We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Cnr N4 & Graniet Street PO Box 1556, Nelspruit 1200 South Africa
2 people are viewing this hotel
Mercure
$72
View deal
Booking.com
$72
View deal
ZenHotels.com
$68
View deal
Expedia.com$73
Travelocity$72
Priceline$83
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (139)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (23)

About

#12 of 25 hotels in Nelspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The 3-Star Mercure Hotel Nelspruit offers excellent Lowveld hospitality to mid-range, long- and short-stay guests. It is the ideal home-base for corporate and leisure travel in and around the Lowveld, including the nearby Kruger National Park and Sudwala Caves. It is adjacent to the new Ilanga Mall. Apartment-style suites offer guests self-catering, room service or dine-in restaurant options. Enjoy cocktails at the pool while you take advantage of the free Wi-Fi and the excellent weather.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
60Somewhat walkable
Grade: 60 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
329Reviews3Q+A41Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 128
  • 89
  • 40
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Hannes C wrote a review 7 Aug
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa17 contributions17 helpful votes
1. There is no electric socket next to the bed. 2. The blinds in the kitchen were broken. 3. There is a very old air con but no remote. That means no air con. 4. There is no telephone in the room. 5. The telephone number on the official website for mercure nelspruit is not answered. 6. The room had a bad smell, like old urine. 7. There were no face towels. 8. My room key had to be recoded at reception. 9. There were curtain hooks gone, I couldn't really close the curtains properly. 10. The carpet was filthy with a big burn mark. 11. There's broken tiles on the steps to the room. 12. The shower door was dirty and the floor slippery. 13. There is no floor towel when you exit the shower. I travel a lot, this is close to the worst hotel room I've been to in the last 20 years. On the plus point, the staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Pierre Meintjes, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Hannes C, Thank you for taking the time to tell us, in detail, about your experience at the Mercure Nelspruit. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I am personally going to look into every single issue that you have brought up as we are currently busy with a refurbishing program. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katia A wrote a review Jul 2022
Maputo, Mozambique38 contributions15 helpful votes
I consider myself one of the oldest customers of the Mercure Hotel since many years, when the city of nelspruit was being built and one of the reasons was for the location and for being one of the most affordable and well-regarded hotels at the time. Unfortunately, I write as a constructive criticism that I don't have the same opinion, first because of the fact that it remains stagnant in time (cleanliness of the place, decoration , wifi service and quality of service) and mainly because of what happened in my last stay. Less than a month that did, during the stay for a few days it was paid in full ( 4 days), for other reasons we had to leave early on 2nd day . we had been told on the instructions of the hotel manager that the refund would be made by bank and only after 2 weeks at our insistence by email it was replied that it would not be possible.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
W00dy1968 wrote a review Mar 2022
Lydenburg, South Africa61 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
I have never visited a hotel with such shocking rooms. Dirty carpets, aircon not working, dirty aircon, dirty shower, linen too small, broken tiles, ants all over the place, gardens a joke. Reception area and bar/pool nice and staff excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mandisa Zwane wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
The food and service at the restaurant was great but update is needed on rooms and proper cleaning. If you need piece of mind I would suggest the place, what I liked about the place it’s it convenient to shops next to mall.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nisha MacDougall, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 12 Jul 2021
Dear MandisaZwane199 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. When we next upgrade the hotel, we will take your valid comments into consideration. Also, I have re-trained the housekeeping department to prevent reoccurrence. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lad123 wrote a review Jun 2021
Rustenburg, South Africa67 contributions53 helpful votes
I stayed here a few years ago and gave it a rave review so I went out of my way to stay here again without checking the reviews. Well it is 0400 and I have not slept at all, They put me in a room above the pool filter and it is like being in a washing machine with the gurgleing, hissing, thumping and churning right under my head. Early on, I did ask reception to turn it off but they say that the maintenance guy had gone home. The wifi code doesn't work, I cant get the TV to switch on the bedside lights have no switches, the bath is stained, the carpets are burned so all I can do is stare up at the sagging ceiling. All this for a rack rate of over R1,000 per night. Shocking! I should have slept in my car,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I was in room 203. Avoid
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nisha MacDougall, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Dear lad123 I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Can you please email me with your reservations details so I can investigate your complaints? My email address is H2918-GM@accor.com. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ProtopianNelson N wrote a review Apr 2021
Durbanville, South Africa1 contribution
General response to bad reviews is as pathetic as the place itself. The place doesn't even deserve a one star hotel rating. The rooms were beyond bad. The bedding wasn't fresh. Bathrooms pathetic. Lights don't work. Kettle broken. Coach and carpets dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nisha MacDougall, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 6 Apr 2021
Dear protopiannelsonn I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. In order o investigate the matter further so I can re-train the Housekeeping team, can you advise us on your room and name you made reservation? I could not find your username in our profile. Please email me details H2918-GM@accor.com Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyne MEUNIER wrote a review Mar 2021
Richards Bay, South Africa13 contributions2 helpful votes
Everything was so bad, we were in shock. From the bedroom - how can you call this a Junior suite? Stains in the bathroom, cigarette burns on the rug, air conditioning not working well ! Then the restaurant ?? What a disaster !!! They offer a 'a la carte menu' and then tell you that only 3-4 plates are available ! They offer a wine list, and then only 2 bottles are available ! It seems like this place should have been closed down long long time ago ! What a deception. We chose Mercure because we thought this would be a very nice stop after a 6+ hours car drive before going to Kruger Park. We will never again choose Mercure without reading the comments first. 900 ++ rands for this ? Please. This establishment doesn't even deserve a star.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nisha MacDougall, General Manager at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Dear lyne75m Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Nelspruit Hotel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I have addressed your valued points to the various staff members in order to prevent re-occurrence. Please be advised that we have recently employed new Food and Beverage Manager that has vast experience and will turn around the department. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
73P-Alex wrote a review Nov 2020
Bangkok, Thailand21 contributions19 helpful votes
First disclaimer. We were supposed to stay here in April. Hotel was closed due to covid. Took me few months to get my money back, but it finally happened. So I was in contact with the GM before we checked-in this time. Well....so all should have gone smoothly for a Gold Member. Last time I stay her was some 8-10 years ago. On check-in, zero recognition as a Gold Member. I had to call the GM to explain to her about the welcome drink vouchers. Once in the room, zero note or welcome from management. Next, the towels are filthy. They are simply grey and years old. Next...try to get your drink at the bar. They have wine, but not a decent wine glass in view. Look like the GM never checked this place after the lock down! Next, the swimming pool is even more dirty than the towels...had a look....but no thanks! Disgrace! We left at 4.30am....went to pick up my invoice. This is a 24 hours hotel....but nobody in reception beside a cute cat for a good 10 minutes. We left! Next stay, after the Friday night stay, her we are back on Sunday night. Nice staff at reception....but this time no towels in room...and pillow cases are disgusting! I wrote an email to GM Friday evening. We were in hotel from Sunday evening till Monday morning 10.45am...guess what...got a reply around 4pm on Monday. Maybe the GM is just a part time one, or she is never involved in the property! This place is not even the level of a budget Ibis. But I personally have more issues with properly none competent or let's put is simply...non-existant management! Avoid this place!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Karien Linde, Other at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 4 Nov 2020
Dear 73P-Alex I apologise that you felt that you were not treated as VIP guest and that I consider my job as part time. When I received your email, I had an emergency at the hotel and could not attend to your problem immediately. I did reply to your email in the afternoon explaining to you that we are attend to and resolving your problems. You mentioned you did not get your refund in time - when you contacted us in April, I advised you by email that we did not have access to the hotel and systems as we were on lock down. Once we were allowed to travel, we immediately refunded your account. I was in continuous contact you with advising you of the situation. I will take your suggestions on board in being a better manager. Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katshie S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
If travelling as a family of 3 and above, self-catering hotel apartments at Mecure hotel are a good value in the area. Although we booked a 2x 4 sleeper units (2 bedrooms), there was not enough crockery for the booked guests in both units. This was however not an issue for us as we travel with our own crockery and cuttlery. A street across Ilanga shopping Mall. Unit 600 is adjuscent the mall delivery dock so the noise from the delivery trucks early hours (from 05:00am) of the morning can be a nuisance. Room cleanliness is okay but can be better. The couches had a stinch, the dining chairs had visible stains that require attention. The linen was clean. Overall, okay but with room for improvement in terms of maintaining hygiene.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth C wrote a review Mar 2020
Ashford, United Kingdom23 contributions2 helpful votes
The main front house areas of hotel were maintained to a good standard. However the room we stayed in was extremely dated, unkept and dingy. The kitchen area was poorly equiped with only one glass, no cutlery or utensils or plates. Although it had a microwave and fridge. The bed was comfortable and our room cleaned daily. We stayed in a diabled room, the bathroom was a death trap when the floor was wet from showering as it was of a wet room design. Definitely not non slip. We had an abandoned car with flat tyres parked outside our room. The area was noisy and i felt unsafe. Definately wouldnt recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: stay clear of disabled room a death trap.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Karien Linde, Other at Mercure Nelspruit
Responded 25 Mar 2020
Dear lifelongdreams I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Upon on your next reservation, we will ensure that we do not allocate paraplegic room. If you enquired at the desk about the car, we would have informed you about the owner but we cannot disclose anything on public forum. We are aware of the car. We have security available 24 hours at the hotel and the patrol the hotel hourly basis. We have controlled access entering and leaving the hotel. Sincerely
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure nelspruit hotel nelspruit, nelspruit hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaNelspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Nelspruit
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Nelspruit?
Nearby attractions include i'langa Mall (0.2 km) and The Fun Company I'langa Mall (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Nelspruit?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mercure Nelspruit?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Nelspruit?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Nelspruit?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Nelspruit?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mediterranean, Mugg & Bean, and RocoMamas I'Langa Mall.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Nelspruit?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Mercure Nelspruit have airport transportation?
Yes, Mercure Nelspruit offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Mercure Nelspruit offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Nelspruit?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Mercure Nelspruit accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.