We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre

Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (9)
Pool & Beach (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good19%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible18%
Nestled at the foothills of the Rustenberg Kloof and Magaliesberg Mountains, the Safari Lodge is easily accessible from all the major metropolitan areas of Gauteng. The tranquil and relaxed country setting, together with its central location, makes it an ideal conference venue, or holiday destination, from which to explore the many attractions and natural splendours of the area.The Coach Restaurant offers gourmet dining and is perfectly complimented by the Usutu Restaurant and Cocktail Bar that serves mouth-watering buffets. This country hotel has numerous activities and facilities onsite. The swimming pool and pool bar are the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day at a conference, or after enjoying a scenic walk in the Rustenberg Kloof.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Wheelchair Access
Restaurant
Business Centre with Internet Access
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Lanseria Airport59 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
31
18
21
8
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
31
18
21
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his entire team kind regards reception staff a great stay swimming pool orion upgrades botswana sheets gm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

My manager and I came for work purposes on 17 September 2018. The shock we had when we saw what the place looked like and the rooms. It was so old fashioned with old wooden desks and cupboards. In a very town town set up....More

1  Thank LesleyR1016
Response from Phillip S, Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention CentreResponded 20 September 2018

Dear Lesley Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Safari Lodge with us. it is important to us to feel what our guests feel and experience what our guests experience,I do humbly apologize on behalf of the Safari team for your...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018

The hotel is firstly extremely over priced for services offered. Rooms need maintenance and improving (one plug point and it didn't work). Amenities were HORRIBLE. Put put course is dirty and old, couldn't actually play at all! Service at the bar restaurant was terrible, our...More

3  Thank Melissa L
Response from Hote1Management, marketing manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention CentreResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Melissa Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are extremely disappointed by the experience you had at the hotel. We apologize sincerely for this. We have taken this up with senior management and investigation is under way to ensure...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed for a night at Safari Orion Lodge as we had a conference in Rustenburg. We got a good deal for this lodge on bookings.com. Check in was easy. We didn't get a room with breakfast. The room was small and...More

Thank MuhammadYusuf
Response from Hote1Management, marketing manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention CentreResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Muhammad Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and we are pleased to hear that you had an overall good experience. We have taken note of some of the concerns raised and senior management has been made aware of them. We...More

Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

Super good location, away from the main city. Peaceful and relaxing. Been visiting this hotel for the past 25 yrs and still enjoy it very much. Beautiful for the entire family. Upgrades are visible for all to see. Two beautiful pools and excellent buffet dinners....More

Thank botfam
Response from Hote1Management, marketing manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention CentreResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel! Thank you for the wonderful feedback and we will definitely liaise this to the staff as it keeps them super motivated. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 19 December 2017

The place has seen better days, so a possible refresh will go a long way. However, it is clean...Or, to be true and authentic then have the recent decor as part of the photo gallery! Their staff are a pleasure and gem to have around...well...More

2  Thank Bandile M
Response from Hote1Management, General Manager at Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention CentreResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, during your time spent at Safari Lodge, with us. Your comments regarding our Facilities are noted and appreciated. We want to assure you that it is not the Standard we promote or strive...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Safari Lodge Hotel & Convention Centre staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"dont stay in the standard room they are so 1980's"
sallyd101
17 Apr 2017
Read review
"Rooms south facing to Rusteburg Kloof is the best. Bit more pricy than the other rooms, but definately well..."
LGericke
16 Jan 2017
Read review
"If you are booking more than 1 room ask for connecting rooms."
MarrysM
13 Apr 2016
Read review
"Dont bother book your Family at this Hotel unless you are a Backpacker who doesnt care about the Class"
96jacobg
27 Mar 2016
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$ 64 - US$ 104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
orion safari hotel rustenburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Orion Safari Lodge
LOCATION
South AfricaNorth-West ProvinceRustenburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing