We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
R536 Sabie Road Farm Vergenoeg Sabie Road, Hazyview 1260 South Africa
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$404
View deal
Hotels.com
$394
View deal
Expedia.com
$395
View deal
Travelocity$394
Priceline$432
Vio.com$433
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (154)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (14)

About

#4 of 54 Specialty lodging in Hazyview
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Tanamera Lodge is nestled on the malaria-free slopes of the Sabie River Valley, offering luxurious accommodation and breathtaking Lowveld scenery. Being centrally located, guests are able to explore the Lowveld Panorama, including sights such as God's Window, the Blyde River Canyon and Pilgrim's Rest. We are 4 Star graded and offer beautifully decorated rooms with personal touches and attention to detail. Each chalet is complete with a tea and coffee selection, a log fireplace to keep you warm over wintry nights, and ceiling fans for hot summer nights. With the Kruger National Park's Phabeni Gate just a short 30-minute drive, our visitors may easily access this world-renowned Big 5 reserve on self-driven or guided safari tours. This is a birder’s paradise and home to birds such as the Narina Trogon and Purple Crested Turaco. Activities in the area include abseiling, white water rafting, microlight flights, elephant encounters, horseback riding and much more! We outsource spa treatments from massage to reflexology to manicures and pedicures, all brought to you in the privacy of your own chalet. A couple's massage is ideal for a romantic getaway.Our five magnificent Luxury Chalets are fully serviced and offer king-size beds with mosquito nets, stone baths, waterfall showers, fireplaces and plunge pools. In addition to this the two Honeymoon Chalets offer open-door outside showers on private decks with outstanding valley views and a sitting room and dining area. Each Chalet is secluded, private and surrounded by the unspoilt indigenous bush. Tanamera is perfect for romantic getaways. The main lodge area is tastefully decorated and comprises a dining area, a lounge and a comfortable bar area. You can step down onto our main deck where there is a rim-flow pool and absorb the exceptional views over the cascading Sabie River Valley. Meals are served in our main lodge area, on the candle-lit deck, or privately in your chalet or on your deck. Rates include dinner as well as bed and breakfast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
River View
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
259Reviews1Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 220
  • 23
  • 7
  • 6
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
raymondnienaber wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Welcome was great, awesome view and friendly staff! Dinner and breakfast was good, will definitely see us again. They told me of there winter special!!! Sound like the ocean on your doorstep from the river beloe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nicolaas2022 wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Soul food! Excellent balance between Creator and created. Breath taking sundowners. New Management commendable in every way. Accommodate our individual needs with a smile. Team of excellence includes from the porter, Precious, Jaco, Zirk & Dolf! Well done!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mwray255189 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Food was fabulous as were the waitresses and overall a lovely place but needs modernisation for the price paid I.e the fan in the ceiling not working and a lovely setting. Priced lower would make it better think overpriced
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RicotheGreat wrote a review Jan 2022
Cape Town Central, South Africa468 contributions187 helpful votes
A load of excitement as you meander down this dirt road surrounded by trees, and all of a sudden, you are there. The views are just out of this world and one of the best we have ever seen. The rooms are well laid out, but the furnishings made it feel like a hotel rather than a lodge. A solar heater for the plunge pool would help take the bite off. The staff were friendly and helpful, dinner was a disappointment, but fortunately, breakfast ticked all the boxes.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tanamera Lodge, General Manager at Tanamera Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Good day Patrick P Thank you for your review. Unfortunately due to our position of the lodge, with all the bluegum tree around, we do not have the space to put a solar heater for eight swimming pools and thatch roofs are not capable of supporting a solar heater. I am surprised that you feel that the dinner was disappointing as we seldom get criticisms with regards to our food. Kind regards, Ian Burger General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
124patience wrote a review Nov 2021
Pretoria, South Africa1 contribution1 helpful vote
I really loved my stay in Tanamera, they have the most beautiful views, absolutely delicious food and options friendly stuff, timely excellent service. Very clean,exclusive couple getway, definitely value for money!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
goosth998110 wrote a review Aug 2021
Roodepoort, South Africa1 contribution
The service, accommodation and Food was divine, I would enquire if guests would rather prefer to have the Cheese platter served at mid day as the breakfast is more than enough. With the cheese platter guests would obviously order a bottle of wine to enyoy with the Cheese platter
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jacques C wrote a review Jun 2021
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa15 contributions14 helpful votes
We visited the lodge for a romantic getaway. Yhe rooms are spectacular with a romantic fireplace, beautiful verandah overlooking stunning views of a valley with our very own private plunge pool. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful with a romantic batch and amazing shower. The food was excellent and there was so much for us to see and visit during the day in yhe area. Absolutely stunning. Thanks so much for making our anniversary so memorable. We will certainly be back. This place is unlike anything we have ever stayed at.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
AprilNArizona wrote a review May 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona171 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
I had high expectations for Tanamera and they were exceeded in every way! Everything was outstanding, it’s difficult to know where to start, but I’ll start with the meals... wow! We ate well during our trip in South Africa and Tanamera topped them all! The views are breathtaking. I would never tire of lounging on the back deck taking in the scenery. All the little details in the room made it comfortable and cozy. The service was excellent, everything was truly very well done. I highly recommend! I traveled with a friend, my mom and her friend and we all loved it, but this would be a perfect romantic getaway as well. Note that if you’re traveling during winter in South Africa it is chilly so dress accordingly! The room had a wood stove to take the chill off and a warm, toasty bed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rroets485134 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
What a special place. From the moment we arrived very friendly staff treated us like we were special guests. The lodge is beautiful, view is stunning the food and ambience exactly what we needed. Loved everything
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
emerwe462026 wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
The intention of Our three nights stay at Tanamera was to just spend time in a quiet tranquil, peaceful environment and just breath and recharge ... ALL ACHIEVED! I even went as far as spending one night sleeping outside on the day bed under the stars! was AMAZING! FOOD WAS GREAT ! staff excellent ! we stayed in the Honeymoon suite right at the bottom - 64 steps :-) - and had a really great relaxing time!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$366 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaMpumalangaHazyview
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TANAMERA LODGE (Hazyview, Mpumalanga) - Lodge Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tanamera Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tanamera Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Elephant Whispers (1.2 km), The Elephant Sanctuary (3.9 km), and Perry's Bridge Reptile Park (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tanamera Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Tanamera Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Tanamera Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tanamera Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tanks Bush Pub, Kuka Restaurant and Cocktail Lounge, and Pioneer's Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tanamera Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Tanamera Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shangana Cultural Village (3.0 km).
Does Tanamera Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.