We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beechwood Guesthouse

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durban
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Beechwood Guesthouse
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

16 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Start your review of Beechwood Guesthouse
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for three days when our Mom was at St Augustine hospital and were so encouraged by the warm friendly atmosphere and treatment we recieved from Jackie and her wonderful crew of staff. Not only is she within walking distance of the hospital, but there are so many good restarants and shopping close by. Picturesque B&B with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie v
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 March 2017

The room was hot with a massive noisy industrial fan. The aircon was not working. There was a note that guests must wash their own dishes. The crockery was chipped. Climbing the stairs to my room with my luggage was a mission, as I got to the top and there was no landing. The room had a funny pepper smell....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inkcubeko
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Loved my stay as usual! I've often stayed at Beechwood Bnb, and will always return! It is a lovely Bnb in the heart of Glenwood with loads of restaurants easily accessible, close to grocery shops as well. The staff are super friendly and Jackie the owner is always around to assist with the guests needs, she goes above and beyond!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erikaswanlund
Jacqueline N, Owner at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great reveiw.

Mthatha, South Africa
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We have been staying at Beechwood bnb for the past couple of years and we have always loved it. Rooms are beautifully decorated and the most lovely Host , Jackie always goes above and beyond to help us. The room is always immaculately clean and linen and pillows are great(especially love the pillows) and staff are very friendly. It always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoelleP10
Jacqueline N, Owner at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Great Hospitality.Great Breakfast.Great People.Great B@B.As n person that travel constantly this B@B was one for the books.Super friendly staff and awesome service.Helpfull in anyway.The breakfast was phenomenal. Advice anybody to stay here especially bussiness oriented stuff.I had to work every night which I did with ease. Well done Beechwood B@B!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeanluduToit
Jacqueline N, Owner at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Beanlu, We really appreciate the feedback.

Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We were warmly welcomed by Abonga the Receptionist and shown to our lovely room which was the cottage next to the pool. Beautifully furnished and the beds were top class and comfortable. White Linen was fresh & clean - also soft classy pillows! We had a little kitchenette fully equipped with fridge, microwave, kettle etc. The bathroom ensuite was sparkling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jennymoore123
Jacqueline N, Owner at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, Thank you so much for your wonderful review.It was our pleasure to host lovely guests such as yourselves.

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in an "apartment" with adjoined single beds when we were promised a king sized bed. No service staff to tidy up the rooms, kids slept in a separate unit next door, not ideal setup. Owner persistently intrusive over her linen. Poor parking availability, had to park across the street. Abject disappointment, not the best place for a family...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khumbulani
Jacqueline N, Owner at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

We apologize for the bad experience, we always seek to make our guests happy. Regarding the cleaning, this is done between 10 am -1 pm everyday, unless of course on Public Holidays when the staff is off work , which the guests were given letters in their rooms notifying them of this.

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

While making the booking we were promised a king sized bed, instead we found 2 separate single beds. Since we were received by the cleaning staff- we thought it pointless to complain to them. At that moment, we still had high hopes. We were also informed that breakfast would be available at extra charge. As we put our luggage down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonhlalon
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Hey Lynn, Just letting you know to not book this place again - its on the party strip and my windows are vibrating from the music in the bars nears us. I've given up trying to work cause its too noisy. Its like a rave or something downstairs. It's not your fault at all. I just want you to know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank research1232015
Jacqueline N, Front Office Manager at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

We apologise tremendously for your bad experience.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 December 2015

The description says it is near 16 cafes and bars, and I can hear everyone of them! Music is so loud my window is vibrating. not good when you are on a business trip and need to give a presentation tomorrow. To add insult to injury there's no milk in the room to have with the tea and coffee, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CSP500
Jacqueline N, Owner at Beechwood Guesthouse, responded to this review

We apologize for you bad experience.

33 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.0 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 43 in Durban
1,362 reviews
2.8 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#35 of 43 in Durban
96 reviews
0.8 km away
Mesami Hotel
Mesami Hotel
#74 of 249 in Durban
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Villa Valencia
Villa Valencia
#129 of 249 in Durban
21 reviews
2.3 km away
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
Andaluz Boutique Hotel
#156 of 249 in Durban
16 reviews
6.9 km away
Flintstones Guest House
Flintstones Guest House
#182 of 249 in Durban
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beechwood Guesthouse offers a variety of simple, yet comfortable b&b or self-catering accommodation in Glenwood, Durban. The guest house is in a great location, close to the beach, 200 meters from approximately 16 restaurants and cafes, and within close proximity to shopping malls, uShaka Marine World and a number of other must-see attractions in Durban. The guesthouse has 9 guest rooms, three cottages(two cottages have twin beds and the other has a double bed) as well as a 2 bedroom apartment and a two bedroom house. The guesthouse is spread over four premises. The apartment has a dining and lounge area, as well as a kitchen and a bathroom with a shower and bathtub. The house is a spacious two bedroom house that is self-catering and has a lounge and spacious fully equipped kitchen. The house has two showers(one indoor and another enclosed in an outdoor area),air-conditioning, dstv,and plenty of space. There are four single beds. The house has a cosy pool as well as parking area. All rooms have DStv, air-conditioning, en-suite bathrooms, and tea- and coffee-making facilities. There are five units with kitchenettes. All units have their own private entrances and en-suite bathrooms. The two family units(apartment and house)have a family bathroom. The guest house facilities include secure inside parking, pool, Wi-Fi facilities(in selected rooms) and a braai area. Daily housekeeping is provided. Beechwood Guesthouse is situated 3.5 km from the city centre, 5 km from the Durban beachfront, 4 km from the ICC and 15 km from Durban International Airport. We are also conveniently situated on on the bus route to the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beechwood Guesthouse

Address: 11 Shuter Road | Glenwood, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: ₹ 2,267 - ₹ 3,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Beechwood Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Modern decor, quiet and comfortable. Pleasurable”
, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Do yourselves a favour and do not book this place.”
research1232015, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“one as far away from the noise of the bars as possible.......”
CSP500, 3 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Only stayed in one, but they all looked good.”
damianb448, 13 May 2013 | Read review
4 of 4