We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Road Lodge Umhlanga

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Road Lodge Umhlanga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
johannesburg
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving after a late night flight at 12:30am to be greeted by a smiling, jokey receptionist at that hour made me realise why i keep returning to this hotel. Room was spotless and functional. Staff on saturday morning when requesting towels again the same and efficient. And when i returned the towels later the receptionist asked how was the beach.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank es786
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel's location convenient and the staff friendly - aspects we pride ourselves in! We look forward to welcoming you back soon...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was here on a business trip. Its a small and compact hotel a stones throw from Gateway Shopping center and all it has to offer. Easy access and lots of parking makes this an ideal quick business stop over. A better than expected but simple breakfast is on offer in the small but spotlessly clean breakfast room with the days...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamirAbdallahAli
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel really disappointed my husband and I. Firstly the tv was so small. You could barely see anything. The room was terribly outdated. The bed was so hard! There was mold in the bathroom. The toilet had a problem and just kept on filling water. The staff are very unfriendly and not helpful at all. But are very kind...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnonymousD0T
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. While we do believe this hotel offers good value for money, we will certainly consider the comments you have made and refer them to the attention of the hotel’s management.

Clarens, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

This one night is just an extra till we get to Breakerd hotel... On arrival the staff not enough to deal with bookings ready to check in... The room and bathroom was dirty on arrival... I called the cleaners. Very good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaltjie
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We’re really glad you enjoyed the value for money – but we’re sorry about the slow check-in and the room/bathroom – we will refer this to the hotel’s management.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I would rate this hotel higher than a 1 star as it offers free parking,the rooms are reasonably sized ( a bit small but mangeable), small tv with satellite channels,nice shower,fantastic reception staff and manager. good nights sleep and direct access to gateway shopping centre. hotel offers continental breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haroun M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Haroun, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 23 August 2016

For what its worth, just less than the R700 price tag, very affordable given the location. Reception staff not friendly or welcoming, room pretty decent however an extremely small TV, sockets in room not working therefore I had to keep on charging phone at reception which was very irritating having to go down to charge phone & laptop. Overall clean...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank StephenOdodah
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

The Road Lodge is affordable and the location is great. It gets a 4 just for that. It's very basic accommodation though. Good enough for a weekend, but I'm not sure that you'd want to stay for longer. It might get a bit cramped. The bed is comfortable, but perhaps a bit small if you're used to sleeping on a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad to hear that all your needs were met while staying here. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Having finished the Sani2C race in the morning and no available flight to Cape Town until Sunday morning, we my partner and I were looking for a place to sleep over for one night, close to the airport. After lookign at B7B places, I decided to opt for the tried and tested Lodge group. The road lodge is very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agiesler
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

I stay here often, I enjoy the location, price, comfortable beds, good showers and decent breakfast. I always pay upfront and this trip paid over R4000 upfront. When I needed an iron to iron 1 shirt I was advised that I need to put down a deposit! First time in a hotel ever! I didn't have cash so was told...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christM821JU
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for being a loyal customer – a customer we would definitely like to retain. Unfortunately, we do have to ask for an iron deposit as our irons have gone missing before. As we pride ourselves on our friendly service, we are disappointed in your opinion that service has deteriorated – we will certainly look into this. We’re glad...

Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

I stayed at the Road Lodge Umhlanga Ridge for 5 nights at the beginning of May 16. I wanted to be close to the Gateway Shopping Mall and I could not have got any closer than I was. The Lodge was great value for money. I had requested a room on an upper floor away from the lift and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missbute
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Umhlanga, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We invest a lot of time and effort to train our team to ensure the highest level of personalized service goes beyond our customer’s expectation. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.3 km away
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
City Lodge Hotel Umhlanga Ridge
#12 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
127 reviews
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
236 reviews
0.2 km away
Coastlands Umhlanga
Coastlands Umhlanga
#11 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
253 reviews
1.8 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Road Lodge Umhlanga awaits you. It’s hotel number 44 in the City Lodge Hotels group, it's the biggest Road Lodge in the country (with 125 rooms) and the great news is that it's open from mid August. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge Umhlanga

Address: 6 Medigate Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 2,775 - ₹ 3,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Umhlanga 1*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Road Lodge Umhlanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Umhlanga Ridge Hotel Umhlanga Rocks
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge Umhlanga staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Johannesburg, South Africa
4 months ago
8 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge Umhlanga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms with twin beds looked larger than the room with a double bed.”
 of 5 bubbles missbute, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Gateway would be better as opposed to the ones opposite City Lodge”
 of 5 bubbles MphoBiz, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper floors away from the elevator are quieter (preferably corner rooms). Smoking rooms do smell heavily of smoke.”
 of 5 bubbles two_wily_wanderers, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see your room before you accept it. Once you take the keycard, its yours, whether you can sleep in the stench or not.”
 of 5 bubbles 13AK, 23 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms are maybe quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles MartieR_12, 12 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay