We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Palms Guest House

TravelocityUS$ 56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 56*
Great Deal
US$ 57*
US$ 57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Palms Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 38: English reviews
Start your review of The Palms Guest House
 Click to rate
Oberon, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Entry to property bad, noisy area. Tea/coffee not replenished on room service. No personel in guesthouse to receive keys back and no key box. People in room next to our room were very noisy througout the night. Would not reccommend this guest house to friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hendrikb989
Krugersdorp
Reviewed 1 week ago

No Chef at gust house had to eat somewhere else. Rooms lightning extremely poor had to change my room. When looking for assistance with no hot water nobody at premises. Extremely noisy when I wanted to sleep.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annajacobae
München
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What I remember most was the great breakfast, while sitting on the terrace. Various, lot of and delicious local food! Hosts welcoming but most of the time unobtrusive. The room was quite large with lots of windows. Ok standard, furniture and couch a bit outworn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sven1001
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Room is too small and there no space in the room. Supper is 18:00 to 19:00 which short, it needs to be extended maybe until 20:00. May be put microwaves and cutlery in the rooms. They doesn't asked how do want your breakfast or supper. They just dish food they don't ask if u eat pork or not.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasbK4924ME
Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Not the most modern of places but quite confortable and beautiful. The only staff member we met was very helpful and friendly, he saved the day! The Manager was very unpleaseant and unavailable. Charged us R750, altough we had booked the room through booking.com at the rate of R720 and didnt seem happy at all to have guests. The WiFi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maite G
Avon, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Not the most modern of places but the staff was a delight. Very accommodating to all our needs. The place is near the heart of nespruit with all the best restaurants a short drive away. Internet was a bit slow, but we felt very at home during our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V8386IBrichardn
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I made a booking for 2 rooms for 2 separate nights in September. I paid 50% up front. My reservation was confirmed by management prior to our party leaving New Zealand. We arrived on the scheduled date at about 1pm. We were greeted by 2 neandethal sloths who had no idea we were expected. The only thing I've seen move...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed here in 2013 & 2015 it was a fantastic B&B the best we have stayed in, we loved it there and recommend it to all who visit that part of Africa, the couple that run it are really nice and easy to get along with, good food, great room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

The place needs an urgent make over. The rooms, furniture and bathrooms are 50 years old. Building rubble on both sides of our room. When we complained re the state of the place we were offered a "discount" for our next stay, which will never happen again. The place is advertised as a 4 star establishment but don't even deserve...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Chris P, Manager at The Palms Guest House, responded to this review

Good day As we were bussy putting in paving ,we did apoligies to the customers on arrival as the bricks to finished off were not delivered. The reason why we offered a discount is because we felt obliged to offered it to them we are currently bussy with the inside off the rooms as KHALAMI GROUP HAVE GOT A HIGH...

Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The room was too small, there's noise coming from the shower drain the whole night. The buffet area was always dirty. The first morning @7h30 I was told I can't have breakfast because the food is finished. In the evenings I was told to come and eat quickly before the food is finished.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank setimelaveronica

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
3.4 km away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
234 reviews
1.5 km away
Nelspruit Lodge
Nelspruit Lodge
#5 of 71 in Nelspruit
312 reviews
1.7 km away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 71 in Nelspruit
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Bavaria Guest Lodge
Bavaria Guest Lodge
#17 of 71 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
0.3 km away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 71 in Nelspruit
320 reviews
0.9 km away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#10 of 64 in Nelspruit
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
DESCRIPTION: Warmth and welcome await you at The Palms, one of Nelspruit’s most popular and established guest houses. Bordering a nature reserve the lush sub-tropical gardens offer superb views and an abundance of bird life, creating an ambience of peace and tranquillity. LOCATION Popular tourist attractions are all within easy travelling distances, i.e. the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest and the historical town of Barberton. ACCOMMODATION All rooms are individually appointed with your comfort in mind and all are en-suite with television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ceiling fans. The house itself offers superb views of the subtropical gardens and mountains beyond. DINING Our breakfast room overlooks the sparkling pool and granite slabs. Your stay will include a comprehensive, full cooked breakfast. We offer packed breakfast and lunches and dinners can be served by arrangement. FACILITIES The Palms has a guest lounge with an honesty bar. We have a Braai area and our car park is guarded. Children are welcome to explore the extensive gardens, climb the granite slabs and play in the pool. TOURS We have connections with SATOUR registered tour guides and tours can be arranged to the Kruger National Park, God’s Window, Pilgrims Rest, Sabie and the waterfalls, Blyde River Canyon, Barberton and the surrounding area’s. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Palms Guest House

Address: 25 Van Wijk Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Price Range: ₹ 3,036 - ₹ 4,845 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Guest House Nelspruit, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Palms Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book at another hotel.”
markcY3370BH, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Could not fault anything at this b&b.”
alancE6749VR, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed very nice. We stayed on the downstairs level right outside the pool area, it was quiet and lovely.”
723alexab, 29 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms”
Foodlover583, 22 Nov 2013 | Read review
“We loved having the option of a strong, separate shower and the semi-sunken bath in Room 5.”
NatH611, 30 Oct 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 56* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 57
PricelineUS$ 57
TripAdvisorUS$ 56
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates