We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Emdoneni Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Emdoneni Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Emdoneni is a magical and unique place to stay. After 4 nights in Cape Town, it was wonderful to find ourselves surrounded by nature. We loved our little rondavel and the whole layout of the lodge. The dinner buffet was nice and we were even serenaded by the wait staff. Afterwards, we sat around a fire pit and spoke with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RMFrank
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful and heart-warming review. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed all the offerings at Emdoneni Lodge. A big thank you for adopting one of our cats and for supporting the cat project that is so dear to our hearts. Until we meet again.

Englewood, FL
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights as part of our SmarTours tour of South Africa. It was our favorite stop. The staff came out of the kitchen after dinner and sang traditional African songs. Also on the property is a Wild Cat Rehabilitation Center and Cheeta Project. There is an extra fee to tour the cat project, but we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FL_Jane
AmpleMedia, Public Relations Manager at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

So good to hear that Emdoneni Lodge was the highlight of your tour and that you had a really good experience with us. We will convey your kind words to JJ as well. All of the best.

Denver
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were here for two nights and this place WAS AMAZING! The staff was absolutely fantastic and the cat sanctuary next door was wonderful. This is a world class lodge in my opinion. The nature around you is absolutely amazing. Definitely visit if you are in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaren T
AmpleMedia, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Oh wow! We are so honored to be regarded as a world class lodge! We like the idea of guests spending 2 nights or more with us. With a longer stay our guests get the chance to completely relax and have enough time to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Thank you once again for a fantastic review. Until we meet again.

Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This lodge was very hard to rate as there were actually two very different rooming experiences. First, a room in the circular lodge. The room was quaint, but definitely showing age. There was not a lot of room to move around and the tile floors were dirty and there was hair in the sink. Yes, I know I am in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyone88
AmpleMedia, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your review. We deeply regret that you had the unfortunate experience of hair being left behind in the basin. When you brought the problem to our attention, we offered to solve the issue immediately. However we weren’t allowed in your room, hence we weren’t able to rectify the problem. We are aware that our chalets...

Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on a tour. Little bungalow rooms are simply too cute. Nice private enterances. Food in the restaurant is very good and plenty. Big plus and draw here is their animal refuge on site. You can walk up to the animals near the enterances and get pretty close to take photos. Also went into the "cat" incloser...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzetteStrav
AmpleMedia, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Suzette Thank you for a wonderful review - it is much appreciated. We are so happy to learn that you had a wonderful time at the lodge and that you enjoyed visiting our cat project which is so dear to our hearts. See you soon.

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I have never felt so at home away from home. I booked the three night package directly through Emdoneni and was not disappointed. My partner was worried when we arrived and there wasn't a TV. By the end he understood why. We had a fantastic time (and forgot that there wasn't a t.v in the room) and I cannot fault...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca D
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Bianca. We are so blessed to receive such wonderful feedback. A heartfelt thank you for taking the time to write this review and for pointing out just how much you enjoyed your stay at Emdoneni Lodge. We are glad to learn that you could enjoy some quiet time with a glass of wine next to the fire - this...

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Emdoneni Lodge while touring South Africa. Very comfortable accommodation. Buffet meals were very nice. Highlight was hearing the kitchen and serving staff sing several traditional songs towards the end of dinner. Their harmonies were wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanya H
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Oh wow, what a special review. Thank you for letting us know just how much you enjoyed your experience at Emdoneni Lodge. All of the best.

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

This was our first hotel after Cape Town and was a welcome change. Very quiet and no phones no TV. In some rooms the heat did not work but blankets made it unnecessary. Outside shower would be fun in summer but not in winter. Breakfast and dinner buffets were as expected with the singing of the staff on the second...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank william f
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear William. A sincere thank you for the compliments to our establishment. We are extremely thankful for your recognition of all aspects of your stay. Best wishes.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Myself and my husband spent the weekend here. What a wonderful experience it was. The service from arrival, bar staff, room staff, dinner staff could not be faulted!! Everybody was so joyful and friendly. The food was excellent!! The rooms were small but completely functional. The highlight of course was the cat tour. AMAZING. Guides were so knowledgeable and willing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeidiinDurbs
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Heidi. Thank you for the review. We love it when our guests spend 2 nights or more with us. With a longer stay one get to know our staff, and have enough time to thoroughly enjoy the lodge and its surroundings. Glad to hear that your visit to our cat project was the highlight of your stay. We look...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We did a 1 hour private tour at Emdodeni and totally loved this on our way to St Lucia. What a way to meet some of the wild cats of Africa. No rush at all with each cat but professionally handled by our guides. We had some tea & coffee at the cat enclosure restaurant and ablution facilities are available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catz T
Lodge-Owners, Owner at Emdoneni Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Catz; thank you for your kind review and for the beautiful pictures you submitted. We are so glad that you had a good experience at our Cat Project. Wishing you well.

311 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
6:24
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (54)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
11.8 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
114 reviews
9.5 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
9.4 km away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#11 of 32 in Hluhluwe
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
271 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 32 in Hluhluwe
128 reviews
40.9 km away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#3 of 32 in Hluhluwe
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following the 2015 voting period, Emdoneni Lodge has won: Global Winner in the Luxury Game Lodge category of the World Luxury Hotel Awards. If you ever dreamt of getting close to nature, interacting with tame cats like Cheetah, Emdoneni Lodge is the place to visit! Located in the heart of Zululand lies Emdoneni Lodge. The lodge offers unique opportunities for the visitor, as you get up close and personal with local wildlife. From sitting by the pool watching Zebra, Nyala, duiker and impala in their natural Sand Forest habitat, to coming face to face with Cheetah, Serval, Caracal and African Wild Cats at the Cat Sanctuary! Air-conditioned, en-suite rooms allow you to escape the heat of the day, and in the evenings you have a variety of meals to choose from at the buffet restaurant. Dinner in the Boma adds a different atmosphere as you eat under the African night sky, and get a glimpse into one of South Africa's great cultures with our Zulu dancers. End off your evening with a night-cap in our cosy bar or a chat in front of the fireplace. Your Zululand experience would not be complete without visiting nearby Hluhluwe/Imfolozi Game Park in one of the Lodges' game vehicles, or taking a trip to St Lucia to view some Hippo's and crocodiles on a lazy afternoon boat ride. Other activities on offer include Fishing charters, visiting the nearby Zulu cultural village, quad biking, horse riding or spending the day on the infamous Cape Vidal and Sodwana Bay beaches. Emdoneni Lodge offers the visitor a chance to experience Zululand at its' best. Centrally located and close to the main attractions that Zululand has to offer! Not long dirt roads to travel on.... A Home away from home!Your hosts Louis and Cecillie Nel look forward to meeting you, and from all the staff at Emdoneni - Salani Kahle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emdoneni Lodge

Address: District Road 123 | Bushlands, Hluhluwe, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Price Range: ₹ 10,414 - ₹ 14,225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emdoneni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Emdoneni Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emdoneni Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Emdoneni Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not get one of the circular rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpyone88, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views of the cheetah enclosures are great”
 of 5 bubbles debbieannkirkwood, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are well spaced and any one will be good”
 of 5 bubbles johnD8426AR, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“They are all great!”
 of 5 bubbles larniv, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Cabin 4 has a view of the Serval and Cheetah enclosure.”
 of 5 bubbles michelejeannine5, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay