We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchor's Rest

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Anchor's Rest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
Yorkshire
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Stopped for a couple of nights at this lovely property. Nice room and good pool. Hosts Peter, Cilla and Sandy very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast - banana and bacon pancakes (yum). Attention to detail excellent. Very good location for beach and restaurants. Will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ponteview
Brakpan, South Africa
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Everything was in order - service , the place and apartment excellent. Will go back there myself and will refer to family and friends. Already told my family about the place. We made use of the swimming pool - the whole set up of the place are absolutely great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 798louisep
Centurion RSA
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I decided to take my wife away for a long weekend to Umhlanga Rocks. We were booked in at Anchor's Rest Guest House and were immediately made welcome. We spent 4 nights in absolute bliss as the room was wonderful, the breakfasts to die for and the location perfect. We will definitely be back for more.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AndyLawler
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Andy Thanks so much for your amazing review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful long weekend and that you will be coming back to Anchor's Rest for another visit. It always warms our hearts so much when we read great reviews like yours as then we know that we are meeting guests' expectations and hopefully exceeding...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 23 March 2016

It was great to stay here, everything was perfect. I would recommend this place to everyone. The staff are all very friendly and on the ball. The breakfast was delicious and we slept safe and sound...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lannonh
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Lannon and Amie What a pleasure to read your review. It is so heart warming for us to read reviews such as yours, as then we know that we have done our job well by making your stay perfect. I will pass on your compliments to our staff who do so enjoy receiving compliments from our guests. Good to...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 March 2016

This was our fifth visit in Umhlanga and KZN, we love the area. However, it was our first stay at Anchors Rest. It started very well already at the Air Port, the driver Mr. Dick, took us safely to Anchors Rest. The feeling we got upon arrival, it´s like our home. To Sandy, Cilla, Peter and the staff, the way...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kristerpirjo
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Krister and Pirjo Thanks so much for your lovely review. We so enjoyed having you stay with us at Anchor's Rest and getting to know you through out chats. Tom (the Starling) also enjoyed your company as he was quite content eating his fruit right next to you. It always pleases us so much when guests have felt so...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Excellent place to stay. We did the self catering option and really enjoyed our stay. The facilities are excellent and the location makes it easy to shop or eat out without transport. The only issue is that the tiles get very slippy when it rains - make sure you take care! Excellent hosts who make you very welcome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 422junea
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear June Thanks so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and location of the Guest House. Thanks for the reminder about the tiles being slippery when wet, which they certainly are. I have bought more rolls of the 'non slip' adhesive tape which we currently have on...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We would never consider staying anywhere else in umhlanga rocks. Location is perfect, accommodation is beautiful and the hosts are charming . Easy access to the ocean and all of the village cafes and restaurants

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank billbrendaw2016
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Bill and Brenda Thanks so much for your great review. We wish you were still here with us as we do miss you. We so look forward to your annual visits and then they seem to be over in a flash. Sorry to hear that the weather is so cold in Scotland at the moment, wish we could send...

Cahuzac-sur-Vere, France
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Well positioned in safe residential area close to restaurants and shops , and 6 minutes walk to promenade and beach. Lovely setting with garden, flowers and pool...very welcome in the heat! Each room has a shaded outdoor seating area . Room was comfortable with everything you need, including fridge and tea /coffee making needs, ceiling fan and air conditioning unit....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 722katel
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Kate Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of Anchor's Rest. We so appreciate reading such great reviews from our guests as we then know that we have met - and hopefully exceeded your expectations. The heat has been rather unrelenting for the last couple of months so I am pleased that you enjoyed...

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

i stayed here with my sister and my 80 year old father for 4 nights. We were made to feel very welcome by Sandy, who showed us to our lovely rooms. My dad was on the upper level,( no need to go up or down any steps ) which was ideal and my sister and I enjoyed the Cheetah room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Anchor's Rest which we so appreciate. Sandy is a wonderful hostess and loves dealing with people so we know that when we are away the Guest House is left in her competent hands. We are pleased that you found the position of the Guest House so convenient and that you...

North-West District, Botswana
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I was very disappointed, i paid for the accommodation that i never slept in, because I got to durban around 10:00pm only to find out the is no check in after that time had to sleep in my vehicle the whole night, next thing was told had to pay for another night as well, the worst of it we got...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 78leratom
Cilla R, Owner at Anchor's Rest, responded to this review

Dear Lerato I am so sorry to learn of your disappointment with regards to your booking at Anchor’s Rest. We were also distressed to hear that you had been robbed whilst on the Durban beachfront. I understand that you were clearly unhappy about not being able to check in at a late hour although our Manageress Sandy had advised you...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban ...
#10 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
0.5 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,652 reviews
0.8 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
954 reviews
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
1.1 km away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#1 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchor’s Rest is a small, friendly, relaxed guest house with the emphasis on peace, tranquillity and the personal touch. Whether you are on holiday or business, we will provide you with an ideal retreat and a warm welcome.Tropical gardens, sparkling pool, warm ambience and excellent service await you at Anchor's Rest, located in the centre of Umhlanga Rocks. An easy walk to the shops, restaurants, coffee bars, beaches and vibrant night life. The Guesthouse boasts four fully appointed en-suite bedrooms all of which are Wireless Internet enabled, with all the luxury and comfort for which we have become renowned.Each suite is delightfully furnished and has every modern facility, convenience and comfort - including air-conditioning and heating, king size bed with cool cotton percale linen, complimentary bathroom toiletries, hospitality tray, books and magazines for guests’ reading pleasure, personal safe and hairdryer. All rooms lead directly to the pool or garden and have private entrances.A full English or Continental Breakfast is served every morning.After a busy day sight-seeing, or sun tanning on the beach, relax around a sparkling pool, enjoying the magnificent weather and warm hospitality of the hosts. In the evening, bar-b-que under the stars, dine al fresco in the gardens, or stroll into Umhlanga to enjoy a variety of cuisine at any number of good quality restaurants.Secure off street parking is provided, airport transfers, car hire and private tours can be arranged. Solar heated swimming pool. Visa, MasterCard and Diners credit card facilities. Daily laundry service. Children 10 years and older are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor's Rest

Address: 14 Stanley Grace Crescent, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: ₹ 5,630 - ₹ 6,940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor's Rest 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Anchor's Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor's Rest staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor's Rest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If walking a problem make sure you ask for a room that doesn't have a steep staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonS193, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in one of the double rooms, as the larger rooms were booked, yet we were more than comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyLawler, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Lovely s/c room in the garden on lower level”
 of 5 bubbles UARtraveler, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Strelitza room was delightful.”
 of 5 bubbles loveholidays, 25 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We had the garden rooms on the lower level and we were more than happy with their location quiet and relaxing!”
 of 5 bubbles Penwyllt, 20 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5