We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Somona Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Somona Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of Somona Guest House
 Click to rate
Ermelo, South Africa
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Somona Guest House is a very nice place, quiet, very clean and friendly staff are always there to assist with everything. Rose, the owner is so welcoming too. I always look forward for my next visit to Sandton for great hospitality in Somona.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaqhaweTsabedze
Rose K, Owner at Somona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Maqhawe for staying at Somona Guest house. We are looking forward to hosting you again when you are in Sandton!

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Staff was unfriendly and strange in behavior, the room was not very clean and had many things that were simply broken or just not working right. Towels were old and had started to tear. Breakfast was the worst one I had in my entire stay in South Africa (nothing to choose as common dining room only had tea and coffee,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veerle S
Rose K, Manager at Somona Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Somona guest house. We strive to give the best experience to our guests as much as possible. It is unfortunate that you did not indicate while you were here that things were not working in your room, I am sure that you would have been moved to another room. For breakfast we offer eggs, beans,...

Guarulhos, SP
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Sandton Neighborhood is one of the best places to stay in Johannesburg. Somona Guest House is a large house in a quiet street. The accommodations are great and clean with a good breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can relax in the swimming pool. Very close there is a shopping mall, transportion and restaurants. About 20 minutes on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank macatao
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Very accessible (easy walk or short taxi ride) to Sandton City but offering much better value than mainstream hotels. Staff on-site 24 hours. Good breakfast. Clean and comfortable rooms next to swimming pool. Altogether a good experience...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 375etiennem
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

I lived there for a week. It had a room with view to the pool. The whole guest house is extremely clean and looked after. All rooms were swabbed every day. Breakfast is great and made according your wishes. After the seventh day I would wished for a variety. The highlight is the staff, very friendly, helpful and the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Good place to stay. Friendly and helpfull staff. Mall and food facilities just round the corner. I will stay here again If come next time to Joburg. Safe and quiet location close to Sandton Convention Centre and Sandton Hall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 47volodymyr
Coimbatore, India
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Best place to stay peacefully,breakfast is nice.Location little bit far from sandton train station but Uber will help us to reach Just 22Rand.Clean and safe guest house.I would like to stay during my next visit also.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank karthik597
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I stayed in Somona Guesthouse for two nights and I really enjoyed my stay. It is a very quite place with good service, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were basic but tasty and more than enough to kick a start for the day. The only downside I see is that the main road closes at night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ritadayoub
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I appreciated my stay at Somona Guest House. Good location if you want to do shopping in Sandton. Restaurant and bar at 1 minute by foot of the house. Quiet neighbourhood for a relaxing night. Breakfast simple but good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nananis114
johannesburg
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Somona house has been a saviour or me over the past 10 years or so! whenever I have overseas guest I know I can relay on DeDe or Rose and the warm hearted staff to put up with sometimes demanding guests!! it is clean, safe, friendly and know about being at service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samara1Johannesburg

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
1.2 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
2.5 km away
The Dorr Guest House
The Dorr Guest House
#34 of 73 in Sandton
2 reviews
0.3 km away
Seven Streams B&B
Seven Streams B&B
#5 of 73 in Sandton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Somona Guest House

Address: 118 10th Street | Parkmore, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: ₹ 3,466 - ₹ 4,512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somona Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Somona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somona Guest House Sandton, Greater Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Somona Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room next to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles MaqhaweTsabedze, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“there are different size room and not all have showers, but baths.”
 of 5 bubbles samara1Johannesburg, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
2 of 2