We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$ 27*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 113: English reviews
Start your review of Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This place was amazing! I had the opportunity to stay here for 3 nights and had the time of my life. It is located within walking distance of shops and restaurants while being a short ride from the beach. The people who work here are simply wonderful, some of the nicest people I have ever had the opportunity to meet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob R
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in the dorm room with my girlfriend before moving on. Beds were comfortable, staff were incredible and helpful. Had no worries about our safety or safety of our stuff. All in all an amazing environment with friendly people

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We couldn't ask for more than that. Fantastic, especially the compliments on our staff. Thank you so much. We hope to see you back at some point.

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The place is really well situated near a busy Street. Keys and vacca matta is literally 2 min walk away. The hostel was busy enough and good value for money. The bathroom facilities can do with some work though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Lots of positive there. Love the good value for money part. We think so also. Will have a closer look at the negative points. Hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

On numerous occasions I have stayed at Tekweni on passing business trips through Durban, hands down this has always been such a pleasurable experience. The staff are very friendly and accommodating towards guests. Tekwenis vibe is out of this world. Definitely highly reccomend to anyone wanting to stay at a rad place in Durban. Check out the extra fun activities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlonh760
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a sensational review. You definitely get us. Fantastic! We look forward to your next trip through Durbs.

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here one night and would never stay again. The staff were not friendly and the morning of our stay the lady on reception was down right rude. We had a private room, the bed was uncomfortable with rubbish pillows, the bedding looked dirty, the fan was broken and the curtains were half hanging off the rails. The shared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazzacoley
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us below "Worst experience ever". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since gone over that room and it was not as bad as you described. It needed...

Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

We arrive to stay one night tired after a long journey greeted by a mumbling member of staff To then shown our room by another. Fan didn't work in room Sheets dirty people who was working there woke up at 5 am and had a lovely chat outside our room all the staff was wrecked in the morning so could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We do remember your booking and it is obvious what is going on with this review. You stayed together with the person that reviewed us above "Stay somewhere else". You weren't happy with your room as you stated which is fair enough. We have since gone over that room and it was not as bad as you described. It needed...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Tekweni backpackers in Durban, what an absolute gem of a place. The staff were helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable but what really got me was their outgoing personalities and a genuine desire for you to have fun and enjoy yourself. The backpackers is located off Florida Road with its many bars and restaurants so your spoilt for choice whether it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiocfaidh
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What an awesome review. I see you definitely feel us. Fantastic. We really hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Very cool place, great atmosphere and great people. The staff are friendly and very helpful and are willing to go the extra mile. If you are in or around Durban give it a try for a great experience. Lekker

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scubasteve011
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks sooo much for the amazing review. I can see you are coming back. Fantastic!

Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel is definitely an okay place to stay if you are looking for cheap or close to Florida Road. The actual hostel is not the best though unless you are looking for a party feel and not the cleanest accommodations. A couple people I was with found bugs on their bed, the bathrooms are not very clean or nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonisha13
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Yes we have a fantastic location and we are very clear that we have a party feel. That is why most people stay with us. I will be honest we had an issue with our cleanliness in certain sections a few weeks back. We have had a shake up since and got stuck in with a...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We found the member of staff who checked us in to be very helpful and friendly. We asked about an indian restaurant and he gave us directions. The premises were as expected for a backpacker hostel. The duvet smelled like it had not been washed, it didn't bother us too much as the sheet was clean and we had sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter648
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

That is horribly unfortunate. Most of the comments about Tekweni itself were very positive. Then our rating gets spoiled by obnoxious guests. I see you were with us over the holiday period and to be totally honest we went well out of our way to sift through the enquiries and put together a nice mix of peeps. Sorry we got...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#33 of 42 in Durban
78 reviews
0.7 km away
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
2.2 km away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#25 of 42 in Durban
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Gibela Backpackers Lodge
3.0 km away
Curiocity Durban
Curiocity Durban
#3 of 80 in Durban
48 reviews
37.5 km away
Ballito Backpackers
Ballito Backpackers
#13 of 16 in Ballito
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: ₹ 836 - ₹ 1,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 27* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates