We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Expedia.comUS$ 138*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 279*
US$ 138*
US$ 279*
US$ 138*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Blyde River Canyon Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 143: English reviews
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I felt as if I was staying in someone's elegant home from colonial times. I loved the atmosphere and attention to detail. The food was wonderful and beautifully presented. Each night we had new tablecloths and fancy napkins. It was delightful and I can't imagine why anyone would say they didn't like the food. The breakfasts choices were outstanding. Of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer115
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Summer115 Thank you for your delightful words. The staff loved to hear that they made special memories for you. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in South Africa. Kind regards Vicky Mittan and Portia Fankomo

Paris, France
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Very nice place, high comfort and high level of service. The hotel is located just near the canyon so that you can easily take the boat or go to the museum. As always, a pool to relax and nice walks in the bush and along a river. Some improvements: wifi is not free and breakfast is always the same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pakitoo
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Pakitoo Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you as our guests and will always strive to make our guests experience memorable. We take on board that the wifi is charged at a minimal fee of R50.00 (3 Euro) for as many connections (devices) and for unlimited time. We hate charging it, but would love to explain...

Bordeaux, France
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

First when we arrived we book for a lodge and we end up in a room situated in the top of the reception and restaurant. The venue change but not the price (1600 Rand) When we get in our room we ask for 2 wine glasses and we ve been advise that we will have to pay a corkage fee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre P
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alexandre Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We are very sorry that you found your stay with us disappointing. We wish you would have said something at the time you were here rather than choose the option of social media where it is very difficult to rectify a situation. However, you did actually book the loft room...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here from after being at the Kruger national park in our 4x4 and rooftop tents. We wanted to stay somewhere nice after being in a tent. Unfortunately we picked the wrong place. Our tv didn't work and I tried as soon as I got there for wanted to catch some sport that I knew that was on. I couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank liverisky
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Since first moment we got there and they couldn't find our reservation for about 20 min then we had to help then to find it. Stuff was friendly but extremely slow. After we got to the room which is one next to each other which doesn't give you much privacy at all the TV didn't work and they said after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lolita C
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lolita It is very surprising that whilst you are still travelling you choose to use Tripadvisor as a means to harm our business. All your complaints were dealt with at your check out. You booked late on the Sunday afternoon and I do apologize as I was not in the office to receive your booking. The staff then saw...

Limburg
Reviewed 31 March 2016

This a very nice lodge with an 'Old-World' charm .. shades of the colonies still hanging around. There is a very friendly family type of reception, they will do everything to make a pleasant stay .. and arrange visits/trips etc ... no chain 'hotel' feeling here. Very nicely appointed rooms .. WIFI & good TV .. decent pool. My only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for your lovely feedback. We enjoyed having you here. We hope to see you back at some time. Kind Regards Vicky Mittan

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The lodge is really close to the Blyde River Canyon as the name says, and you are also fairly close to the Kruger National park. The staff at the lodge is lovely and so sweet! And they are helpful and arranged a boat ride on the dam for us. I’m sure they also arrange lots of other activities for their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marieke115
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Marieke115 Thank you for wonderful comments. I agree, our staff are lovely and always try to make the time spent by our guests at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge special. Unfortunately when you were here there was a private wedding about 4 kms from us and the sound did travel in the quiet african night. It was beyond our...

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

I had to check out before the 2 days that we had initially booked for. let them have our money that's how bad it was, the TV was not working, no signal on cell phones,no activities to do with the kids so if you plan to go there with the kids please don't ever the only thing we were told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Musa P
Blyde, Owner at Blyde River Canyon Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Musa It is sad to see how people want to damage business that are committed to service excellence because they do not book into the correct style of accommodation which would suit their needs. I see that you have reviewed us on Tripadvisor. When you left early I asked you for the reason. You said that you could not...

Reviewed 20 March 2016

Food was not very good at all. The only place in South Africa where we didn't like the food! No menu to choose from. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Very attentive. Some animals would wander onto the reserve which was nice to see. Room was fine. Wifi was poor, but it is the bush! You must pay to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina G
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We recently stayed over at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge as we were attending a wedding in the area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. While it was a short overnight stay, of the little we experienced, we were thoroughly impressed. The staff were welcoming and pleasant, the room was cosy and neat, and the farmhouse breakfast the next morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank India G

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (222)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
21.6 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,630 reviews
13.0 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#28 of 102 in Hoedspruit
147 reviews
1.7 km away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Amafu Forest Lodge
Amafu Forest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kampersrus
108 reviews
24.2 km away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 102 in Hoedspruit
285 reviews
22.3 km away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#45 of 102 in Hoedspruit
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Address: Swadini Road | Blyde River Botanical Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Price Range: ₹ 8,078 - ₹ 17,513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blyde River Canyon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Blyde River Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyde River Canyon Hotel Limpopo Province
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blyde River Canyon Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cottage is great for privacy.”
766freddieh, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Extra space, ask for honeymoon suite ( It is a better sized room )”
  • Bedroom
  • View from the honeymoon suite
sassiecat2015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay in Hillside House for family groups or small groups of friends”
HappyTravelsQld, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some of the bedrooms on the web site appear larger than they actually are.”
Jenny0053, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See if you can get a room on the river side, the open on to greeny.”
173FrancisB, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 138* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
PricelineUS$ 138
HOTEL.INFOUS$ 279
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates