What let the hotel down was the staff in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pop-Pea111a
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Pop-Pea111a Thank you for your review, We have taken note your comments regarding the different prices at the Tusk bar, and will most certainly take a look into this. The Food and Beverage team are also looking into what can be done to alleviate the long queues at breakfast , especially on the weekends when we are running at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very luxurious hotel, good service and absolutely gorgeous scenery. I would definitely recommend for a day or two just to experience the grounds first hand as a guest. The decorations are gorgeous and really give the feeling of being in another time of SA history. Only complaint is the restaurant, the food wasn't fresh and neither was it of an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordi-jords
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Jordi-jords We appreciate your review of your stay with us. We are looking into your comments regarding the freshness of the food as well as the Standard thereof. Kind regards

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolute chaotic breakfast experience at this so called 5 star establishment two days in a row. Had to que for 30-45 min while there are empty tables!!!! A fantastic facility is being poorly managed. Shame on you Sun International.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 812hendrickm
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear 812hendrickm please accept our apologies for the long wait at breakfast. The food and beverage team are looking into the matter. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent two nights at the Palace. The service is phenomenal - receiving a wonderful reception upon arrival. And we had a bottle of champagne waiting upon arrival in the room. We stayed in a junior suite which is incredibly spacious, and our butlers were attentive and very friendly! Overall, the restaurants at the Palace are great value for money,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CaraBotha
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear CaraBotha Great to see you had such an outstanding weekend with us!!! Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in one of the hotel The Palace of the lost city in mid of March. The hotel was amazing. The set up of the room was awesome. The service was good and the staffs were helpful and friendly. During breakfast time when there was rush, it was little difficult for them to manage. They had a good variety...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shweta Rajat T
francois_dtoit, Public Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Shweta Rajat T We appreciate your review of your stay at The Palace. Kind regards

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel and experience from start to end. Had booked a room over looking garden when checking in moved to a room overlooking pool. Room very spacious. Some of staff at breakfast restaurant a bit slow. For what u pay expect high standards of service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiksd
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear fiksd Great to see you enjoyed your experience with us. Kind regards

2,696 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (679)
Viewed
Dining (180)
Viewed
Room/Suite (186)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (179)
Viewed
Bathroom (78)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
View from Room (61)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (809)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (403)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Luxury Family Room (78)
Viewed
Luxury Room with Pool View (71)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
The Palace Pool Deck (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: ₹ 16,259 - ₹ 32,971 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and other travellers.
69 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the SOHO Hotel.”
mergalin, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“on the whole the Palace is five star..cant get better”
soneeaaya, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“do not get a room on the second floor. Very noisy”
DawnMegens, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose room 845, excellent view yet close to the lobby.”
C6497AZbens, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Depends on choice. Lots of different choices.”
RoxySouthAfrica, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5