We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Durban

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,185: English reviews
Israel
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The rooms are clean but outdated with cramped shower and aged carpet, worn towels. The breakfast had a wide selection but the food was tasteless. Having stayed at other Hilton hotels this one is below par. A bit of a let down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alonsegs
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest We are sorry to hear that your stay with us has not lived up to your expectations. Thank you for your feedback. We will follow up on your comments, especially on the quality of food at breakfast, with our Executive Chef. Please accept our sincere apologies. Also I would like to inform you that we are still...

Durbach, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hilton is perfectly situated for business in the City. The views are great in every direction. The ambience of the entrance and rooms are really great. Enjoyed my stay. Well worth a visit for both business and pleasure. It caters for all types of visitors.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kooban
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you - pleased to hear that you were satisfied with all aspects of your stay. We look forward to your next visit! Yours sincerely Markus

Al Madinah Province, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My kids and I stayed in this hotel over the Holidays. The rooms were truly five star. Breakfast was amazing. We had use of The business lounge. The kids really enjoyed The atmosphere. The location of the hotel Is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amina H
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Super to read your review and delighted you had a lovely stay. Your comments re our guestrooms, breakfast and business lounge are also well received, thank you. Hope to welcome you again when planning your next visit to the city. Yours sincerely Markus

Bryanston, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The service was excellent however, on two occasions I had an unfortunate and traumatic experience with unclean bedding. The room into which I was relocated was excellent. Hence it may appear the cheaper the room rate the riskier the cleanliness of the linen.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank refilwem2017
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apology for the shortfall you have experienced during your stay, we have certainly communicated your feedback to the relevant managers to follow up also in an effort to prevent any future occurrence. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Yours sincerely...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over the Christmas period for 15 nights. We were allocated a renovated room with city views on the 11th floor after a very smooth check-in process during which a staff member from Guest Services also introduced himself. This created an excellent first impression, which intensified during our first night when a piepce of lost luggage arrived from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosaposer165
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for your sharing your review on Trip Advisor about your experience with us. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the team members to be helpful. However I am very disappointed to hear of your other hiccups you encountered and I will surely pass...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have booked 6 nights in the Hilton Durban during attending a conference. Staffs are very friendly. They organised a free small anniversary celebration for us. The price was good for the quality of the room. The room was large (i think king). The restaurant was also good. Just one problem with our room that the AC was not cold....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Awf A
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Let me extend my gratitude for taking the time to share your experience at the Hilton Durban on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to have the chance to accommodate you during your visit to Durban and I am glad to read that you found our service to be friendly and rooms good quality. I sincerely regret reading, however,...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

While the room facilities were nice, the bathroom wasn't properly cleaned, with someone else's hair remaining in the bath when we arrived. In the morning the housekeeping staff completely blocked the passage with their cleaning trolleys instead of neatly securing them to one side and spoke loudly in the passage to one another. When we struggled to pass they didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carryndemoor
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and very sorry to hear of your overall experience, service and cleanliness of bathroom. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience and would like to inform...

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Waited over two hours for them to get our hotel room ready, the shower was disgusting and the food was terrible not at all worth the price charged!! I would never recommend this place to anyone I know! I have seen 3 star facilities that was far better than the Hilton could ever hope to be! Total waste of my...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K6562UIdebbiec
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying at Hilton Durban and taking the time to complete your TripAdvisor revew. We are sorry to hear of your overall experience, accommodation, service and quality of food. Please accept my sincere apology for the unpleasant experience, as we strive to satisfy every single guest which is the utmost important goal for us, I...

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our previous stay was excellent and we expected the same this time around. To start with, we were made to wait for an unacceptable amount of time upon checking in, as our room was not ready. The normal check in time is 15:00. We only entered our room at 17:00! The reception desk offered us complementary beverages and then did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr Kavith H
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review in TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Hilton Durban. It is particularly motivating to receive comments like the ones you provided on our reception staff. Rest assured I will convey your compliments to the Concierge Team and Wellington. However, I have noted your comments on...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

What I experienced is not what I had expected n wished especially as had hoped for a relaxing resting space instead found myself with more concerns n complains. This spoilt my two nights stay. Having said this but the manner duty managers dealt with complaints had is welcomed and very much appreciated. I call that ensuring customer is made to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 85smangelek
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read your kind words toward our staff and that you enjoyed, however it saddens me that you were not completely happy with your stay and that you did not make you feel cared for or respected. My sincerest apologies for not...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (188)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (224)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 41 in Durban
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
217 reviews
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#14 of 41 in Durban
543 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: ₹ 5,583 - ₹ 13,617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Durban staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles rosaposer165, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles 85smangelek, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a high floor, away from the elevators. Don't bother with executive rooms unless it is a free upgrade.”
 of 5 bubbles Yuvan29, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher level rooms have wind noise through the windows. Ocean view rooms add some glamour to the room.”
 of 5 bubbles rockdoctor111, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the upper level are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles victors331, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay