We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Road Lodge Durban

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Road Lodge Durban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Centurion RSA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where do I start...firstly, it is situated in an unsafe area of Turban. Secondly, there is a Mc Donald's right next door and thus very noisy. Thirdly, I am not sure what actually bit me, but I am covered in itchy bites. Fourthly, my TV did not work. Fifthly, there is not enough seating in the dining room, thus I... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyLawler
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please note that Road Lodge is our budget one-star brand which we believe offers value for money to guests. However, we will certainly look into all of the matters you have raised to consider what can be done to improve the guest experience.... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

This a hotel good for bed & breakfast and a Mc Donalds ice cream if you are bored at night. There wasn't anything special about my stay here. Their breakfast is lovely, good variety. This is a walking distance from the Durban ICC, a mini mall & taxi rank.

Helpful?
Thank Reshego S
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Bedfordview
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I can't say how wonderfully impressed I was by the excellent service and friendly staff. They went out of their way to make my stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible. From cleaning staff to front desk. Such a rare find these days. Thank you!!

Helpful?
Thank Lynne V
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Stayed at this place over night, it,s in a great location, In central durban, not on the beach, but right next door to macdonalds and within walking distance of Durban ICC. The place is clean but rooms havent been updated. You might find the beds too hard and the linen has aged but still clean, they still old tv's and... More 

Helpful?
Thank John M
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review John M. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Efficient check in,clean and comfortable rooms! good city centre location close to The Workshop! highly recommended! affordable priceI will definitely be coming back to the Road Lodge!and would highly recommend this hotel!

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel55_12
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

A good establishment, however the look and feel in the room needs a change and flat screen TVs....staff.compliment very good and great customer service...I'd use the establishment if I need a few hours rest..but not to stay

Helpful?
1 Thank Xolani C
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Xolani. As the Road Lodge brand is our one star brand, it is quite basic as far as amenities go, although it does have all the services and features usually offered by this star category. For more services and features, you could try our two star Town Lodge, or three star City Lodge Hotels.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Ever thought of that away from home place you can just get in and out with no fuss? Go Road Lodge; it is so simple you even know where they keep the sugar. Be sure to insist on none smoking room if you don't smoke. The rest is packed up economy resting place before the next business deal and you... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ReubenPhala
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are glad that you had a good stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016

The hotel is nice and clean, good for average travelers, reasonable prices, good English breakfast, good location next to bus terminus and central railway station, plenty taxi service for down town or beach ride.

Helpful?
1 Thank 831bcm
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Rooms are very small,space is limited! The air con was not working and was Tvs are tinny. On check in the front desk agent didn't even asks us if we prefer a smoking on non smoking room! We where automatically given a smoking room which smelled a cigarette from the previous guests. Carpet in the room was dirty it's like... More 

Helpful?
Thank bonginkosi
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Bonginkosi. We constantly strive for service excellence and we apologise for falling short of your and our own expectations on this particular stay. We would like to sincerely apologise for the lack of care in allocating your room and do hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We are concerned and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

The lodge is central located,value for money, very neat, free parking and excellent service from the employees. My best part of the stay was the free unlimited wifi. Area of improvement is with the T.V(very small),there is no mini bar fridge and coffee/tea in hotel room

Helpful?
2 Thank ntebogelengs
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Road Lodge Durban, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad that you had a great time with us! We are glad that you found our location convenient and our service excellent. Thank you for providing us with this constructive feedback - these are areas that we are working on to improve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon More 

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.1 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#16 of 42 in Durban
118 reviews
15.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
204 reviews
1.5 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#35 of 42 in Durban
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#26 of 42 in Durban
146 reviews
0.9 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#36 of 42 in Durban
85 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 42 in Durban
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located within walking distance of the International Conference Centre, Tourism Durban offices, the beach and numerous restaurants. A 2 minute drive to Durban’s CBD, and only 25km from King Shaka International Airport, ensures that this hotel is in a very convenient location ... more   less 

Additional Information about Road Lodge Durban

Address: Cnr Braam Fischer and KE Masinga Roads, Durban 4056, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: ₹ 2,804 - ₹ 3,078 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Road Lodge Durban 1*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Road Lodge Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Road Lodge Durban Hotel Durban
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Road Lodge Durban staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
7 days ago
3 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Road Lodge Durban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles AndyLawler, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms have no views to anything”
 of 5 bubbles johnmZ4333OT, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 831bcm, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor as no lifts in hotel”
 of 5 bubbles zzl2011, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
“I stayed in room 220 and have no complaints.”
 of 5 bubbles JohanJ516, 2 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay