We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R538 Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport Road, Nelspruit 1200 South Africa
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (9)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)

About

#18 of 92 Specialty lodging in Nelspruit
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"Likweti" is the SiSwati word for "morning star", which symbolises new beginnings. The Private Reserve includes a four-star lodge and an estate. Those in the know say that location is everything. We tend to agree. But we also believe in a return to nature and in creating a sustainable lifestyle. This 2 000-hectare unique Lowveld paradise is located a mere 10 minutes' drive from the Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport(KMIA), just 11 minutes from White River and only 20 minutes from Nelspruit. Nearby attractions include the world famous Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon and even the sunny beaches of Mozambique. Swaziland, the smallest country in the Southern hemisphere, is also within reach. Likweti lies both above and below the mist belts of the distant Swazi mountain escarpment in Mpumalanga, South Africa. Giraffe, nyala and warthog families wander freely on the property. Bird life abounds, with over 300 species calling the reserve home - a birdwatcher's paradise. Feathered residents include the elusive African Finfoot. Nocturnal sightings of bush baby, porcupine, serval and genet complete this tranquil bush experience. Accommodation at Likweti Lodge has been designed with maximum privacy and indulgent comfort top-of-mind ensuring that guests will enjoy their tranquil bush experience in the height of 4-star comfort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Secured parking
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming

Location

Full view
Contact
R538 Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport Road, Nelspruit 1200 South Africa
Getting there
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport7 kmSee all flights
Skukuza Airport74 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
29Reviews1Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vee16 wrote a review Nov 2016
Cumbria, England25 contributions7 helpful votes
When we were travelling to Likweti we put the Google coordinates in the Sat Nav but it took us to the wrong place! Without the help, by phone, from a member of the staff we would not have found Likweti at all. The lodge room was absolutely fabulous and it was "dressed" superbly. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped. The outside space was an added extra. The meals were very tasty and served in the main lodge. This is the only area for WiFi access. During our stay we were very well looked after by all the staff and the accommodation and staff made our last night of our holiday special.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ilona b wrote a review Aug 2016
Jhb4 contributions4 helpful votes
What a lovely lodge close to all amenities and just far enough away to chill. Close to golf courses and the Kruger Park. Rooms 1 and 10 are exceptional with their own splash pools but the other units are just as nice as each unit has a fantastic veranda area and the rooms are very well appointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Units 1 or 10 as they have their own splash pools. The other units are equally as nice as all...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bielies wrote a review Apr 2016
Pretoria, South Africa78 contributions58 helpful votes
The 10 chalets are very large and very well appointed. Massive beds and luxuriously furnished rooms. My chalet had two showers, one indoors and one outdoors. Beautiful wooden deck to sit and admire the valley views. The lodge restaurant is large and our meals were very well prepared. The large herd of giraffe on the lawns infront of the restaurant were also a very special sight. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2016Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott W wrote a review Dec 2015
Cape May, New Jersey4 contributions7 helpful votes
We spent 5 days at Umlani this June (2015) during our three-week honeymoon in South Africa. We are both in our 40s, Americans, have extensive travel experience, and love to travel! We've stayed in $5 dives and 5 star places around the world and Umlani was right up there at the top of our all time favorite spots. We're not wealthy, but we like to spend our money on travel. Likweti was the first place we stayed in South Africa on our way to Kruger. Through our own confusion we wound up passing the lodge and getting lost, and the owner was kind enough to come out personally to lead us back to the lodge. We were late arriving, so he put together a beautiful dinner for us on the deck of our room. The room itself was gorgeous and spacious with a big bath, shower and deck, and views out over the bush. Our breakfast in the morning was also very nice. Our only regrets were that we spent just the night there! We can't speak to the animals or other activities near by (we did go to Chimp Eden on our way to Kruger, which was fantastic), but we can say that we were very well cared for and that the lodge was great.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Likweti Lodge
Responded 28 Jan 2016
Dear Scott, Thank you for your positive review. We hope that we will be able to see you again in the not so distant future. Kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tyrone h wrote a review Nov 2015
Nelspruit18 contributions5 helpful votes
Been here a few times. Good for a weekend or even one night break away. Still has its it secluded in the wild feel. The luxury lodge is very spacious, private and great view of the bush veld. King size bed, bath tub for two and outside splash pool still make this a romantic getaway worth it. Even with price comparison to other luxury lodges in the area, Likweti still value for money, in my opinion. Hopefully the splash pool will be heated again. Adri assured me they are finding a solution.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The two with a splash pool, find out if they're heated ( but in the summer, not at all...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Likweti Lodge
Responded 28 Jan 2016
Dear Tyrone, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is always a pleasure hosting you. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Likweti Lodge Management & Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annelien D wrote a review Oct 2015
12 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at Likweti during October 2015. Adri and Guy was super friendly and made us feel at home right away. Luxury Suite is comfortable with private splash pool. Had a few Nyalas pass by while relaxing on the deck. Food was excellent!!! Attention to detail. Will definitely return asap!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Likweti Lodge
Responded 28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your rating. We hope to see you in 2016. Kind regards, Likweti Lodge Management & Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
necksy wrote a review Sep 2015
6 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is nice and relaxed. Pool could be heated though. Food not up to any standard. We would have been better chewing on cardboard everyday. For the amount you pay to stay at this hotel a little bit of eatable food would not hurt.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 1 or Room 10
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GuySwan wrote a review Aug 2015
London, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
We attended a wedding at Likweti Lodge for a long weekend, and the experience was outstanding. Dealing with the hosts was an absolute pleasure, as they ensured that our time there was as relaxing and pleasurable as possible. We stayed in an Executive suite, and they were amazing - gorgeous views looking out over the Lowveld, outdoor shower, air-con, bar fridge, fresh towels and comfy bed. And the organisation they put into the wedding was outstanding, really going the extra mile to ensure the bride and groom had minimal stress and maximum enjoyment! Two thumbs up! Friendly staff, incredible food, beautiful setting. Not a bad word to say about it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agent at Likweti Lodge
Responded 28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your positive response. Hope to see you again in 2016. Kind regards, Management & Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dee040302 wrote a review Jun 2015
Pretoria, South Africa2 contributions
We were disappointed with Likweti Lodge, it sounded fabulous from the reviews but it was not!. whilst our suite was clean & comfortable, there was no gas bottle so no gas fire (not good for winter) there was no lodge directory for amenities, emergency numbers or whether it was safe to walk in the surrounding bush, meal times. no phone to contact reception. We walked up to reception at about 4 pm to be told that the manager/ chef was on his way home and we would have to go into town for a meal. He did rustle up a lovely meal, which was tasty not fine dining as their brochure describes. we were the only people at the lodge so there wasn't really any atmosphere, what was more worrying is that at night there is no manager or staff on the property so one has to wonder about security!! To us the lodge looked shabby and was expensive for the amenities provided. The reviews of Likweti Lodge on Trip Advisor are misleading we had booked on the strength of them and were very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
Rooms
Location
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Likweti Lodge
Responded 6 Jul 2015
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment and bringing your concerns to our attention. Without the feedback of our guests we can't improve on our service. We are currently investigating the points you mentioned and will revert soonest with more in depth feedback. Kind regards Likweti Lodge Management & Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CuriousMeerkatjie wrote a review Apr 2015
Cape Town, South Africa361 contributions107 helpful votes
Likweti is located between White River and Nelspruit. Despite the close proximity to these towns this logde feels like you are in the bush. We had stunning sunset and early morning walks and encountered nyala, zebra, impala and warthogs. You will find restaurants in close proximity to the lodge if you did not book for dinner. The suite itself was spacious with views and an outdoor shower. The suite is luxurious and won't disappoint. A comfortable king size bed, seating area, separate vanity, aircon and fan, double basin and coffee station with plunger are some of the features. Breakfast was served next to the pool while we watched the warthog family going about their business. The chef accommodated my requests during breakfast. The nature walk and breakfast made my day. This was a memorable stay at a quality establishment.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in the Impala suite and although it is closest to the restaurant and pool it was...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Likweti Lodge
Responded 6 Jul 2015
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay! We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Likweti Lodge Management & Staff
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$82 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaNelspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Likweti Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Likweti Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Likweti Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Likweti Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Likweti Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Time Cafe, Wimpy, and Debonairs Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Likweti Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Likweti Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Likweti Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.