We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Premier Hotel The Richards

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Premier Hotel The Richards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
Start your review of Premier Hotel The Richards
 Click to rate
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our family stayed at the hotel for a single night but had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The rooms and hotel very clean and study as expected and everything was in good working order. The buffet breakfast served was enjoyed by all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TobieU
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stunning ,had a small complain about air-conditioning that was not working it was fixed before we left the premises. Breakfast absolutely good just wish I could eat more. Staff and GM very pleasant will definitely book again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nasti M
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been to Richards Bay a few times and always stayed at B&B's and self catering units thinking that they were more friendly and accommodating, However, my stay at the Richards proved to be welcoming, cost efficient and pleasant. I really liked it. Thanks for a great stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 763zanea
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day 763zanea, Thank you very much for your review on your previous stay, we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Durban
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My overall stay was good, however I did find a few things to be unpleasant. 1. The restaurant staff seems to be elderly and because of this I found that my food order would be wrong and they weren't open for criticism. Instead they were defensive. On our 3rd night I had ordered a steak which on the menu should...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thubelihlem2017
Jahannesburg
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was welcoming and generous. There is a need of regular pesticide (I notice two cockroaches at the dining room) The channel volumes on the TV are fluctuating (some are high while others are low)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicolusm2016
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly...room clean the food was ok. I can book into the hotel again since I enjoyed my stay. Though I would recommend that you improve your Wi-Fi services...such a beautiful and classy hotel should have a proper Wi-Fi services

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank samkelisiwed
Pretoria
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff was very helpful and friendly and the rooms were clean and certainly value for money. Will certainly come back. The location is okay and within a walking distance to amenities. The mattress could be replaced, a bit hard.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tselisot
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Tselisot Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Thank you for the suggestion, I will ensure to pass it onto my General Manager. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Paige

Durbanville, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a good stay , the Staff is always friendly and willing to assist. The room was clean. I suggest a small bar fridge in the room would be appreciated. I look forward to my next visit at the Richards.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank radhikas476
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Radhikas476 Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Thank you for the suggestion, our executive rooms all have mini bar fridges. Please can you request during your next stay if you could be placed in a room with a fridge or ensure that you book an executive room. We hope to welcome you back in...

Eshowe, South Africa
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The hotel staff are well trained in customer service . I had a good experience - they are polite and friendly in handling guests with any queries and assistance when required. The room was clean but I will appreciate in the near future if the hotel can put small bar fridge in the room,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank zethuf
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Zethuf Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Thank you for the suggestion, our executive rooms all have mini bar fridges. Please can you request during your next stay if you could be placed in a room with a fridge or ensure that you book an executive room. We hope to welcome you back in...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 11 March 2017

The level of noise from people that were on the swimming until around 23h00 seriously disturbed my sleep, as well as some at around 5h00 in the morning. I prefer a quiet environment when on business hence the value of the quietness especially after 20h00 and before 7h00

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mzwamandla
Paige C, Guest Relations Manager at Premier Hotel The Richards, responded to this review

Good day Mzwamandla, Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay. I must apologize for the inconvenience caused regarding the noise. I will have a word with my security team to ensure that more patrols are done. Regards Paige

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richards Bay hotels
1.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
0.5 km away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
122 reviews
5.2 km away
Seagull Lodge
Seagull Lodge
#1 of 8 in Richards Bay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Splendid Inn Bayshore
Splendid Inn Bayshore
#7 of 8 in Richards Bay
50 reviews
5.6 km away
Road Lodge Richards Bay
Road Lodge Richards Bay
#5 of 8 in Richards Bay
11 reviews
0.5 km away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Premier Hotel The Richards is a true landmark of the Zulu land area and is situated just 90 minutes North of Durban. One of the longest established hotels in Richards Bay, the Premier Hotel The Richards is well renowned for its warm and welcoming atmosphere. The ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers, Richards Bay offers business guests a convenient location close enough to the CBD, yet far enough away from the city pressures to make business a pleasure. Leisure travelers are spoilt for choice: from the un-spoilt beaches, sub tropical climate and coastal conservation areas to the game reserves in areas like Hluhhluwe, Richards Bay Country Club and the Deep Sea Harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Premier Hotel The Richards

Address: 3 Hibberd Drive | Meerensee, Richards Bay 3901, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Richards Bay
Price Range: ₹ 3,630 - ₹ 7,001 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel The Richards 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Premier Hotel The Richards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Premier Hotel The Richards staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Premier Hotel The Richards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all room are not bad”
bonganid640, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid if you value your privacy - it's not the rooms, it's the staff”
ChrissieBGrahamstown, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“Not sure which rooms are good, if any but room 159 not good.”
917mandyr, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel”
Sue2364, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the garden instead of the car park”
Bredenoord, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5