We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R536 Portia Shabangu Drive Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242 South Africa
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (506)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (43)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hazyview
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Wine / champagne
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

Full view
Contact
R536 Portia Shabangu Drive Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242 South Africa
Getting there
Kruger Mpumalanga Intl Airport52 kmSee all flights
Ulusaba Airport21 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1062Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 618
  • 327
  • 74
  • 18
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gen F wrote a review Nov 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
The most amazing and relaxing time of our lives! The stars are absolutely superb. The scenery is something else as a fairytale, and seeing the hippos first thing in the morning, and last thing at night makes you feel like you are actually in a wildlife adventure! We stayed in a cabin with a brilliant balcony overlooking the river and the cleanliness was like a picture in a brochure. Nothing was too much effort for the staff. As a fellow South African I have never felt more at home as a tourist.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kloffusjohn wrote a review Nov 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa185 contributions43 helpful votes
Yet another return to the one favorite places sharing it with the Sabine River,we’re animals come totally uninvited. The unique staff are always ensuring you enjoy the hospitality weather your there for one night or a week, food is fresh, good, perfect. Don’t miss out on this slice of Africa.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There’s always good, different options to suit your requirements, but book early and don’t miss out.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Manuel M wrote a review Nov 2022
Bietigheim-Bissingen, Germany7 contributions
The Lodge is small and very nice. From the Pool Area we could see Hippos in the river, as well as Elephants passing by. Amazing Place with good food, friendly staff and nice Tents which give you some Safari Feeling (we had Tent Nr.4)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Beryl M wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions
After reading so many great reviews about this property before booking and after seeing its high rating, my family and I were sorely disappointed with our stay at Sabie River Bush Lodge. The issues began right from them not answering the phone when we tried to call several times for enquiries before booking and finally we would get a response to our emails after 2-3 days! We were four adults, including my husband and I and his aged parents and we had booked for 3 nights from September 21-24, 2022. Despite requesting for vegetarian meals for his parents, every single night, we had to go and remind the kitchen staff about it again - and on the last night of our stay, they completely forgot to prepare a vegetarian meal for him, despite reassuring us they would earlier - so he was forced to have only the sides from the other mains for dinner. The dinner and breakfast menu was also very limited – one night we were forced to choose between game meat and pork - both of which we don't eat. We had also booked a full-day safari with the property, which included a voucher for lunch - however, the guide was not informed about this at all and we had to pay for our own meal, despite it being included in the cost earlier (we were later paid the amount in cash when we complained at the reception on returning, but it was disappointing that there was zero communication between the lodge and the field guides they send with guests) - and of course when the field guide tried to call them while we were on the game drive to ask about the voucher, they never picked up the phone (again)! Despite booking as a family, with two rooms - one room was much smaller than the other and both rooms were so far apart. Our room was not cleaned daily either, neither were we given fresh towels daily and there was no extra soap provided either, despite staying for three nights. We had to physically go to the reception every time we needed anything and ask them several times for towels and such, which they would take ages to bring to our room - there is no phone to call the reception. We were also not provided with any drinking water. During the day, the only lunch options available are two kinds of salads or two kinds of sandwiches, despite them saying they have a restaurant which works all day! And this is all despite paying a huge sum of money for our stay totalling nearly R 18,000!! The only good thing about the lodge is that they wash all the guests' cars daily, which was much appreciated and the staff are courteous and friendly, even if not efficient. Definitely NOT returning or recommending this property to anyone else!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Please don't book this property if you are travelling as a family or have any vegetarians in your...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Riccardo B wrote a review Nov 2022
Cape Town2 contributions3 helpful votes
We spend the last night of our Kruger trip at Sabie River Bush Lodge and it was another nice stay with friendly people, good food and the hippo sound in the background. We looking forward to our next trip and stay at Sabie River Bush Lodge
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Andrew B wrote a review Oct 2022
UK20 contributions6 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in Oct 22 having booked a package direct off their website. As has been noted the lodge is not actually inside the Kruger National park but does overlook the Sabie River which forms the park boundary, this might be a problem if you wanted to do early morning game drives or walks in the park. As we had booked a further 4 nights at park rest camps this didn't matter for us. Our "luxury river front bush tent" was just that - comfortable, clean, air-conditioned with inside and outside shower and a fantastic view over the river and into the park, form our quite private viewing platform we were able to spot wildlife in the river and in the park - not just limited to the Hippos. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was good - nothing special but more than adequate for this price point, our driver/guide, Morello was knowledgeable and seemed well respected by other guides,. on one morning game drive he showed us all of Africa's "big 5" and more. Overall we're very pleased with the place and would certainly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: we had tent 5 - it's a little further from the restaurant and pool areas than some others...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bichemonbrun wrote a review Oct 2022
monbrun16 contributions5 helpful votes
the location is very conveniet as the Paul Kruger gate is 15 minutes . However do not take the safari night as it is not worthwhile . it is the worst we paid . it is not done by the lodge but subcontracted to the Park Kruger directly , in a big bus and the driver DOES not care of watching for animals as driving over 50 kms far too fast for that. not recommandable.! regarding the meals not so satisfactory the chicken was not cooked enough and when we mentionned it to candice through mails( as not present) it was like if we were not saying the truth anfd no commercial gesture at all. Do not care too much of customer feedback!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GMN51 wrote a review Oct 2022
Grossensee, Germany103 contributions53 helpful votes
Situated between the Sabi River and the access road to the Kruger Park, the lodge is somewhat disturbed by road noise during the day, but nevertheless highly recommended. Especially the tents on the river offer pure Africa feeling with a direct view of the hippo pool. They are clean, quite spacious and each has a private viewing deck. The food is adequate for the price level, nothing special. Friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ian wrote a review Oct 2022
Chorley, United Kingdom9 contributions
Staff ,location and food were excellent, trips into the park were marvellous , really lucky on every outing. Would certainly recommend. Trip of a lifetime. Purely observational, photographs on website did not seem to do it the justice it deserved.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve wrote a review Sep 2022
3 contributions
Stayed in a Riverside tent on 15th Sept 2022 for 4 nights. The hotel is in a good position and staff are in general helpful. However our stay was ruined by a theft from our room. I normally take my rucksack everywhere with me but one day left it in the room when we left for a couple of hours. I normally put my valuables in the safe but on this occasion just forgot. Yes my error, however it requires the present of a dishonest person to take advantage. We locked the lodge door when we left and when we returned it was still locked and the bed had been made up. I went straight to my rucksack to locate my wallet which I had placed right at the bottom of it with clothes and other items on top of it in the sack. The wallet and cash in it was gone. The thief would have had to search the bag thoroughly to find it. As the bag was only left there once the thief must have been searching our possessions every time she came in the room which is shocking. This happened on the 17th Sept so it's wouldn't be rocket science to trace the cleaner thief if the hotel wanted to take this seriously but if it is OK to carry on employing thieves then I don't recommend staying here at all.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Candice Lane, General Manager at Sabie River Bush Lodge
Responded 18 Oct 2022
Hi Steve Well Well - We have opened the safe in your room and guess what, yes we have your wallet, exactly where you must have left it, with the money in it, question how much money was in your wallet, we even found your three year membership card for Camping Caravanning Card - The Friendly Club, QUICK to ACCUSE somebody and make defamatory allegations - I doubt we will receive an apology from you!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for your business and the opportunity to reply to your allegations. I retrieved your Guest Feedback form and your invoice and notice a number of discrepancies between your review and your guest feedback form and invoice. Your guest feedback form that you completed upon departure from the Lodge stated that you were VERY SATISFIED with your stay at the Lodge. Secondly you paid your final account with your credit card which I assume came out of the same wallet as per allegations in your review? Thirdly you did not report any missing items to the reception upon you "discovering" the alleged theft, you only noticed this the day after you departed from our Lodge, where did you stay the night after you departed from our Lodge, could the theft not have taken place after you departed from our Lodge! Disappointing that you made such allegations without reporting to management at the Lodge whilst you were still staying with us. Regards Dale Owner Sabie River Bush Lodge.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SABIE RIVER BUSH LODGE (Hazyview, Mpumalanga) - Lodge Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sabie River Bush Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Sabie River Bush Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sabie River Bush Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Sabie River Bush Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sabie River Bush Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sabie River Bush Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sabie River Bush Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Does Sabie River Bush Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.