We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Booking.comUS$ 141*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 169*
US$ 141*
US$ 169*
US$ 141*
US$ 169*
US$ 142*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Our room was spacious, comfortable and had no problems. Enjoyed a brief swim in the pool outside our door. Buffet dinner was great, as was our welcome drink. Restful night, bagged breakfast and splendid accommodations. Did hear some kind of wild thing making noises around 3am and was glad to be comfy indoors. Pleasant stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela B
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Angela B Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip advisor your comments are important to us as we are as committed as ever to providing each GUEST with a most memorable and magnificent Protea Hotels service experience. We hope that you will be staying with us again soon as we would welcome another opportunity...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The room was large and the bed fairly comfortable. We had 2 good buffet dinners there and nice breakfasts. A tea/coffee maker was in the room as well as a safe. The first night was fine, but the second night the room next to mine was occupied, there was a terrible noise of gurgling water and clanging pipes coming from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Carols01 Greetings from South Africa and Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview. It’s very much appreciated! We really do appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, facilities, restaurant and food. Our commitment to investing in our property...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Clean and tidy, reasonable restaurant with good service perfectly acceptable hotel near Kruger, very little choice of hotels so this one was good enough.Pool was a funny colour and directly under a flight path so quite noisy!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papagayo12
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Papagayo12 Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip advisor, your feedback is important to us as GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that...

salt lake city, utah
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Great view, good food. Monkeys play in the area. Friendly staff. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel. The only possible downside is no wifi in the room. Being anti social this has forced me into conversing with nice people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank homerrita
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Homerrita Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on tripadvisor. Thank you for your words of appreciation, We are delighted to receive your compliments and we will certainly congratulate the STAFF. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact us for any...

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We spent a long weekend here and found the rooms very comfortable. The grounds are well looked after. The breakfast, served buffet style, is not the best but serves the purpose. My biggest compliment here would be to the staff! All the staff, from the lady at reception to the bartender were very friendly and helpful and actually made our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carien_vd_W
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Carien Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor. It’s very much appreciated! I am delighted to receive your compliments on your service experience at our hotel and to hear that our team has lived up to the promise by providing you with genuine and true hospitality. Thank you for choosing to stay at...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

This is a pretty practical hotel we stayed at with a tour group. The hotel has some issues such as the carpeting needs to be replaced and the shower head sprays all over the place. However, the beds were pretty comfortable by African standards, the water was warm and the food I thought was pretty good actually. Without knowing other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cdbasu
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Cdbasu Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. All reviews are important to us as they help us improve on standards, and compliment the team that went the extra mile. Guest’s perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at our hotel is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not...

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

What was a highly recommended place by a friend turned out to be a huge, disappointment. I am a member of the prokard scheme, therefore there is some level of expectation from me. The hotel is getting old, no effort to refresh it. Service extremely poor, on one of their busy weekend not enough bar staff. You order hot chocolate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bheki X
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Bheki Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor and apologise for not replying to it sooner. Please be advised that all comments made by all our guests are important to us and we ensure that we always strive to provide the best service and on this occasion we did not exceed your basic...

Morganville, NJ
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms that are well kept. It is located close to Kruger Park making that a big plus. Room size is adequate, the bathroom was good. Rooms are in separate buildings from the front desk and dining room. Wifi is available in the dining room and the patio outside it. There is a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ANDODI
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Andodi Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Protea Hotel Hazyview. It’s very much appreciated! Guest’s perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying at our hotel is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I can therefore...

Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay here while visiting Kruger. Only about 15 minutes from the park. Clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff. A bit dated but very comfortable rooms. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. Grounds are well kept and landscaped nicely. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Heb2013
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Herb2013 We would, like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities. Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalised service. GUEST feedback is imperative for us...

Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Very nice property set among the trees. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and dinners. A good place to be based for visiting Kruger National Park. The room was spacious, although the bathroom lighting was poor. The wifi connection was not the fastest by any means.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olli S
Glenys D, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this review

Dear Olli S Thank you for taking the time and effort to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview. We appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. As we are situated in a remote area we are...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
6.3 km away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.9 km away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
5.9 km away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
5.7 km away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
307 reviews
4.2 km away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of the adventure capital of the Mpumalanga Lowveld, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview is nestled on a hill overlooking the beautiful Sand River Valley. The rooms are alluring and spacious offering all the conveniences that one expects to make this a home away from home. All our rooms overlook lush gardens that have an abundance of birdlife, adding to the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Not to mention several spacious family rooms that provide a comfortable area for the family to relax and unwind. Lying by the pool with a sundowner, whilst admiring the stunning views of the valley and watching the kids play on the nearby trampoline and jungle gym is perfection at its best. The chefs have prepared a wide variety of dining options to ensure that we cater optimally to healthy appetites and provide special meals for our young visitors. Additional facilities include conference venues, guest internet, Boma and a children's play park - so bring your game. Nearby attractions include the Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Pilgrims Rest to name a few. For the adrenalin seekers, exciting adventures such as hot air balloon rides, river rafting, quad biking and many more can be arranged. Guests may also experience open vehicle day and night safaris in search of Africa's "Big Five" and lesser known "Little Five." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Address: 1 R40 Road | 38 km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Price Range: ₹ 5,275 - ₹ 9,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel By Marriott Hazyview Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are a long walk from the lobby.”
genenurse, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our money was stolen in the safe.”
WorldTravellerSoon, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms for 60-66 are close to the pool and all other amenities”
KAZzzPAZzz, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are good all over the property”
GCSun, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 60 to 66 best views”
kavanc, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 141* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 141
Protea HotelsUS$ 142
TripAdvisorUS$ 142
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates