We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Zeranka Lodge

12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Umhlanga Main Beach
    4.0 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Good all-round
Good B&B with all the necessities and friendly staff. Quite slow... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Zeranka Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Good B&B with all the necessities and friendly staff. Quite slow (but free) wireless internet that only worked well in a limited area. Close to the beach, although this is not the nicest part of the beach and you have to go a few km away to be able to go swimming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roberthI7584XL
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. Unfortunately you arrived soon after the dreadful floods that Durban experienced. Part of the Lodge was flooded as were many other areas of Durban This badly affected our wifi in all the rooms, we could only pick it up in the front seating area. This is now almost back to 100% As too our...

Almere, The Netherlands
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Good and Nice b&b. Unfortunally we came a day after a big storm so the beach was gone. Nice location and room is prefect size. Aldo near to airport it was quit and confortable.free wifi. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbraitman
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes the beaches are an absolute disaster and will take months or years to get back to the beautiful beaches that we had before that terrible storm. Most of the plastic and rubbish has been cleared, but so much sand washed away. Very sad. I am glad you enjoyed you stay, even if so short. Travel...

Delft
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

The staff is so friendly and helpful! We had an excellent stay and for any future visitor we truly recommend to stay more than just one night. The lodge gives the holiday feeling and is a great accommodation. It has a pretty large pool and many nice resting areas such as comfy lounge couches. It is very close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Groen G
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. We really try hard to be as helpful as we can to make our guests stay at Zeranka as pleasant as possible. We are very blessed to have the the beach as close as it is, even though its a non swimming beach, sometimes I am thankful for this, as it is so peaceful with...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed at Zeranka Lodge briefly on our family getaway in KZN. As we were a few people, we booked two of the self-catering cottages. The cottages were very neat and clean. The owner was helpful and friendly. Location is good as it is close to Durban and close to Amenities in Umhlanga and close to the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette S
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks Nicky for your review. I am so glad you all enjoyed your break away and I hope your journey onto the Midlands was not too cold. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Usually Durban is wonderful in July, this year though been a bit iffy!! Keep warm in Cape Town!! Regards Marcelle

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Nice reception. Nice rooms. Taken care of privacy. Nice swimmingpool. Short and safe way to the ocean. Nice breakfast. Nice host. Owner doesn't accept great groups. She wants to garantue restfull stays for her guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leointgroen
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. I am so glad you were comfortable and enjoyed the peace and quiet!! We really try hard for our guests to have a memorable stay with us and to make the most of our beautiful beaches, excellent restaurants and just a general "chilling Travel on safely Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

For our first visit to the coast Zeranka was the best option to choose Warm hospitality We had lots of fun The rooms were very neat The breakfast...delicious The best part was the beach just next to the lodge This will be the best place to pick👍🏽...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebaonat
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your response ... it was an absolute pleasure have your group staying with us. You all made the most of every minute of your short stay in Umhlanga and the surrounding areas. Look forward to welcoming you all back for another stay!! Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a very Nice place to stay and the hostess is far to kind! I would recommend this to anyone! The beack is close and the center of Umhlanga with it's restaurants. You Will not regret it that you booked this place, that is for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinten v
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Yes we do have beautiful beaches and as for our Umhlanga Restaurants ... reallly worth a visit. Travel on safely Regards Marcelle

Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this lodge. The owner was very friendly and gave us good advice about our next trip and things to do. The guesthouse has a few beautiful rooms, cosy patio and nice swimming pool. The courtesy bar gives you the opportunity to have a drink outside . located right next to the lovely beach at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank giacomo001
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad your enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for choosing Zeranka Lodge. Yes, our village had the most amazing restaurants. We are very central yet away from all the hustle and bustle. I am glad my adivice helped for the rest of your trip!! Regards Marcelle

Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

A beautiful spot next to the beach with a lovely garden and swimming pool. It is very cosy and you just feel like home. The owner is very polite and gives several tips for the area. The room is very comfortable. It has a shower, bath, kitchen with microwave and a fridge. If you go for dinner in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NandaH74
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comments and for choosing to stay with us at Zeranka Lodge. I try hard to offer as much advice as I can so that you can make the most of your stay. Yes, we are blessed to be so close to the beach, nothing better than hearing the waves pounding on the shore when lying in...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 29 March 2016

The Zeranka lodge has such a great feel. It is a Bed & Breakfast but it definitely feels like a typical African Lodge. Especially because of the lapa next to the swimming pool and the outdoor lounge. There is plenty of restaurants to choose from within a five minute driving distance, but you can also stay at the lodge and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marieke U
Marcelle H, Owner at Zeranka Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay at Zeranka We really try hard to give our guests a great stay with us at the Lodge and for a bit of an African feel. Kind Regards Marcelle

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
3.9 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,561 reviews
2.8 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
315 reviews
3.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
3.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
908 reviews
0.5 km away
LaLuxe B&B
LaLuxe B&B
#1 of 22 in La-Lucia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Zeranka Lodge is the winner of the B&B sure/Kwababa Award and we are 4 star registered. It is a family run Lodge. We have a beautiful garden with pool and BBQ facilities. We are only 30 metres from the tranquil lower La Lucia beaches which can be accessed via a gate within Zeranka grounds, and approx 4km from Gateway (one of the largest shopping malls in the world) offering a multitude of shops, entertainment, and eating experiences. You will have one secure parking bay on the premises per room/unit and all rooms are air-conditioned. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zeranka Lodge

Address: 12 Cowrie Terrace | La Lucia, Umhlanga Rocks 4051, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Hotel Class:4 star — Zeranka Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zeranka Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose another accomodation”
 of 5 bubbles jens290972, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the swimming pool are the nicest.”
 of 5 bubbles 839germav, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“You won't be disappointed once chosen one of these rooms”
 of 5 bubbles leointgroen, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose the left room when you enter the lodge garden. But in the morning you can hear people talking from the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles MjWebb1989, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“relaxing rooms pool side”
 of 5 bubbles Q1544SYmichaels, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5