We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (1341)
Room & Suite (200)
Storyboard
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“curry buffet”(219 reviews)
“the grill”(189 reviews)
“lighthouse bar”(121 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from The Oyster Box
Special Offer: Book Direct - Save 25%
Offers from The Oyster Box
Special Offer: Book Direct - Save 25%
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,129)
There are newer reviews for The Oyster Box
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,020 results
Traveller rating
1,800
158
41
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,800
158
41
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscurry buffetthe grilllighthouse barhigh teaoysterswayne coetzerocean terrace restaurantresident catoyster bargarden villaattention to detailexecutive chefour waitersea facing roomcolonial styleindian oceancurries
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
211 - 215 of 2,020 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

I'm tempted to tell you all what a terrible Hotel this is .. purely because I don't want the room availability to dry up and the prices to sky rocket. But sadly I can't lie, this hotel is simply the best, nothing is too much...More

Thank David M
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your 3rd stay with us at The Oyster Box. As returning and much-valued guests, your feedback is most important to us and I am therefore thrilled to read that we have again...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Anyone who has ever stayed at the Oyster Box will of course mention its renovated yet old world charm. The airy, sweet smelling, beyond clean rooms are very white furniture and pastel decorated. Different rooms, different colors. Very South of France feel. Domestic staff uniforms...More

Thank madelinelevy
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. Apart form the wonderful decor and stunning staff uniforms, I am delighted you experienced our 5 star service for which we are so renown....More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

What can I say??? Simply wonderful. We had interconnecting rooms facing the sea. The best beds ever! Fab staff lovely food, and great afternoon tea! I can’t wait to go Back. Big thanks to the staff member who came to our rescue when we realised...More

Thank Ursietucker
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us at The Oyster Box. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your inter-leading sea facing rooms with most comfortable beds. I am also so pleased that...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017

Hubby and I stayed here last weekend for 1 night, the staff was outstanding especially Glen Gasa who made us feel so at home. The dinner was great and we even went to the cigar lounge to finish off our night, we will definitely be...More

Thank Lebakile M
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your one night stay with us at The Oyster Box. I am thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your dinner and experienced amazing service from the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017

A charming old Hotel from the yesterday’s. Very well maintained. We enjoyed a late morning Coffee on the Terrace. Very friendly service. Highly priced for ZA but worth it. We returned in the evening for Dinner at the Ocean Terraces and were very satisfied. Good...More

Thank Dieter S
Response from OBumhlangaRocks, General Manager at The Oyster BoxResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Ocean Terrace for both coffee in the morning and dinner in the evening. I am absolutely delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, food and service...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Umhlanga Rocks
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Travellers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Restaurant
Spa
Breakfast included
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Breakfast included
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Restaurant
Spa
Bar/Lounge
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$ 328 - US$ 1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 328 - US$ 1,061 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Luxury Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#1 Spa Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Romantic Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
#2 Business Hotel in Umhlanga Rocks
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1341)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (154)
Pool & Beach (102)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
krinelle
12 November 2017|
Answer
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Unfortunately The Ocean Terrace and The Grill Room Restaurants are not Halaal. Kind regards, Wayne Coetzer General Manager
0
Votes
Suzanne L
7 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Absolutely! We definitely cater for families. The hotel is situated right on the beach and we offer an in-house Cinema for residing guests and two swimming pools, one sea facing and a garden pool... More
0
Votes
14 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from OBumhlangaRocks | Property representative |
Dear Future Guest, Thank you for your enquiry. We do offer a selection of items which are Gluten Free. However, please specify you are allergic to gluten when making your booking with restaurant reservations as each outlet... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"All rooms have a sea view and close to the ocean. Waves crashing sounds on balcony"
Read review
"Great views and amazing decor, and the service!"
Read review
"The luxury sea facing rooms are perfect"
Read review
"The view from the sea facing rooms are spectacular."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing