We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Special Offer
Member Rates
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Skukuza Golf Course
    11.1 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 12 August 2015
A great African experience
We stayed at one of the self catering units at the hotel, but... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

733 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
See the most recent reviews
Showing 598: English reviews
Braunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

This a very rustic hotel set in trees in the Kruger the hotel is set on a small hill in amongst some trees with a viewing platform to watch the animals fortunately the platform is about 25 feet above ground level so one feels very safe

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST, Thank you for giving us the word of commendation. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel Kruger Gate again soon. Yours sincerely, François Meyer General Manager

Port Elizabeth
Reviewed 12 August 2015

We stayed at one of the self catering units at the hotel, but ate at the restaurant in the evening. Very comfortable units, clean and well equipped. The proximity of the hotel to the Kruger Gate of the park is a big plus. The evening meal at the boma is an experience not to be missed - a great buffet,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desmond E
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST We dearly appreciate your comments and feedback. Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time out at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Yours sincerely, Francious Meyer, General manager

Collingwood, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I was pleasantly surprised by this resort. The public areas were really nice. We found the staff quite friendly considering the size of the hotel. The location was so convenient for us to do our self drives in Kruger and at night we would come back for a sundowner and we would look out at Kruger. We never saw any...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank getmeoutdoors
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor and to write down your additional positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. It is very pleasing to know that your stay was enjoyable. GUEST...

Pretoria
Reviewed 10 August 2015

What an experience! The hotel is situated in the most beautiful environment the with boardwalks in the treetop canopies and overlooking the river which might produce a surprise animal at any moment. The spa was the nicest I have ever experienced and to top it all as we lay on the beds overlooking the river an elephant came grazing past...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Motmot2013
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Thank you for the fantastic review. We are delighted to receive your compliments on the architecture and wonderful service you have experienced. we will certainly congratulate the STAFF for a job well executed. It was our pleasure to accommodate you. your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. We look forward to welcoming you to Protea Hotel...

ESSEX ENGLAND
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It turned out to be one of the two best during our 2 week tour of South Africa. This is a nicely located hotel, which is only a 5 minute drive from the Kruger gate entrance to Kruger Park. The hotel is nicely laid out. The rooms are comfortable. The evening buffet was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PPPEssexEngland
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST thank you for taking the time out to give us a review and to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotel Kruger Gate is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations, therefore we would like to thank...

Jacobsdal, South Africa
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Verry new and clean place to stay for business , rooms little smal , nice food and hice setting , staff always freindly , will defnitly stay there again soon , Buffet was good , brakfast also not bad fg

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gertgel
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST, Thank you for having chosen to stay at Protea hotel Kruger Gate and thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback after your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in future, if not for business then for leisure. Yours sincerely, Francious Meyer General Manager.

London
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed here for two nights as part of a four night Honeymoon in Kruger and the Greater Kruger region. We weren't expecting too much as we had thought it would just be an ordinary standard Protea Hotel. But this was phenomenal. The location is perfect - right outside the Paul Kruger entrance so you have the perfect location for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Macanni
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is always delightful to have to read positive reviews like yours. They serve as an encouragement and help us to consistently work hard at delivering the best possible service experience to our GUESTS. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to congratulate...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 16 July 2015

The family room was ok. I Would have really liked a chalet but non was available. The Advertised wifi was non existent. The Staff at the buffet boma were quite rude. The Drinks are extremely expensive.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DerickBayard
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am truly saddened by your comments as they do reflect the standard that Protea Hotel Kruger gate is usually proud to offer. I appreciate all the comments that you have brought to my attention. I will be sure to speak to my STAFF and conduct...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 15 July 2015

Being a timeshare owner at Burchell's Bush Lodge which is attached to the Protea Hotel, we used the facility of the Lapa Restaurant. Most disappointed with the service and the food. Having been there several times before, we were always impressed with the selection of food, including game dishes which are enjoyed by the tourists (being Kruger Park) and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruce E
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with feedback after your recent visit at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience you experienced. Your feedback...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 10 July 2015

The hotel was quite nice. Rooms were comfortable, large, and clean. The food at the buffets was good, with good variety. We had a braai bbq one night with music and dancing which was enjoyable. The monkeys running around add some fun atmosphere. We saw elephants come right up to fence several times. I had a massage at the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tvern23
PH-KrugerGate, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear GUEST, We were delighted to receive your feedback after your recent stay at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. we also appreciate the time you have taken to share your expriences with the Trip advisor community. I will be sure to congratulate the TEAM for contributing to your wonderful stay. Thank you also for highlighting the areas the need improvement. I...

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (508)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (241)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
11.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
326 reviews
36.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
36.6 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
278 reviews
16.3 km away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
418 reviews
5.0 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Price Range: ₹ 12,216 - ₹ 22,794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza, Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carry insect repellant and your own water.”
 of 5 bubbles sashasankar, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of the swimming pool/lapa”
 of 5 bubbles 16rachelm, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with shower AND bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Mataks, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book a chalet if there are more than 3 of you. better to have a room on the top floor to avois baboons”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB610, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you lock doors and windows as Baboons just love making a mess.”
 of 5 bubbles Oldbolter, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5