We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 129: English reviews
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The manageress was very helpful in arranging pickups and other stuff. Good breakfast and lovely view. Our room had safe, AC , fridge and a bathroom with huge bathtube. Safe parking -if some-what - cramped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikael R
Sandra N, Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much , we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure to be of service to you again in the very near future . Best Regards, Sandra , Mike and All Of Us in THE SANDRINGHAM TEAM :😃

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great place to stay, friendly staff and very clean rooms. Breakfast is great and parking is adequate and safe. Nice pool for a quick swim and a quiet part of Umhlanga Rocks away from the freeway. Worth it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John K
Sandra N, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much 😊. We are really very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us , it is what we strive for and this makes it all worthwhile. Please visit us again really soon . Our very best Regards, Mike and the Sandringham Team .

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Accomodation fine BUT Umhlanga is so built up and congested- what a terrible choice for a weekend with my wife. Traffic jams all over and when we finally got to the beach, signs said it was unsafe to swim ! The guesthouse is surrounded by ' New Money' people, who have too much of it but no class for tasteful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 919shanef
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

So sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Umhlanga but we are really pleased that your accommodation was to your satisfaction.

Benoni
Reviewed 31 October 2016

For a brief stop it was clean and neat. I did expect a balcony/patio however my room was located downstairs and I didn't have that bit of privacy. Good standard, good service and pleasant breakfast. Parking is a very awkward though, hardly enough for all guests and then you have to park in a tight spot or behind someone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pearl418
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Unfortunatly not all our rooms have balconies or private patios but hopefully you were able to enjoy the use of either our large upstairs deck overlooking the ocean and the ships in the bay , or our covered and very tranquil downstairs patio , overlooking our sparkling pool. Although we must admit to our parking facilities being slightly congested, all...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

The place and rooms are spotless, the people who work there are really lovely and friendly. We wanted to go out and have something to eat one night and we asked for a number of a taxi company the next thing we knew they took us to the place and even offered to come and pick us up!!! Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
Sandra N, General Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank Sue T , Your fantastic review means a lot to us and really is a great motivator to all of us at the Sandringham . We appreciate the time taken by you to write this and hope to host you again in the very near future . Wishing you all of the very best and our kind regards, Sandra...

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The rooms are very clean, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a little bit slow at times.This was my first stay at the B & B on a business trip. Perfectly located too as it has easy access to the restaurants and the mall close by,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niso M
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much Niso M for taking up your valuable time to review your first stay with us and we are so pleased that it was a pleasant one. We do regret that you found the breakfast you ordered was served a little on the slow side but with the utmost respect , all our food is freshly prepared,...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Just two minor suggestions, to include plain yoghurt as an option on the breakfast menu. Also to supply more than one hand towel per unit per day. Otherwise a great stay.. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B9020PMsusanr
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much, we will definately take heed of your suggestions and make certain that on your very next visit the number of hand towels will be increased and plain yoghurt will be readily available at our breakfast buffet . Please come back real soon . Our very best regards , Mike , Sandra and "The Team ".

Capetown
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The reception was pleasant and to the point, the rooms were good, but with the bed for the child drawn from a cupboard the space was limited. The lounch was very good and the quality of breakfast was OK. The distance to the centre was reasonable, but you had to follow roads with heavy traffic if you wanted to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jastalpersb
Sandra N, General Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review,your comments have been duly noted . Our double rooms are all furnished with extra large kingside beds and some are also able to accommodate a child in a fitted bed which pulls down from a cupboard . This allows for the child to share the same room as parents , if so desired and...

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Clean, safe and comfortable, the Sandringham has lots of cosy spaces to relax both indoors and out. The friendly, efficient staff go out of their way to attend to every reasonable request. The Wifi connectivity is quite strong for much of the time. All the roooms are slightly different so be sure to enquire about the availibility of your preferences;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel G
Sandra N, General Manager at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Carmel G , Thank you for your support ,we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding our establishment are most welcome and we wish you all the very best for the future and hope to see you again soon Regards from All of us at The Sandringham .

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We found the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were excellent. Our room was nicely decorated and of good quality. The location was good with easy access to everywhere in the area yet out of the buzz and congestion of the village. We will definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 275rodf
Mike G, Owner at The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We appreciate your very kind review and are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a great pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Wishing you everything of the very best, Mike, Sandra and the Sandringham Team .

9 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
1.3 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#8 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
236 reviews
1.2 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
858 reviews
1.7 km away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#4 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have ten luxury bedrooms all en-suite and fitted with fully ducted air-conditioning. Our rooms are serviced daily and are equipped with D.S.TV, tea & coffee facilities, room fridge, room safe, hairdryer, radio/alarm clock, internal intercom and free Wi-Fi connection. Laundry service and airport shuttle are also available on request.Other features include a spacious dining room and a shady covered patio, where you are served a full English breakfast as well as a selection of cheese, biscuits, pastries and croissants, a selection of tea's and fresh filter coffee. We have an upstairs sundeck, honesty bar and fridge, a sparkling pool, a home theatre system with an extra-large screen in an exclusive viewing lounge as well as ample and secure off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8 Sandringham Court, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 4,785 - ₹ 8,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles G3445DTsuet, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Lebo_Lechela, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
“check if bathroom has bath or shower only”
 of 5 bubbles goldy61, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Definately ask for a room with a view, or a quiet corner room if you prefer peace and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sheilab849, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Only rooms worth considering are upstairs on first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles zambezi2, 3 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay