We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shikwari Game Reserve

Booking.comUS$ 95*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 224*
US$ 95*
Great Deal
US$ 224*
US$ 224*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Shikwari Game Reserve
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Shikwari Game Reserve
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm and excellent reception at arrival, great food, humble and understanding staff, wonderful game drive with both Noel(at the farm) and Ann at Kruger National Park. Relaxing and soothing rooms to retire to.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mosikid
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear mosidid, So glad to hear our staff met with your approval. They do try hard to make everyone's stay memorable. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Regards Sue.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place was great, the food was amazing and the service even better. Every detail was well thought out and made the trip extra special. It was great to see animals on the property but when you are in your room, it feels like there is no one else there..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 262biancaj
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear 262bianca, Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb location and rooms let down by obvious poorly advised attempts to save money and extract the same. Repeatedly serving fruits and meats not consumed at previous meals, knowingly serving soured milk to kids, and billing for small but annoying sundries. Towels not changed and then complaints about tea "staining" of towels with general dislike for children despite accepting the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigsG9836GQ
Shikwari, Manager at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Craig, On arrival you brought food with you, we had the perception that you would have preferred our self-catering Pangolin Rondavels especially as you have 2 children under the age of 10 years and where you could braai as you mentioned to us and where children under 10years are quite welcome. At this camp one can do their own...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The place was dirty inside and outside the rooms even the pool. The staff didn't even show up to clean the room the next day. That night was the worst night of my life, i couldn't sleep trying to find another place to check in to. Luckily i found something better, that's when i checked out of Shikwari.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 526gloriah
NELSPRUIT
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I stayed overnight at the reserve on my way from Thohoyandou to Lydenburg. The greeting and welcoming was done in a very friendly and professional manner and made me feel welcome. The food was also very good. Accommodation was clean and neat. Overall experience very good and value for money. I will recommend the place to anyone.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 427ntokozon
Abuja, Nigeria
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Location wildlife friendliness safari tours breakfast and dinner wine wonderful. Also my children were so excited to see nature wild animal at the entrance. Very peaceful quiet atmosphere we never forget.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomoyak199
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

jhb
Reviewed 9 November 2016

FYI: stay stay was from the 28th-30th October, please advise your customers honestly regarding activity prices. especially game drives that cost way less than you guys offer, your prices are a total reap-off .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christobeln
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Average Service, I am not sure which game drive you are referring to but we get a discount from the supplier and then we add our cut. I should be no more than what the supplier is charging. Sometime we add more is our guide is accompanying you to cover the vehicle and guide cost. We are definitely not...

Midrand, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The place was nice, roads are a bit rough if you travel with a normal car like a polo... The rondavels are great but it gets hot to quick. the surrounding bush area made it very lovely. just one thing that was not a great experience is the sharing of a bathroom with the other rondavels, sharing an outside shower...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlise M
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive criticism, we value your comments. Thank you for your comments on service We are slowly upgrading Pangolin Rondavels.Fridge/freezer were added a while ago and more recently a tea/coffee tray. The Hornbill Rondavel now has an adjacent "Bush Bathroom" (outdoor shower and covered toilet & basin) and is accessed through a door to a...

Sasolburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We went to Shikwari for our honeymoon. we where treated as royalty. the food was amazing. the rooms was alway neat and tidy. they realy went out of there way to spoil us and to help us when needed.The wild game walking in the park is truely remarkable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindyandrewm
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, So glad that we aced your Honeymoon wishes. We hope to see you again in the near future. Regards Sue

Johannesburg
Reviewed 26 June 2016

A family run lodge with great service, food was excellent and a very relaxing stay. Pretty setting nice and central lodge. Only issues were is that unfortunately u get a bit of a highway sound, not complete bush sounds, whether this was our unit, unit 1, I can't say. Also don't let the staff book your activities and pay for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ross t
Shikwari, Owner at Shikwari Game Reserve, responded to this review

Hi, I am amazed that our staff are taking a fee for phone calls. We do, do the booking for activities but the price is the same as we are quote with a discount and then add the discount to bring it up to the rate the supplier charges. I do appologise if the account was incorrect. Regards Sue.

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
13.3 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#29 of 102 in Hoedspruit
146 reviews
27.6 km away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
48.7 km away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#25 of 102 in Hoedspruit
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 102 in Hoedspruit
285 reviews
33.4 km away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#3 of 19 in Hoedspruit
62 reviews
47.6 km away
Kubu Safari Lodge
Kubu Safari Lodge
#39 of 102 in Hoedspruit
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shikwari Game Reserve Owner-managed by the Lawrie family and offering two camps on a plains game reserve situated in the North Eastern Limpopo below the escarpment with majestic views of the Northern Drakensburg Mountains, The reserve offer view of plain game with walks or drives. Shikwari with cathedral-like thatch roof; offers a fully licensed bar, lounge and dining room which is also open to our Pangolin self- catering guests for meals .These should be booked with accommodation or 24hrs ahead .Also to use the free Wi-Fi during the day Shikwari Suites 4 star graded Regret No children under 10yrs. Five affordable luxury thatched suites a family suite with two rooms, tucked away in the natural bush are decorated with colonial style furniture and luxurious textiles. Relax in the lounge or on the open veranda taking in the view and cool off in the tranquil pool. Caring staff offer friendly relaxed service in amazing bush surroundings. The 3 course Dinner plus Buffet Continental and Plated English Breakfast included in the rate is served al fresco, weather permitting, either on our deck boma or on the large veranda at the front of the lodge or in the dining room if the weather is inclement. The suites offer a choice of King or Twin beds both made up with fine percale linen. Each suite that accommodates 2 adults & 2 children age 10 – 12yrs and has a private bathroom with outdoor shower and sitting area plus a small patio. The Wild Fig Family Suite with separate room for children 10 – 12yrs on bunk beds. Pangolin Rondavels - Self Catering Children welcome 2-12yrs. This rustic comfortable camp is separate from the Shikwari Suites; offering 4 Traditional thatched round rooms with a choice of King or Twin beds; known as "rondavels" and may be booked either individually or as a whole for a family get together or a group of friends giving complete exclusivity Two of the rooms now have a "Bush Bathroom" (Toilet & Basin in covered area and outdoor shower. The remaining tow share a full bathroom with outdoor shower. All bathroom have bespoke toiletries and towels are supplied in the rooms. In the garden there is a pool and a boma for braai’s shared between the four rondavels. All the other amenities are shared such at the fully equipped kitchen and lounge with premium DSTV. Are shared between the rondavels. For free WiFi guest are able to go up to the Shikwari Suites camp to catch up with emails, friends and family. For meals booking must be made and paid for with the lodge in advance of 24hrs or with accommodation. Please note that not all the amenities mention are available at both camps. It is best to inquire before booking. Guided trips are conducted from the reserve to many sightseeing opportunities and to Kruger National Park. These are extra to the room rate as are the bar costs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shikwari Game Reserve

Address: R36 J.G. Strydom Tunnel Road, | Valley of Olifants, Mopani District,, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: ₹ 5,443 - ₹ 23,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shikwari Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Shikwari Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shikwari Game Reserve staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Comfortable clean beds and towels. We think the room had not been used for a while and therefore was dusty, dead insects etc., ”
39meridianroad, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
markwH3941WW, 3 Jan 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms(chalets) is far apart. You don't see or hear your neighbours, only during meals”
Celbot, 12 Feb 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
Booking.com
US$ 95* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 224
Orbitz.comUS$ 224
TripAdvisorUS$ 95
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates