We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 232: English reviews
Start your review of Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
 Click to rate
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This will certainly not be our only trip to the Hamiltons.It was everthing we expected and much more.Hearing lions raw at night was magical as you lay in the huge beds.All of the staff were kind and friendly,the food was superb.Wes,Simon and Harold you have given us very special memories.And Tony for the early morning wake up calls.Although we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul and sheena h
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear paul and sheena h - Thank you for sharing your Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much, and very excited that you are already planning to return.

Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hamiltons Tented Camp was beyond perfect! Everything from the food to the drinks to the room to the service was absolutely top notch and ultra luxurious! The safari was something that is out of this world and something everyone needs to experience in their lifetime!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sampelletier
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear sampelletier - Thank you for sharing your magical and romantic Hamiltons Tented Camp experience. We're thrilled that you had such a wonderful time and we very much hope you will visit Hamiltons again.

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hamiltons is beautifully situated on the river. The welcome was warm, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. The decor throughout creates a mood of times past and is very evocative of the 1920's. The Safari experience was excellent, including leopard, lion, hyena etc. Highly recommended - we will certainly return!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Mike G - We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at Hamiltons - and that you are already planning your next visit. Thank you also for recommending Hamiltons to future travellers - we very much appreciate that.

Kiel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful flora and animals at the end of the rain season. Excellent staff well trained rangers and a beautiful atmosphere in the camp at night Be aware of moscitos at night but be not afraid of lions and leopards

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank holgerh977
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear holgerh977 - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your advice to future travellers. We hope you'll visit again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really great experience with the best food everyday. The chef is fantastic. Thanks very much to Louis and Ronald for making it a great experience. Very tranquil setting, beautiful accomodation and great safari experience. Just remember that there is no internet or TV so make sure you bring a book or something to entertain yourself between game drives and meals.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Daniel T - Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Hamiltons again in the future.

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Hamiltons for 3 nights and went on 5 safaris. It was an amazing experience, and a beautiful place! The food was great and lots of it, you'll never go hungry. The service was outstanding, very welcoming and we were very well taken care of. Enjoyed the tented style camp, and loved the decor. We saw an elephant go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blondemarlin
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear blondemarlin - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that you are already planning your next visit. Thank you also for recommending Hamiltons to future travellers.

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has really got it right. A fantastic setting by a river, great decor - think quirky Edwardian. Incredibly comfortable accommodation. It may be a tent but is more like a luxury hotel room including an outside shower (brilliant!), old fashioned mosquito nets (very romantic) and our own private veranda. The service from the staff was exceptional: efficient, respectful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsBobtheFarmersWife
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear MrsBobtheFarmersWife - Thank you for sharing your impressions of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to share more Hamiltons moments with you.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is a treat, not cheap but well worth the experience. Its an opportunity to come as close to an actual open bush safari without having to break camp each morning. You can fly in from Johannesburg or you can drive in. The place is really for adults only, it has 6 individual raised air conditioned tents, each with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry V
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear Gerry V - Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Pretoria
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Hamiltons has charming accommodation and the setting is stunning. The food is disappointing though, there is no choice and the quality is poor, we stayed at Hamiltons last year as well and it was the same. By comparison Imbali, its sister camp, where we also spent 2 nights has fabulous food, masses of it and loads of choice, clearly the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisannj
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear chrisannj - Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, but naturally we're disappointed that you did not enjoy the food more. We will be sharing your feedback with our head chef and kitchen team as part of our policy...

Nassau, New Providence Island
Reviewed 12 February 2017

A stay at Hamiltons is a unique experience: a blend of luxury accommodation, wonderful food, warm hospitality and exceptional game viewing. We stayed for five days, arriving expectantly as guests and departing tearfully as friends, with Harold and his staff making us really feel part of their family. A completely immersive experience, driven by the rhythm of the bush, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 242Gourmet
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review

Dear 242Gourmet - Thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review of your stay at Hamiltons Tented Camp. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and that you found it so enjoyable and educational. We very much look forward to your next visit.

384 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (369)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (190)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
3.3 km away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#47 of 171 in Kruger National Park
264 reviews
0.0 km away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#50 of 171 in Kruger National Park
365 reviews
13.6 km away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
312 reviews
88.5 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
89 reviews
246.2 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#46 of 171 in Kruger National Park
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Named after Colonel Stephenson Hamilton, who was instrumental in establishing the world famous Kruger National Park, Hamilton's Tented Camp reflects a safari adventure of the early twentieth century, where grace and style were the epitome of luxurious living. Historically themed along the lines of a big game hunter’s camp encompassing the bygone era of the early 1900’s, Hamiltons Tented Camp allows indulgence in pure luxury, combined with the sounds and smells of the African bush. Six magnificent canvas tents, complete with teak floorboards, dreamy mosquito nets and a superb view of the seasonal river, are linked to the main lodge area by raised timber walkways amongst ancient Jackalberry trees. Uncompromising elegance and breathtaking beauty identifies Hamiltons Tented Camp with open tented lounge, butler service and personalised cuisine.All tented suites have a romantic slipper bath and outdoor shower overlooking the Ngwenyeni Dam, private veranda, air conditioning and an intercom service.Spa treatments are available in the privacy of your room. Safaris in 4x4 vehicles, bird watching, self drive in the Kruger National Park and guided safari walks by prior arrangement.Children over the age of 8 years are welcome and are accommodated in their own room. The camp is situated in a malaria area. Gate entry fees are applicable and charged per person per day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp

Address: Mluwati Concession, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Price Range: ₹ 39,734 - ₹ 67,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp Hotel Kruger National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 6 is the furthest from the lodge, and provides a very private experience with a touch of the wild side - a true taste of Africa.”
 of 5 bubbles 242Gourmet, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 12 and three are closer to the lounge / dining areas”
 of 5 bubbles wildguide, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in tent 6, but I understand that tent 1 offers an even better view, though that is hard to imagine!”
 of 5 bubbles AndreaH515, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We prefer the Tents that are the furthest from the main area, better for the animals to be seen in camp.”
 of 5 bubbles 252charlesm, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were in Room 1 which was close to the main lodge with great views.”
 of 5 bubbles 54JCL, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5