We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Hotels.comUS$ 136*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 272*
US$ 136*
US$ 272*
US$ 137*
US$ 272*
US$ 136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blyde River Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
delhi
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We stayed at the Blyde River Hillside House about 10k away from the lodge. There were 6 of us staying very comfortably in the large well furnished house. It is self catering so need to bring your own food and drinks, but they do have spices, salt, pepper and sugar for one to use. They also have a Nespreso type...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank africanbush
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 14 January 2016

No working WiFi, no SAT-TV, the bar is closed at half past eight and no further service. The staff there was extremly loud talking to each other, when we are lying at the pool and want to relaxe, after one hours we left the pool. I complained about the not working TV and WiFi at the receiption, but the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jens G
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jens G Thank you for your taking the time to review Blyde River Canyon Lodge, we take constructive criticism very seriously but find that your review on Trip advisor is incorrect. To put it chronologically. I am surprised at your reaction towards the staff being loud as when you arrived you were very happy and enjoyed your interaction with...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

I was taken her on a surprise engagement weekend by my now fiance. The staff were friendly from the minute we arrived and while we checked in were given a welcome drink. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The fourposter bed had mosquito net curtains and was huge and comfy. The bathroom had a bath and a shower and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beansy201
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights but wish it could have been longer. The rooms at the lodge are gorgeous and the food was excellent. The setting is also lovely and very convenient for the Blyde River activities and the animal Rehab centre which is only a 10 minute drive away. The best thing though was probably the staff. Portia...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciara M
UK
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Stayed in the 2-room cottage at the Lodge in December 15. The staff are excellent and the food was very good indeed. The place has a nice, remote feel to it and is surrounded by very nice scenery. It is a short 10 min drive into the centre of the Blyde River Canyon, which is worth the effort for its...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheBrownTrout
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We had a wonder stay at Blyde River Canyon. We stayed in the loft room for an evening. It was a cozy room that had lots of charm. The area is beautiful and my husband enjoyed taking photographs. We had an amazing dinner of soup, steak and cheesecake. It was our best meal in South Africa. The hostess was able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaw070701
Blyde, Guest Relations Manager at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear jaw070701 Thank you so much for your beautiful review , we are so please you had a wonderful stay with us. we are very pleased to hear that the meal you had was the best you had in south Africa , I will pass that on to the kitchen we look forward to seeing you again in the near...

Reviewed 18 December 2015

The free roaming Zebra was a surprise to me and was great to see just before dinner. We enjoyed the 3 course dinner and was not disappointed. The aircon helped tremendously with the hot weather that we experienced while staying here. The beds has mosquito nets around them, which was also nice. WiFi is a once off extra, but handy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon v
Blyde, Guest Relations Manager at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Leon Thank you for your review. im pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and the Zebras were to your Delight. im also glad you found our air-conditioning a great help, yes the heat can be uncomfortable but the pool and air-con works wonders. so glad to hear that you will be back we look forward...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Well located, we stayed at Blyde house - owned by the same company- which was very cosy and inviting, Came to the lodge for breakfast only. The views are fantastic and gives one a relaxed feeling. Staff were very helpful with what other activities to do in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mwikali2015
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

We stayed for one night after our overnight flight from London on our way to Kruger. The staff are very friendly and the room comfortable. We enjoyed our evening meal on the verandah. We met the local zebra before enjoying an excellent breakfast the next morning. Would have been happy to stay another night if our schedule had allowed. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Calpino
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2015

We stayed for 2 nights July 2015. Very much a lodge style accommodation - most rooms open direct to the veranda for instance. Nice grounds with various roaming animals depending on your luck. Staff were very attentive and friendly. You need to have breakfast and dinner there, as there is nothing else in the vicinity at all. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lordgrump

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
21.6 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,627 reviews
13.0 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#29 of 102 in Hoedspruit
146 reviews
1.7 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Amafu Forest Lodge
Amafu Forest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kampersrus
108 reviews
24.2 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 102 in Hoedspruit
285 reviews
22.3 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#44 of 102 in Hoedspruit
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Address: Swadini Road | Blyde River Botanical Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: ₹ 8,074 - ₹ 17,570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blyde River Canyon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Blyde River Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyde River Canyon Hotel Limpopo Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage is great for privacy.”
766freddieh, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Extra space, ask for honeymoon suite ( It is a better sized room )”
  • Bedroom
  • View from the honeymoon suite
sassiecat2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in Hillside House for family groups or small groups of friends”
HappyTravelsQld, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the bedrooms on the web site appear larger than they actually are.”
Jenny0053, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See if you can get a room on the river side, the open on to greeny.”
173FrancisB, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 136* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 137
PricelineUS$ 136
HOTEL.INFOUS$ 272
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates