We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
23 Sheppard Dr Sonheuwel, Nelspruit 1200 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$102
Tripadvisor$102
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Hotels.com$102
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#12 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The renowned Sheppard Boutique is situated in the Mpumalanga capital city of Nelspruit, and offers a beautiful view of the Crocodile River Valley and Lowveld of Mpumalanga. The manor is located 26.3km from Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport, and central to all the attractions of the area. A close proximity to White River, Malalane, Hazyview and even Barberton, means Sheppard Boutique is the ideal luxury getaway and an ideal central location for business. Take a mere 50 minute drive to Kruger National Park for a Safari or a short 5 minute trip to Nelspruit’s bustling Riverside Precinct where your meetings can be conducted. The establishment features all the expected amenities like accommodation, a private lounge and pool while also offering special touches like breakfast on our viewing deck and other memorable offerings that will ensure your return for future visits.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Patio
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
105Reviews9Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 29
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bruce K wrote a review Jul 2022
London2 contributions
This is a lovely property in a perfect location. I had previously visited the property before deciding to stay. However, we were disappointed to find the TV in our room was not working and the gentleman on duty had no idea how to fix it. He allocated us another room and left us to repack and carry our own heavy bags. The room was smaller and yet, the hotel management made no gesture to compensate us. Then on the penultimate day, the bathroom flooded because the bath drain plug was faulty. We were unable to have bath the next morning before checkout and yet again, the hotel receptionist missed the opportunity to compensate us. I did not ask, because for me the true test of good service is for the hotel staff to show some initiative. In this respect, they failed dismally. Then, to cap it all on the last morning there has been road blocks around Nelspruit and most of the kitchen staff were unable to get to work. Breakfast was totally compromised. My wife asked for poached eggs and was told the chef (who, by the way is also the chef for the Grillroom) did not know how to poach an egg. My wife then settled for fried eggs and he clearly doesn't know how to fry eggs either!!!! The underside was burnt and the white and yolk were totally undercooked. We were on a B&B rate and yet again, no attempt was made to compensate us for the fact we did not receive a proper breakfast service. I would stay again if I am in Nelspruit, because the location is superb and the rooms, when functioning are lovely. Breakfasts are very good most of the time. Towels were disappointingly old and hard but I managed to persuade the highly professional and friendly Jessica to find us better ones. She should be singled out as being a real asset to the hotel. By the way, she was not on duty when all the drama described above took place, because I am confident she WOULD have shown more initiative.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Alberts, Marketing at Sheppard Boutique Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Mr. King, It is most unfortunate for us that your experience at Sheppard Boutique Hotel may be considered by yourself as not remarkable nor memorable, to say the least. Management went through a difficult time during your stay as we experienced a transport strike which led to us having a zero staff compliment. However, you being the guest, we do not expect you to understand nor have sympathy for any unforeseen problems we may have to deal with. We just want to mention that the room you were moved to due to the faulty TV, is exactly the same size as the one you originally booked. It is in essence the same room, right next door. That is most probably the reason you were not compensated. However, from your review, it is now clear that you experienced severe inconvenience and therefore expected to be compensated. May we kindly suggest that in future you raise your concerns and inconveniences to the management of the hotel you are staying at, during your stay. This will enable management to address said problems immediately and appropriately. It is difficult to address a problem a guest may have had, once the guest has already left. May we suggest the following wonderful guest houses in the area during your next stay: - Christie's on Russell - Francolin Lodge - Loerie's Call - Lowveld Living - La Villa Vita - La Roca We truly hope your next stay in Nelspruit will be more memorable and that all your expectations are met. Yours truly, Management Sheppard Boutique Hotel
Read more
24jeannette wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Lovely location, beautiful gardens and the view just makes it. Well maintained gardens and the lounge and reception area beautifully and tastefully decorated. The rooms need an upgrade, they're a little tired, I stayed in a luxury suite which was nice and comfortable, however it was very dark and cold with no view. Staff very friendly, especially the staff serving in the breakfast room. On the second day there was no breakfast or room staff due to a strike so breakfast was a little disappointing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
W3771YUpat wrote a review Jun 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe1 contribution
The service from both reception to dining was outstanding, the room is very good shower could do with a bit of re-grouting and to make me absolutely happy a small Nespresso machine would finish it off
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stshik511038 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The property is in a peaceful and quiet place, and it is secured It is clean and well maintained, the staff is very friendly and professional The rooms are also clean, Covid protocol observed at all times
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ckurti733738 wrote a review Apr 2022
Bakersfield, California1 contribution
This is a amazing place to stay from the fabulous rooms to the beautiful grounds and wonderful breakfast. The view is to die for and the staff is outstanding. Only wish I could have stayed more than one night. I had made reservations for dinner the night I stayed and it was a 10+.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nmalga315473 wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The food at this place is excellent, especially the dinner. The Price is good and fair considering the how nice the place is And the Staff are wonderful and friendly I only book at this place when travelling to Nelspruit for business.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ronald L wrote a review Apr 2022
Polokwane23 contributions3 helpful votes
Utmost friendly staff, super clean, super secure, great value for money! The venue caters end to end for any business or social occasion. The food is prepared to the utmost perfection. Breathtaking view over Nelspruit. The birds and nature surroundings is so smoothing after a stressful day.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mdan361503 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Staff was very nice. Rooms were clean and the dinner was beautiful as well as their breakfast. Great value for money. I would go back there again if we're to go back there, I will book there again. Love the place
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
anestasha wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Enjoyed our stay was clean environment, lovely spacious room, beautiful gardens for our maternity shoot (photos came out spectacular by the way)Loved our delicious breakfast and just overall relaxing stay. Thank you
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Paula M wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
I usually stay at Sheppard and like given the good balance between location, service and price. after 2 years I found that the service went down a little (cleanliness) and also I had a strange incident where the manager assumed that I did not want to pay and became a bit unpolite.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Natasha Alberts, Marketing at Sheppard Boutique Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2022
In the past six months there have only been one guest with whom we had a problem concerning an unpaid bill for our restaurant, The Grillroom, which the guest insisted was paid but which we could prove, was not. There is only one manager at Sheppard Boutique Hotel, Anton Alberts, and he does not recall any incident with any guest regarding outstanding monies. The receptionist however recalls addressing an outstanding bill (mentioned above) from October 2021 with a guest upon said guests' return In February 2022. The receptionist admits to being firm, not unpolite, but only after the guest insisted on denying the outstanding amount and subsequently became rude. Management is content that she acted in the best interest of the company and not purposefully to the detriment of the guest. With regards to cleanliness, it would have been wonderful if the guest reported any problems concerning cleanliness during their stay, so that the problem, if any, could have been addressed immediately. It is difficult to address a so-called "cleanliness problem" when the guest who happened to experience the problem had already left.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaNelspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheppard Boutique Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Sheppard Boutique Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sheppard Boutique Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sheppard Boutique Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheppard Boutique Hotel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheppard Boutique Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Orange Restaurant, Jock & Java, and Ocean Basket Nelspruit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheppard Boutique Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sheppard Boutique Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sheppard Boutique Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.