We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Palace of the Lost City

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Palace of the Lost City
The Palace of the Lost City
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,708 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,268: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Palace is an unbelievable establishment. Grand in the most extravagant way. From the moment you are greeted with a welcome drink the experience starts. Everything here is large. Rooms are gigantic and elegantly appointed. Beds are turned down of an evening and slippers and gown laid out for you. Staff are extremely friendly and courteous. You must although, remember...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil5050
London UK
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of a long trip to SA and Zim. Visually the Palace is very striking and once you get over the madness of the place it has lots of plus points, although I do think that its too expensive even for non-SA residents for what you get. Breakfast was a large buffet spread and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marty99
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were there in October, but Tripadvisor reminded me to review, so I thought the experience is definitely worth the review. So yes, I got engaged there, such an amazing experience. My fiance arranged everything without me know of course, but even then, every staff member was amazing. I was there in August 2015 as well and every time I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherel_travel
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Don't treat the client like we should be treated and don't make any force to help the client. Incredible how we are stoled here! Never gonna come back here again and was the worse experience in luxury hotels in my whole live

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo F
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The most amazing getaway and so much to do and see. The food is fantastic 5 star and very cheap in all the restaurants ...with the exception of the Mediterranean one which I would give a miss next time. The service and ambiance of the place is truly majestic and being an exclusive resort it was really with out fault....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlene F
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed five nights in December. The hotel needs a full make-over. Public areas are lovely, the rooms are a bit dated and need to be renovated. Service isn't bad if you're in a suite. Breakfast was a nightmare as the wait at each live counter was nearly ten minutes. The hotel can't accommodate such big numbers for breakfast. The biggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabina X
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After receiving really shocking service in October last year, we were treated to a return visit in January 2017. This time round the service was impeccable. House keeping was amazing and staff courteous, warm and friendly. Keep up the good work and we will certainly return for a visit in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilton L
Melrose, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fabulous hotel staff are great but I think when it gets busy the staff will struggle to cope as it was quite when we were there and the service was on the slow side breakfast was great everything you wanted .We went to the adult only pool thinking this was called that so no kiddies were around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill s
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear jill s Thank you so much for your review of your stay. We appreciate your compliments. We will most certainly look into having notices at the entrances of the adult pool, to avoid any confusion. We have also taken note of your comments regarding the pubic toilets as well ad the lighting in the corridors. This will be addressed...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Palace is something else. Great architecture, big rooms, good entertainment and an overall great experience. For a family of 5 you must book the luxury family suite or you will have problems with sleeping arrangements. Transport to anywhere in Sun City is readily available so no need for your car for the entire stay. Entertainment area is refurbished and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imran N
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear Imran N great to see you had a fantastic time at the resort!! We hope to see you soon again

Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first visit to Sun City and I was very pleasantly surprised. It really is such a beautiful place. I loved the gardens and the pool. It was amazing to listen to the birds and the wildlife. The staff were fabulous. Every one was so kind. We arrived to a bottle of champagne and chocolates, as we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank holidaygirl7
francois_dtoit, Guest Relations Manager at The Palace of the Lost City, responded to this review

Dear holidaygirl7 We are glad you had such a memorable stay with us . It will be our pleasure welcoming you back to the Palace. Kind regards

2,457 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1953)
Viewed
Room/Suite (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (597)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (154)
Viewed
Dining (168)
Viewed
View from Room (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (713)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (403)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Luxury Family Room (78)
Viewed
Luxury Room with Pool View (71)
Viewed
Luxury Twin Room (81)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)
Viewed
The Palace Pool Deck (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sun City
1.3 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
559 reviews
383.0 km away
Sun City Hotel
Sun City Hotel
#3 of 6 in Sun City
424 reviews
4.5 km away
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
#2 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
591 reviews
39.0 km away
Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre
21.3 km away
The Royal Marang Hotel
The Royal Marang Hotel
#1 of 11 in Rustenburg
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Palace of the Lost City hotel in South Africa lavishes its guests with 5-star service. From the distinctive grandeur of the African Suite to the King Suite with its unforgettable maple paneling, delicately coloured ceilings and stunning views over the Lost City. Each room of this Sun City resort offers royal hospitality situated close to the Valley of the Waves and a short drive away from Johannesburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palace of the Lost City

Address: Sun City Resort off the R556, Sun City 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Sun City
Price Range: ₹ 17,743 - ₹ 36,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Palace of the Lost City 5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Palace of the Lost City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Of The Lost City Hotel Sun City
The Palace Of Lost City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and other travellers.
61 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (61)

Questions? Get answers from The Palace of the Lost City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room higher up for the view or bottom left for the forest feel”
 of 5 bubbles cherel_travel, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just make sure you specify non smoking as we had to move rooms because of the smell of tobacco.”
 of 5 bubbles ArleneF628, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a suite”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Select room with a view of the complex or pool area”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try get a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles EnjoyFamilyholidays, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5