We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

732 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 598: English reviews
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If I was paying less money I wouldn't complain, but other than the check in staff, the service is poor. I guess on other days the service may be experienced differently. On the bright side - the setting and location are great, rooms are very comfortable - great bedding, the food is above average - cant complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA007
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. As a VALUED Marriott Rewards Basic MEMBER, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We saw that you rated your overall satisfaction however, we also noticed that there...

Phalaborwa, South Africa
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were surprise with a congratulation letter and champagne for our anniversary. Thank you very much, we appreciated it. We stayed for 3 nights and visit Kruger National Park on a daily basis, which was awesome. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful from the gate to the reception to our chalet. Unfortunately we cant say this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Walda D
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. As a VALUED Marriott Rewards Basic MEMBER, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. We also noticed that there was an missed opportunity in the dinning area ....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I came to this hotel anticipating to have a relaxing time. Unfortunately, it has been far from that and extremely stressful due to the poor customer service, well below the standard I expected of a 4-star hotel. The biggest issue arises from booking safaris, which is the only reason why I came to this hotel. On the day of my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bassin97
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Bassin, Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a South African tour. The most amazing place for us was to sit with a cool, well priced drink on the raised decking overlooking the Sabi River and wait for the animals to show up. They didn't disappoint and the family of elephants with a tiny baby who ventured right up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaR1983
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear JaR1983 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED CUSTOMER we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. The bush baby's...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful experience with Muzi Safari Tour who was recommended by the Protea Kruger Gate Hotel. We booked a tour at the hotel agency with Muzi Safari tour who was recommended by the hotel and we wanted to charge directly the tour on our room but the driver didn't accept despite the hotel gave us the authorization. We paid with credit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alain S
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Alain Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So there was some wrong and some right with this place. I will start with the wrong... This place is 50km from Hazyview. This means that if you are planning to go to Gods Window ... add 100km and two hours to the round trip (the speed limit is 60km/h and stop streets, traffic lights, potholes and animals make it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanDuncan
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Duncan, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. As a VALUED CUSTOMER we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was stunning but PLEASE never drink VIVREAU water being provided at Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. I was severely ill for 7 days after drinking this. I have actually never been this ill before and had to actually cancel a lot of my plans to find a doctor nearby. I understand this water is purified on site so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sashasankar
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Mr. Sankar Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate. We take the above matters as serious and we will investigate this. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On the plus side the location of the hotel is excellent. There are zebras walking around the pool in the evening and you can see elephants and hippos from the lounge area. We stayed in the chalets that would have been all right, except that the first night there were so many bugs that my daughter was eaten alive. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrsmg4
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon JRSMG4 Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the service is very good the staff members are kind and helpful. the margerita pizza I had was very savoury The hotel is a few meters away from the kruger gate the is a boma area where parties can be held under the trees

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magdelines2016
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a VALUED GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the team to...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is located just outside the kruger gate, the location is great for getting inside the park nice and early. The rooms are decent, it is a bit worn out but you are in the middle of a safari so standards should be a bit different. We ordered room service every night and avoided the dinner buffet as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJ L
Francois M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Kruger Gate. As a VALUED Marriott Rewards Basic MEMBER, we see that there is room for improvement based on your feedback. we also noticed that there were several missed opportunities above those mentioned. Please accept our apology for...

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (508)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (241)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (137)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skukuza
11.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 14 in Kruger National Park
326 reviews
36.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
36.6 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
278 reviews
16.3 km away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
418 reviews
5.0 km away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate - Where the bushveld is your playground, no matter your age! Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate, a superior lodge style hotel on the banks of the Sabie River in Mpumalanga offers an affordable luxury getaway. The ambiance of comfort is unforgettable in the context of the African bush. Enjoy the serenity of being in a tree house that overlooks the bushveld, whilst you watch the wildlife go by. Keep your head in the clouds as the veranda and walkway to your air-conditioned room is at a level normally the sole domain of the variety of birds found in the area. Situated only 100 meters from the Paul Kruger Gate of the Kruger National Park, the luxurious Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate provides guests with the ideal location from which to experience wildlife first-hand. This lodge offers bush drives in a Private Reserve and throughout the Kruger National Park, along with open vehicle safaris and organized game trails for you and your family. Don't forget your binoculars in this birdwatchers paradise. A days adventure is best ended off with a visit to the stunning open air Lapa Restaurant. With an extensive array of local foods to choose from, enjoy a dinner under the African stars. We can even make special arrangements for a Tree house sleep out. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate

Address: Portia Shabangu Rd | on Sabi River at the Paul Kruger Gate, Skukuza 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Skukuza
Price Range: ₹ 12,209 - ₹ 22,440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Kruger Gate Hotel Skukuza
Protea Kruger Gate Skukuza
Protea Hotel Kruger Gate
Kruger Gate Hotel
Protea Hotel By Marriott Kruger Gate South Africa/Skukuza, Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate staff and other travellers.
39 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (39)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carry insect repellant and your own water.”
 of 5 bubbles sashasankar, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of the swimming pool/lapa”
 of 5 bubbles 16rachelm, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with shower AND bath.”
 of 5 bubbles Mataks, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book a chalet if there are more than 3 of you. better to have a room on the top floor to avois baboons”
 of 5 bubbles MaryB610, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you lock doors and windows as Baboons just love making a mess.”
 of 5 bubbles Oldbolter, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay