We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Premier Hotel The Winkler

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Premier Hotel The Winkler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","dust":{},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 177: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is centrally located, but sorry to say it is definitely not a 4 star, there is alot of work that needs to be done. The rooms were not very clean, the sheets were not changed (we were there fr 2 nights), had to deal with a frog in the room & the biggest spider i have ever seen....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank portia2017
Matola
Reviewed 1 week ago

Please make sure that the toilets are cleaned with proper cleaning agents. Ours was smelly. Saw a couple of cockroaches flying around outside the door to the room, please take care of that. We were woken up early in the morning by a cell phone that had been left behind in a drawer, and later handed it in at the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pholm_903986
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Pholm, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us. My apologies if we did not live up to your expectations and also saddned that we dropped the ball with the bathroom. Our houskeeping TEAM are usually on top of their game so I shall investigate as to what transpired on this...

eMalahleni, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our phone was not working and we were not even offered another room after our line couldn't be fixed. We had to walk all the way to reception to place our room service orders. And one reception lady didn't even get our order right so we had to walk again to go the reception cos she didn't even bother coming...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank r00m134
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Room most valued GUEST, Thank you fopr your review after your recent stay with us. It's through your most valued comments that we are able to truly measure where we are meeting, exceeding, and in your case falling short of our GUEST expectations. I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused with the out of order telephone and assure...

Witbank
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For a 4 star hotel, this establishment is disappointing. The wifi is non-existent and the rooms are tiny. Dinner was a let-down, especially at R210 pp. On the positive side, the rooms were neat and the staff are friendly. Pool and gardens are well-maintained. Do not think we will visit again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MiaAng
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear MiaAng, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. I must apologise if dinner was not up to your expectations and Chef will also be saddened by your comments as we pride ourself on our buffets and quality of food. The WiFi is an ongoing issue which we are working on...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I was looking forward to stay in this hotel as the pictures were promising but either we were just unlucky with the room or they really all the same. The room plus bathroom is so old style and staying there makes you depressed it really needs some refurbishment. Towels were not replaced even I clearly put them on the ground....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldWiser1982
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear WorldWiser, Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us and am saddened that we did not live up to your expectations or the standards that we strive for. The Hotel is almost fifty years old now and although has had many refurbishments and upgrades throughout the years, still retains that old...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for our Kruger national park safari. The rooms were comfortable and the pool looked very nice and I saw someone making use of it we had two nights here breakfast was good and there was wifi in the reception and restaurant. We did have to get up one morning at 4 to be at Kruger for 5.30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacka
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Laca, Thank you for the review after your recent stay with us at Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure ourselves and see how we are progressing in our quest to exceed our GUESTS expectations. Due to the high volumes going into the park at present most guides try to...

Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Was there on honeymoon 36 years ago and was not let down. Excellent location, very friendly staff, tasty buffet. We loved every minute of it! Great springboard location for sightseeing around the area and Kruger Park. It was a pleasure to meet busloads of foreigners coming to see our beautiful country.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank luis584
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Luis, Thank you so much for your positive comments that you posted on Tripadvisor for Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure how well we are really producing in terms of service food and standards. And it was great to see that you engaged with all the tourists, as one...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Did a 2 week tour of SA and this was the last and worst hotel on my stay. The rooms were depressing and TV stations were not clear. No wifi in the rooms. It was only available at the main reception area and bar/restaurant. We were up at 5am each morning to do a safari so thank God we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Relayponey
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Relayponey, Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit at our hotel. I must apologise for the disappointing stay that you had with us. Regarding the TV channels we were struck by lightening that week and this affected the the signal and took out several decoders. This has since been addressed and we have added additional channels for...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

We had stayed at the Winkler about 20 years ago several times while visiting the Kruger Park and this was a trip "down memory lane". The hotel doesn't seem to have changed much at all and in some ways has a quaint traditional feel to it. I understand that it is soon to be refurbished so I hope the traditional...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Thank you so much for taking your trip down Memory Lane and reviewing the Winkler on Tripadvisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain and where possible exceed the standards that one would expect at a Premier Hotel. And as a long standing GUEST of over 20 years who better than to provide...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The hotel is located in a beautiful and quiet spot. We spent just two nights, to visit Kruger Park. The staff if really helpful and makes you fell comfortable during the whole stay. i would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChofaArg
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Chofa, Thank you so much for posting a review of Premier Hotel The Winkler on Tripadvisor, your most valued feedback is useful a s a yardstick to see how we are perceived by our GUESTS. Hopefully you had some great sightings in the Kruger Park as most of our GUESTS last week saw the big five and so much...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
6.2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#7 of 10 in White River
179 reviews
11.1 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
165 reviews
31.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
5.4 km away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 10 in White River
271 reviews
3.9 km away
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
Hulala Lakeside Lodge
#5 of 10 in White River
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Price Range: ₹ 6,002 - ₹ 7,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Hotel The Winkler staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Hotel The Winkler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid. Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Relayponey, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were on the ground floor with easy access and beautiful views over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring an African Continent Convertor”
  • Pool View
  • View from Patio
  • View from walkway
 of 5 bubbles SOLSOEUR, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Executive suite on ground floor Room 90 is brilliant - kids can run to Jungle Gym and Pool while parents can relax and view them from room”
 of 5 bubbles nicetouch100, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try not to be in the far located room from the reception”
 of 5 bubbles IsraelC932, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay