We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Oceanic

Save
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to the beach, with shops and a SPAR close by Friendly staff, especially Queen who spent some time answering my touristy questions when she's so busy keeping the room sparkling. Good facilities - swimming pool and hot tub. Great value

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simbaldo
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed it. Location perfect. Will go there again. Hoop the stairs to the pool will be better. Could not go to the pool, because of the stairs. Height was the problem. Thank you for kindness.. Till later.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank denisehX3641CX
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Denise Thank you for your positive review. I wish I had met you during your stay, but on your next visit I will make sure we show you another way to the pool and to avoid the stairs and height problem. Once again thank you, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Ian Moyo

Bronkhorstspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

we wen there for a week and an experience I wil never forget in my life we cmng bck agin .we were at home there I think we needed two weeks there thee people of Durban and the stuff at that hotel if I can say it they on fire

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mahlangub101
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! We are thrilled that you had a great rime and enjoyed our city, hotel and hospitality! I shared your review with the staff and encouraged them to stay "on fire!" We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards The Oceanic Management

Ladysmith, South Africa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Staff are pleasant and check-in process is quick. Safe parking. However, the air-conditioner did not work, I reported it and was told someone will come have a look - that person never showed up. There is only a bathtub and no shower in the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deanf916
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day Dean Thank you bringing this matter to my attention. Please be advised that we have repaired the air-conditioner and rectified the reporting structure as this clearly shows that there was miscommunication between our service department. I have noted your concern regarding bath tub as opposed to shower for future consideration. We sincerely apologise for all inconvenience caused during...

Richmond, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We spent one night here and were pleased with the spaciousness of our unit. We loved the huge big bed and slept very well. It's situated one block back from the beachfront which is actually a good thing because it wasn't as noisy as a beachfront hotel tends to be. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. I would rate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobandJanet
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day RobandJanet We are very delighted that you enjoyed staying at our Hotel, it is indeed great place for both business and pleasure. The rooms are designed to meet every client requirement, very comfortable for the whole family and spacious as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to your home on your next visit. Once again...

Reviewed 6 September 2016

This property is owned and operated by First Resorts, and features in a few Timeshare plans. The reception staff are professional and very friendly. Parking is affordable, and will cost you approx. R30 per night. We stayed in a four sleeper, and the following equipment and layout is present: 2 Bedrooms, 1 with a Queen bed and the other with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santosh P
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Santosh Thank you for your positive and detailed comments about our hotel and staff. We always strive to exceed our guests expectations and are are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like you to always stay with us whenever you think of coming to Durban and once again, we as The Oceanic management and...

Centurion
Reviewed 24 August 2016

It was value for money; family room, proximity to the beach and other activities. Reception staff, excellent. Air conditioners in rooms needs upgrading though, and no single kids channel on tv yet there're family rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N2268IKdanielm
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for the good comments about our hotel. We are thrilled that you felt welcomed by our staff. Some of our air conditioners do need to be upgraded and, as of the 17th of September we will be doing a revamp and the air conditioners will be part of the revamp too. As for the children’s channels,...

Reviewed 7 June 2016

Room was equipped with everything we needed from cutlery, pots and pans to dstv with plasma tv. Room was nice , clean and the smell of clean linen and the beautiful view outside. Thx Oceanic hope to see you again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mervan D
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Dear Mervan Thank you so much for your review on The Oceanic. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our clean room with amazing views and look so forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Siphiwe General Manager

Durban
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Apartment is clean and spacious. Kitchen is fully equipped. Plenty of cupboard space for your clothing. Clean and comfortable bedding - mattress and pillows are perfect for a good nights rest. Facilities are good. Had lunch and dinner - both were very enjoyable! Drinks and meal prices are very fair. Relaxed atmosphere - pleasant. Brian, the barman was very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rgb224
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for your positive and encouraging comments and I would like to assure you that we will keep striving for excellence all the time. We also want thank you for the constructive comment about the residents dripping water when they are coming from the pool. Going forward we will adopt your suggestion to put more signs, it...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

The table in the room was sticky The work tops were sticky Sticky surfaces are NOT CLEAN !!!! The bedroom carpet covered in stains and filthy Stayed three nights and nothing improved still sticky dirty surfaces so does cleaner wipe toilet seats with same cloth as kitchen work surfaces ??? The Last night we had no replacement milk so again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank petesalmonla
First_Resorts, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for bringing the cleaning (Housekeeping) issues to our attention. We are disappointed that your perception was that an attendant used one cloth to clean bathroom and the kitchen and that the table and work tops were sticky. We have revisited training and housekeeping standards with the ladies who clean the units. We would like to thank...

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanic is situated within walking distance of Durban's beachfront, a mere 35km from King Shaka International Airport. he resort offers 27 luxury high-rise apartments, a stylish restaurant offering divine Italian cuisine and room service, Jacuzzi and entertainment facilities for the whole family. Guests can gather around the communal braai and swimming pool for family fun or a social dining experience. The Oceanic is perfect for those looking to relax, soak up the sun at the on-site pool and enjoy all the fun-filled activities Durban has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oceanic

Address: 20 John Mcintyre Road | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Don Oceanic)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: ₹ 2,898 - ₹ 7,751 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oceanic 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Oceanic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Oceanic Hotel Durban
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Oceanic staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay