We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bakubung Bush Lodge

PricelineUS$ 294*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 436*
US$ 294*
Great Deal
US$ 370*
US$ 370*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Bakubung Bush Lodge
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

753 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 655: English reviews
Start your review of Bakubung Bush Lodge
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have been here before and this time was the best ever. Friendly staff great food and great service. The rooms are spotless with every extra you can think of. We had the first night a terribly rude and selfish neighbour who made a hell of a noise until 2am. Damn selfish and inconsiderate l. I do hope Bakubung implements...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
Jhb
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Bakubung is as much an African culinary experience as it is game viewing. Do not come here to diet or detox. There is a great emphasis on delicious and plentiful food. You certainly don't want to miss the bush braai on Saturday evenings. A lot of effort is put in by management, staff and chefs to ensure a good time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve_zaJhb
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having previously stayed at the sister property Kwa-Maritane, I wanted to give the nearby Bakubung a try on this trip, I'm very glad I did. Arrived at around 14:30, the room was ready for check in. The check in process was smooth, informative and efficient. Dinner (included in the rate) reservations at the main restaurant was made on the spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisvandermerwe
Grand Island, Nebraska
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very conveniently located within the Pilanesberg Game Reserve, the lodge makes for a great starting off point. Our safaris left at 6am and about 4pm. The rooms are adequate but not fancy. Ours was located farther away from the main lodge and we did not have a view of meadow that fronts the main building. If I had my choice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mingfatsai
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were there for the Easter Weekend with the family . Generally the place is very good and the stuff friendly and very responsive and make sure you have a great time. The food is excellent , mainly the buffet both breakfast and dinner more than enough tasty options. Although I will say the a la carte menu I'm not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SelectorT
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Bakubung for a family brunch after an early morning game drive. The service, food and atmosphere were all great though we found it very busy. The stations were well arranged and thought out with a touch of South Africa in the food available. We were surprised that kids were charged full price (even the 4 year old!).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matvl
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Matvl Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. We pride ourselves with excellent service and it is a pleasure to see that the team were equal to the task despite the busy operation. I would like to make contact with you regarding the charges of the 4 year old for resolution. Kind Regards George Mokotedi

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The yard is picturesque The animals are running beyond the window The foods are the best Free wifi and high speed in room is available The pool is so beautiful Everything is good and comfortable The safari is very exciting I am so glad to be there😍😘

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drhasani67
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Drhasani67 Thank you so much for the wonderful TripAdvisor review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us as we did hosting you. With the bush just outside your window, It is indeed a rewarding experience to relax and take in everything about the bush and the animals living around you. Thank...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not too expensive as far as bush lodges go and located within the Game Reserve/park with zebras grazing outside your room. Breakfast (buffet) was great ... lots of choice and well prepared. Dinner (included) was also buffet/carvery style and OK. AVOID the "Bush Braai". Overcooked meat and the location was disappointing. Do take the bush drive. We were pleasantly surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussie47
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Aussie47 Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the game drive, breakfast and dinner, I have also noted the feedback regarding the Bush Braai and will certainly share with our Executive Chef. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Bakubung...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was in Bakubung Hotel in This April. Although the Hotel was in the heart of Pilanesburg National Park and we had a wonderful view to the park , the hotel was awful. The hotel told us we have half board service but water was not part of service and we should buy the water separately. Staff was not bad...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mehrdad P
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mehrdad P Thank you very much for your feedback, we are dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We provide as per standard 2 X 500ml bottled water per room on a complimentary basis, our Housekeeping team services the room twice a day, a full servicing of the room during the day and a...

Kota, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are clean facilities are good spa is excellent pool very nice location amazing transport facility to sun city or local market is fast and frequent food delicious chef so helping that if you tell your preference they will prepare. Game drive is amazing and thrilling. If you are here on Saturday don't miss dinner in bushes. Just a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rajoras
GMokotedi, Rooms Division Manager at Bakubung Bush Lodge, responded to this review

Dear rajoras Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had an amazing time with the tranquility of the bush. I have noted the feedback regarding house keeping and will certainly address with the relevant personnel. Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward...

896 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (600)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (144)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (302)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (62)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Standard Central Room (52)
Viewed
Standard West Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pilanesberg National Park
9.2 km away
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
Kwa Maritane Bush Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pilanesberg National Park
618 reviews
3.8 km away
The Palace of the Lost City
4.2 km away
Cascades, Sun City
Cascades, Sun City
#4 of 6 in Sun City
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Kingdom Resort
The Kingdom Resort
#2 of 6 in Sun City
274 reviews
4.5 km away
Cabanas
Cabanas
#5 of 6 in Sun City
670 reviews
5.7 km away
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
Tshukudu Bush Lodge
#6 of 14 in Pilanesberg National Park
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A mere two-hour drive from the hustle and bustle of Johannesburg and ten minutes from Sun City, lies a place of breathtaking beauty and serenity. A place called Bakubung Bush Lodge. Concealed in the rich expanses of the malaria-free Pilanesberg National Park, Bakubung, or "People of the Hippo", offers guests everything they need to get in touch with the bush. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bakubung Bush Lodge

Address: Bakubung Gate, Pilanesberg National Park 0316, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Pilanesberg National Park
Price Range: ₹ 16,725 - ₹ 28,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bakubung Bush Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakubung Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakubung Bush Hotel Pilanesberg National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bakubung Bush Lodge staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Bakubung Bush Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room that fronts the meadow”
  • Bath tub
  • The beds
  • Toilet
  • Shower
mingfatsai, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose hotel in Sun City”
Monikey2013, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms and chalets have excellent views.”
Dsmiff, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The luxury suites are newer. Also the views from the ground floor rooms are better as the trees may obscure the views from the upper rooms”
pjgriffiths10, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 322 and 321 if it looks like rain. The roof leaks.”
cromagnumal, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 294* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 370
Expedia.comUS$ 370
TripAdvisorUS$ 294
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates