We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful gardens.After settling into our rooms (which we really liked) we went to the pool to have a light lunch and relax. We waited and waited for service leading us to go and ask at reception if someone could serve us. When we got the menu I really struggled to find something... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania R
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wow what a lovely place to stay, The food is great and well prepared Very friendly staff. The Spa treatment was super. We loved the two dogs, rooms are clean and comfortable and quite. We will visit again

Helpful?
Thank Ullricke V
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were here for a lunch on the 4th of October and discovered an oasis of peace with excellent service. The surroundings are beautiful, the waitor was very kind and the food was perfect. We had an enjoyabel lunch.

Helpful?
Thank MKS57
Kempton Park, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I was going to a construction company just not far from the hotel. I had to spend the night at the hotel on the 10th October 2016. It is very good place indeed. I had a very good welcome. The Guy at the reception is very good. I had not booked as I thought my boss has booked. But everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank fthelma60
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2016

This venue is fantastic, the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, the food was really really good, and the spa treatments fantastic. We had 40 people spend the weekend @ Shangri-La, and received nothing but good reviews from the guys who came with us ! Thank you Thabo & Mapule - you guys were awesome... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison F
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Earlier this month we attended the Lilizela Awards event for service excellence and the Shangri La Country Hotel won an award for best country hotel. Imagine my delight when I heard we would be spending the last evening of our 4 day whirl wind trip there ... The hotel has various categories of room to suit all budgets and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elsabe B
Smyrna, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Shangri-La Country Hotel and Spa was our last stop of a 3 week tour of South Africa. The place is amazing, beautiful gardens to walk in, friendly Labs and cats to make you feel right at home and the staff is wonderful. Our dinner in the formal dining room was like a storybook setting. If your in the area you... More 

Helpful?
Thank chharrington
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shangri-La with us on TripAdvisor. We'll be sure to pass your compliments on to the team, whom we are sure will be elated. We're honoured that you chose to end your tour of our beautiful country at Shangri-La and that it ended your trip on a high. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2016

On arrival reception was not up to standard-no welcome drink offered. Room given to us was poor, bathroom very small, not enough towels and dirty, shower with dirty plastic curtain, room needs lots of maintenance overall. We were very disappointed and decided to go and talk to reception or leave at once. We were tired. Margaret, upgraded us to another... More 

Helpful?
Thank hildab740
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you Hilda and Gerhard for your review. We will be sure to pass this on to the manager of Shangri-La to address the points you have listed above. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. More 

Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Very accommodating and helpful staff, delicious food, beautiful grounds. Room was comfortable but carpet was slightly beat-up looking. Very affordable price for the high level of amenities you receive.

Helpful?
Thank sjs575
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Shangri-La. We are sorry that the carpet appeared to be old and will address this with our projects manager. We're however happy to hear that you found our prices affordable for the high level of amenites you received. More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We came through for the weekend especially for the Kaboem Fees but we will definitely be back just because we can. What a fantastic place. I don't even know where to start. The setting is gorgeous, the food amazing and the staff friendly and efficient. All the staff were good but one especially stood out. We met Peter at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fatman4949
South_Of_Africa_HQ, Guest Relations Manager at Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted that you had a memorable experience and that Peter took great care of you. We can't wait to welcome you back. More 

477 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (439)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (102)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (166)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Modimolle (Nylstroom)
17.3 km away
Elephant Springs Hotel & Cabanas
8.0 km away
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
Zwahili Private Game Lodge & Spa
#3 of 22 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
172 reviews
13.2 km away
Buyskop Lodge
Buyskop Lodge
#4 of 43 in Bela Bela
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
8.4 km away
Silver Streams
Silver Streams
#1 of 11 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
55 reviews
35.2 km away
Phumelelo Lodge
Phumelelo Lodge
#3 of 43 in Bela Bela
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa outside Bela Bela is a tranquil secluded hideaway nestled against the Waterberg Mountains. This peaceful gem just one hour north of Gauteng, offers the elegance of yesteryear, with beautiful antiques, homely pampering in 49 en-suite rooms surrounded by lush tropical gardens. All the comfortable rooms and rondavels at Shangri-La are situated within walking distance of a sparkling swimming pool, relaxing spa as well as other facilities including two restaurants and a cellar (with a Diners Club award winning wine list), a small wedding chapel and fully equipped conference centres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa

Address: Eersbewoon Road, Modimolle (Nylstroom) 0510, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Shangri-La)
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Modimolle (Nylstroom)
Price Range: ₹ 5,250 - ₹ 10,841 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La Country Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The family room has children room. Very good”
 of 5 bubbles fthelma60, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms 1 - 4 are prime positions for me. close to the reception and restaurant and very quite. ample space for kids to play”
 of 5 bubbles ThabisoSehloho, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“All rooms appeared equal”
 of 5 bubbles UshanthaN, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“The presidential suite has a private jacuzzi in the court yard”
 of 5 bubbles Lg19830409, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Outside rooms are surrounded by lawns and large trees and all have outside (verandah) chairs.”
  • The welcoming Valentine's Swans
 of 5 bubbles Schyffie, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay