We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Premier Hotel The Winkler

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Premier Hotel The Winkler
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 172: English reviews
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for our Kruger national park safari. The rooms were comfortable and the pool looked very nice and I saw someone making use of it we had two nights here breakfast was good and there was wifi in the reception and restaurant. We did have to get up one morning at 4 to be at Kruger for 5.30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacka
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Laca, Thank you for the review after your recent stay with us at Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure ourselves and see how we are progressing in our quest to exceed our GUESTS expectations. Due to the high volumes going into the park at present most guides try to...

Edenvale, South Africa
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was there on honeymoon 36 years ago and was not let down. Excellent location, very friendly staff, tasty buffet. We loved every minute of it! Great springboard location for sightseeing around the area and Kruger Park. It was a pleasure to meet busloads of foreigners coming to see our beautiful country.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luis584
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Luis, Thank you so much for your positive comments that you posted on Tripadvisor for Premier Hotel The Winkler. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to measure how well we are really producing in terms of service food and standards. And it was great to see that you engaged with all the tourists, as one...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Did a 2 week tour of SA and this was the last and worst hotel on my stay. The rooms were depressing and TV stations were not clear. No wifi in the rooms. It was only available at the main reception area and bar/restaurant. We were up at 5am each morning to do a safari so thank God we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Relayponey
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Relayponey, Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit at our hotel. I must apologise for the disappointing stay that you had with us. Regarding the TV channels we were struck by lightening that week and this affected the the signal and took out several decoders. This has since been addressed and we have added additional channels for...

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had stayed at the Winkler about 20 years ago several times while visiting the Kruger Park and this was a trip "down memory lane". The hotel doesn't seem to have changed much at all and in some ways has a quaint traditional feel to it. I understand that it is soon to be refurbished so I hope the traditional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Simon, Thank you so much for taking your trip down Memory Lane and reviewing the Winkler on Tripadvisor. It's through your most valued feedback that we are able to maintain and where possible exceed the standards that one would expect at a Premier Hotel. And as a long standing GUEST of over 20 years who better than to provide...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in a beautiful and quiet spot. We spent just two nights, to visit Kruger Park. The staff if really helpful and makes you fell comfortable during the whole stay. i would stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChofaArg
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Chofa, Thank you so much for posting a review of Premier Hotel The Winkler on Tripadvisor, your most valued feedback is useful a s a yardstick to see how we are perceived by our GUESTS. Hopefully you had some great sightings in the Kruger Park as most of our GUESTS last week saw the big five and so much...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful, atmospheric hotel with wonderful staff who would do anything for you,including the manager,who was so helpful. My room was very clean and well presented with lovely views over the gardens. A plate of fruit was there as a welcome gift. I would have loved to stay there longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith D
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Judith, Thank you for posting such a positive review of Premier Hotel The Winkler on TripAdvisor. Your comments always go a long way to motivating the TEAM and keep them all on top of their game and provide the service that one has come to expect at Premier Hotel The Winkler. It is truly a pleasure to be part...

Nottingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Premier for 2 nights as part of a tour. This was prior and after a full day visit to Kruger National Park. The hotel is about 30 minutes from Numbi Gate of Kruger. It is a good hotel in a pleasant setting with an open aspect looking over a landscaped garden with a swimming pool as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canonterry
SimonRES, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Cannonterry, Thank you so much for posting such a comprehensive and detailed review of Premier Hotel The Winkler. Your comments are most valued as a tool to measure on how well we are managing to meet and where possible exceed our GUESTS expectations. As you mention we are extremely close to the World re known Kruger National Park and...

GEORGIA
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I liked this hotel very much. It is not too far from Kruger National Park. The tour company picked us up early in the morning for our game drive. I thought the hotel was very lovely and quiet. My room was ok but the actual hotel is beautiful. The staff are very helpful. Make sure you have a convertor for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SOLSOEUR
Simon S, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Solsoeur, Thank you for taking the time to review Premier Hotel The Winkler on Tripadvisor, it's always great to receive such positive feedback, which is always shared with the TEAM, thus keeping them on top of their game. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and yes so convenient for the Kruger Park, and what better way...

Punta Cana
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was ok. The rooms were clean. The one problem was they left the bathroom windows open and flies came in the room. I didn't spend much time in the room. Either we were on a tour or in the lobby. There was no wifi in the rooms. You had to go to the lobby to get wifi. To...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natm577
Simon S, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Natm577, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay with us. Glad that you appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms, the gardens and the pleasant attitude of our TEAM. We always open the bathroom windows to air them and must apologise if you were inconvenienced by this. We do not usually...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Service at premierror hotel was excellent and the staff was very generous and welcoming . Dinning area was clean and the food was well presented and delicious. My room was perfect, the bedding was very clean

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smangelesegodi
Simon S, General Manager at Premier Hotel The Winkler, responded to this review

Dear Smangele, Thank you so much for your positive review of Premier Hotel the Winkler. It's pleasing to see that we met and exceeded your expectations in terms of our warm welcome, service and excellent food. I'll be sure to share your comments with the TEAM. Thanks again for the review and look forward to welcoming you back to the...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White River
11.1 km away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 9 in White River
159 reviews
6.2 km away
aha Greenway Woods Resort
aha Greenway Woods Resort
#6 of 9 in White River
166 reviews
31.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Nelspruit
5.4 km away
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
Oliver's Restaurant & Lodge
#2 of 9 in White River
265 reviews
2.9 km away
Casterbridge Hollow
Casterbridge Hollow
#3 of 9 in White River
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its ideal location, Premier Hotel The Winkler is the perfect location from which to explore the beautiful surrounding area. Only 20 minutes drive from the famous Kruger National Park and with easy access to attractions like the Blyde River Canyon, Sabie Waterfalls and Pilgrim's Rest. Premier Hotel The Winkler provides visitors with an incredible base from which to explore the rich African beauty of the Mpumalanga province. Founded around 1890, the town of White River has a rich history and has become both a tourism centre and a point of interest for those wishing to witness one of the most unique farming cultures in South Africa. Premier Hotel The Winkler is situated just 14km for the Kruger Mpumalanga Airport, a short 20 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, 10km outside of White River and a 30 minute drive to Nelspruit. The climate is said to be one of the best in South Africa, neither excessively hot in summer when rainfall is at its highest, nor overly cold during the sunny winters. Known for its scenic beauty, Mpumalanga offers visitors a front row seat to the majesty of Africa. The largest and most famous game reserve in South Africa lies at the heart of the Lowveld, a 20 minute drive from Premier Hotel The Winkler, the Kruger National Park is a wildlife experience like no other and allows visitors the opportunity to immerse themselves in the unpredictability of this iconic piece of Africa. The waterways of Mpumalanga offer explorers the opportunity to experience a different side of Africa, from the views over the sheer edges of the Blyde River Canyon 800m above the riverbed below to the tropical rain-forests that dominate the eastern side of the Crocodile River Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Winkler

Address: R538 Numbi Gate Road, White River 1249, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > White River
Price Range: ₹ 5,257 - ₹ 8,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Winkler 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Hotel The Winkler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Hotel The Winkler staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Premier Hotel The Winkler staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid. Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Relayponey, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were on the ground floor with easy access and beautiful views over the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles , 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bring an African Continent Convertor”
  • View from walkway
  • Pool View
  • View from Patio
 of 5 bubbles SOLSOEUR, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Executive suite on ground floor Room 90 is brilliant - kids can run to Jungle Gym and Pool while parents can relax and view them from room”
 of 5 bubbles nicetouch100, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Try not to be in the far located room from the reception”
 of 5 bubbles IsraelC932, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay