We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Tekweni Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hostel is definitely an okay place to stay if you are looking for cheap or close to Florida Road. The actual hostel is not the best though unless you are looking for a party feel and not the cleanest accommodations. A couple people I was with found bugs on their bed, the bathrooms are not very clean or nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonisha13
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the member of staff who checked us in to be very helpful and friendly. We asked about an indian restaurant and he gave us directions. The premises were as expected for a backpacker hostel. The duvet smelled like it had not been washed, it didn't bother us too much as the sheet was clean and we had sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter648
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

That is horribly unfortunate. Most of the comments about Tekweni itself were very positive. Then our rating gets spoiled by obnoxious guests. I see you were with us over the holiday period and to be totally honest we went well out of our way to sift through the enquiries and put together a nice mix of peeps. Sorry we got...

Zhuhai, China
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel is known as a party place, so you can forgive its shabbiness. However the place was filthy, bedding appeared old, dirty and covered in stains and holes, floors were covered in rubbish too. We spoke to the staff who were happy to move us to another room, unfortunately this was still small, grim and definitely in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adi R
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Not a good review. Sorry you feel this way. We will have a closer look at things you pointed out but I really don't think filthy is an accurate description. You are entitled to your opinion on that however and unfortunately for us you are entitled to do it online so the entire world can see. I don't see any...

Reviewed 7 December 2016

Personally i can only say s.t. bout the dorm: It is very basic (no lockers, chairs, tables ecc.) but it is clean and the price is budget. They have a safe at the reception. Carmen and her whole crew were absolutely amazing; trustful, welcoming, hearty, helpful; nice, nice, nice! Thank You so much!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronald T
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Carmen actually showed me this review basically the day you did it. She was stoked. You definitely get us. The compliments on our staff always the best. Our pride and joy. Thanks for reviewing us. We hope to see you back very soon.

Cape Town
Reviewed 23 November 2016

The room was tiny, only a wall closet, a bed and a bin. Not even enough space for two suitcases. The ceiling had many strange spots. The room smelled a bit damp (could have been because of the weather, it was raining a lot). The sheet did not fit the mattress and it was badly stained with small holes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natascha755
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Ouch that is one terrible review. We will look into all the stuff you mentioned. Normally our staff is our strong point and believe it or not we have strong management in place.This is an isolated incident and very sorry it happened to you. Feel free to email me on info@tekwenibackpackers.co.za should you wish to discuss this further. Patrick

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Ok you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean and you have hot water. Dont expect a 5 star place. Nice bar and friendly staff the only problem was that the poeple who was also book in made noise early in the mornings and disturbed our sleep but this has nothing to do with place

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey cool review. We can see you feel us. Hope to see you back.

Reviewed 7 October 2016

First off the location is great; a stone's throw away from some good stops on Florida Road. All the staff who helped us were so friendly and relaxed, it made our visit feel more like we were dealing old friends instead of strangers. We enjoyed the evening vibe created by the pool side lighting and "chill area", as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shroomsta
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Yes yes yes. You definitely get us. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you back.

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

The location is great and close to restaurants and bars. Some of the personel is really friendly! Other ones try to sell you their tours or transport services. The place in general was clean enough, but a little bit run down. We didnt have warm water sometimes and there are 3 showers for a lot of people. So depending on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pieter2401
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Just as a matter of interest your comments aren't that bad and you did say mixed feelings. We would think that would equate to maybe 60% and not 40%. Oh well. We are open to public criticism so what can we do. Just seems to us that you liked us more than your ratings reflect.

Hluhluwe, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Thanks Thekweni Staff for always a great welcome Great atmosphere great music (thanks Wattie ) staff will show you Durban and surround will always recommend this Hostel Flrorida road is close by for your needs to relax great restaurants and Pubs

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey hey. A Teks fan. Cool! Thanks for the sensational review and we hope to see you back.

New York
Reviewed 21 August 2016

The best part of Tekweni Backpackers is their location, in Morningside area of Durban. A block away from Florida Rd, it is conveniently placed for cafés, bars, grocery stores and is a safe area to wander in. Dorms and doubles available. The facilities were likely good once but suffer from neglect and/or lack of replacements such sagging mattresses with holes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon N
Patrick M, Owner at Tekweni Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Pretty much a mixed bag. We have sorted out our beds and mattresses quite a bit since you stayed with us. Im not sure which staff you talked to but we are normally pretty good with that. We do understand how you feel though and hope to see you back.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
2.5 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#4 of 41 in Durban
1,271 reviews
3.1 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#34 of 41 in Durban
63 reviews
14.7 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 41 in Durban
410 reviews
3.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
2.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tekweni is located in the centre of Durban's hippest entertainment area : pubs, clubs, restaurants and markets are on the doorstep. It is comprised of 3 neighbouring houses, the oldest and main house built in 1896. The hostel was established in 1992 making, it one of the first five hostels in the country and the longest established in Durban. We are close to everything, only two km to the beach and town. The various types of accommodation ramble across the 3 properties. You have the choice of staying right in the middle of the action or in one of our quieter more remote rooms away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully decorated all with ceiling fans. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tekweni Backpackers Hostel

Address: 169 Ninth Avenue, Durban 4001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Price Range: ₹ 819 - ₹ 1,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Tekweni Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Tekweni Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room Number 15 is extremely small”
 of 5 bubbles natascha755, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for beds in the room on the ground floor to the right as you enter for slightly better beds.”
 of 5 bubbles anonn256, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“For a bit more privacy, ask for the flats next to the main building. More like a proper rented apartment rather than your typical hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are to the front of the house”
 of 5 bubbles GavinGrierson, 15 May 2015 | Read review
“The dorms are comfortable and clean but I wouldn't recommend room 4 as it's right by the front door.”
 of 5 bubbles RosieM942, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay