We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blue Waters Hotel

Traveller (292)
Room & Suite (118)
Dining (24)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Blue Waters Hotel is a three star beach front hotel located on Durban's famous Golden Mile in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. The Blue Waters Hotel specializes in offering the best accommodation at affordable rates to corporate business, honeymooners, sports teams, groups and holiday makers alike. We also specialize in hosting unforgettable wedding receptions. We have a number of wedding venues to choose from depending on the size of the function required. The hotel offers business conference and function facilities for small to large events.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Banquet Room
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
728Reviews
316Photos
15Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 272
  • 172
  • 80
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had 2 perfect days in a family room with north facing sea view. We saw huge improvements on the previous stay with safety locks on doors to the balcony so we had more peace of mind relaxing. My son did flood the bathroom and housekeeping were just fantastic and helpful!
Read more
The check in procedure at this Hotel was long and tedious and a test of patience with no apologies for the wait. The Room I booked was supposed to have been a Sea facing Room but as they gave me a room on the First Floor had difficulty seeing over the trees to catch a glimpse
Read more
Response from BlueW, Guest Services Liaison at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced difficulties during your stay. We can assure you this is not the level of service we are proud to offer. Kindly be advised Room allocations are subjected to availability depending on the occupancy of the Hotel. We do have an external pest control company that come and spray regularly , this has now been taken up with them, However we would like to investigate further in the room with the matters mentioned, Please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly with Reservation details .We apologize for the inconvenience caused, We do sincerely hope that you will consider choosing the Blue Waters as a future holiday destination. Yours in Hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.
Read more
This hotel is in terrible condition. It is very dirty and dingy throughout. The View from was the only real positive about the room to be honest. The bathrooms are dark and in desperate need of refurbishment. The public areas around the hotel have the feeling of an old haunted
Read more
Response from BlueW, Guest Services Liaison at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Prime Location of the Hotel and the Breakfast Buffet served in the Versailles Restaurant. We have noted your points where we have not met your expectations and are looking for ways of how we can improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Yours in hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.
Read more
Location is very good, views are the best, the staff is friendly and the food is good, however the hotel is old, the rooms are clean but very old and outdated, the bathrooms and showers are terrible, this is not a 4 star hotel, not by far, The pool is indoors but not
Read more
Response from BlueW, Guest Services Liaison at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Prime Location of the Hotel and the Service received from staff. We have noted your points where we have not met your expectations and are looking for ways of how we can improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Yours in hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.
Read more
Poor check in process - I waited about 30min. They then want a whole lot of info and want you to sign every term and condition - as if you're checking into a prison. Aircon is the room is poor. Wifi is horrible. Rooms are basic and not really thought through at all. You will
Read more
Response from BlueW, Guest Services Liaison at Blue Waters Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced difficulties during your stay. Kindly be advised as per Hotel Standard policy, Terms and conditions apply, signatures by Guest upon Check in is to confirm acknowledgement of the Hotel Policies. Wi-Fi is subjected to be guaranteed in Public areas of the Hotel, we do offer the Florida Lounge which is a Business center. We will investigate your comment regarding the room with the relevant department for investigation. If there are any further matters that were not up to standard, please do not hesitate to contact us. We apologize for the inconvenience caused, We do sincerely hope that you will consider choosing the Blue Waters as a future holiday destination. Yours in Hospitality, Kirsten Anthony, Guest Services Liaison.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Deluxe North Sea Facing Family Room
View from our room
PreviousNext
12345624
Best to call the hotel and ask them
0 votes
Best to email them or call them 0313277000
0 votes
Show all answers
Definitely!!! And the staff is ever present to attend/assist you with a friendly and warm smile.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi depends on which day of the week and whether you include dinner and breakfast. Weekends are more expensive than Monday-Thursday rates.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"If you must stop at this Hotel ask for as high a floor as you can to avoid traffic noise."
"Rooms are very old and outdated"
"I loved the family room (2 single beds in a separate room leading out of the main bedroom; plus 1 king size bed)"
"Request a room overlooking the beach. I had great fun watching the monkeys from my balcony."
"Rooms far from the lifts!!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 55 - US$ 166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue waters hotel durbanblue waters durban
LOCATION
South AfricaKwaZulu-NatalDurban
NUMBER OF ROOMS
262
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing