We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (64)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (4)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Certificate of Excellence
Nestled on the banks of the mighty Olifants River you will find a piece of heaven where elephant is but one of the regular visitors to its grassy planes. A haven for both human and animals alike where the tranquility and the magic of the African bush will embrace you. The main unit comprises of five bedrooms, two bathrooms with shower and bath. A spacious kitchen fully equipped with gas/electric combination stove fridge/freezer and deepfreeze. The large communal area consist of a dining room and lounge. The unit is serviced daily . The large viewing deck, overlooking the Olifants River offers a variety of sightings daily from the fish eagle catching its daily food to the gentle giants of the bush grazing quietly on the banks of the river. Welcome relief from the summer heat can be enjoyed in the splash pool while gripping sounds can be heard around the boma at night when the wood owl is calling its mate. For the adventurous spirits, game drive and bush walks are offered daily.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Paid Wifi
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Microwave
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Hoedspruit Airport20 km
Phalaborwa Airport35 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Ximongwe Safaris
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
53
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
53
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hosts olifants river three nights game walk animals coming morning drive star hotel breakfast and dinner the reserve viewing deck bush camp plunge pool spent nights bush walk home away from home johan balule
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

During my last stay at the River Camp in February, I had the opportunity to visit the Bush Camp, also run by Ronell and Johan. I was pretty excited and decided to return to this magical place in July. But this time I wanted to...More

Thank khotso
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

A long overdue review, but definitely not forgotten. We stayed at Ximongwe Safari Camp for 2 nights and had an unforgettable experience. From the moment we arrived we received a warm welcome from our hosts Ronell and Johan, who took such great care of us!...More

Thank karenpR4345FJ
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We spent 3 nights in the Hippo Cottage (which sleeps 10 people). The house was very clean, and everything you need is there. It has a beautiful view of the river where you can spend the day relaxing or watching the birds, crocodiles, and other...More

2  Thank Jade d
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Everybody in our family are 200% happy with the stay in Ximongwe. Our expectations based on various reviews were surpassed in all respects. To say that the owners Ronell and Johan are hospitable and attentive to guests, is to say nothing. They are just incredibly...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leonich
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Excellent place with wonderful people. Our 3-year old daughter was also with us and Johan did a gamedrive with us alone. The ood from Ronell was lovely. Beautiful surroundings near the river. We and our daughter had a great time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicolette2912
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Maca D
6 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ximongwe_River_Camp | Property representative |
Hi Macareena, unfortunately not vegan but vegetarian.
0
Votes
judithlorraine123
12 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ximongwe_River_Camp | Property representative |
Hi Lorraine, I apologise for only answering now. The cottages are approximately 5 m apart. If you have more enquiries about Ximongwe, please d not hesitate to contact me. Kind Regards Ronell
1
Vote
ashdoc
12 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ximongwe_River_Camp | Property representative |
Hi, thank you very much for the great review. The kids are more than welcome at Ximongwe River Camp and we can take them on a lot of activities which they will enjoy, Moholoholo and the Wildlife Endangered Species Centre... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Best view / big 5 area / 4 wheelers are best to access"
G2386AUclairem
19 Sep 2018
Read review
"The Hippo Cottage has excellent views. The nests at the Bush Camp are REALLY nice :)"
192jaded
3 Jul 2018
Read review
"All the rooms are lovely but the ones facing the river are lovely."
kerryc706
12 Mar 2018
Read review
"All rooms have a wonderfull view on the animals in the garden and the river. "
889baldwind
12 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$ 78 - US$ 209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaLimpopo ProvinceHoedspruit
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing