We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

900 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visit Johannesburg two to three times a year and nearly always stay at the Balalaika. The staff are warm, friendly and attentive. It's a bit sad to see some of the veterans retire - but goes to show that they look after their staff since some have been there decades. Food options are very good, (you must try the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoFo74UK
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms are a little dated and tired but are clean and comfortable with a good shower and bed. The terrace and 2 pool area are delightful and The Bull Run restaurant attached to the hotel serves good food with attentive service. Staff are helpful and friendly. There are loads of great restaurants to choose from at the nearby Mandela...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
Barbados
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel is generally located a bit on the older side it could use some upgrading, however very close the Mall and other ammenties which makes it very good for tourists to the city. Staff at front desk are very helpful kudos to Jessica at the front desk awesome service !!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 513IslandGirl
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear “513IslandGirl” Your feedback on ‘TripAdvisor’ is much appreciated. We are delighted about your compliments and we will certainly congratulate Jessica and our Front Desk STAFF that you commended for their exemplary service. As mentioned we are located in the “heart of Sandton", with Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square and the Gautrian Station, just down the road and we...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I was working with construction at 7 am. I had traveled a long distance and was exhausted. The room service was bad and this is definitely not a Marriott standard hotel. The manager was unapologetic! At 8 am I asked to be moved as it was impossible to sleep. They moved me to another building so I had to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rryan1world
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear "Rryan1world" Thank you very much for your review on ‘TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. I am saddened to hear / read that you had such a disappointing stay, with regards to your experience with noise that disturbed your sleep and room service. Please be assured that your concerns...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After an unpleasant episode that led me to not give the maximum rating in the last stay, this time everything went well. I have been choosing this hotel for its great location in Sandton, close to Mandela square and close to Gautrain station. Also because it has cozy outdoor spaces and good pool and the rooms are comfortable, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JmaElias
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear "JmaElias" Thank you for your candid review on TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. So good to hear that you had time to enjoy our amazing and beautiful outdoor gardens and pool areas,...

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night at the hotel after a safar and before boarding Rovus Rail. The hotels is large with an old fashioned feel. The rooms were good but seemed like a mike from reception! The bar needs renovation so we went straight to the resturant for dinner. We sat outside and had great service and excellent food. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank panamamike2016
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear “panamamike2016” Thank you very much for your candid review on ‘TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. How wonderful that you enjoyed our “old-world charm”. We have a large property that spreads overs two sections, with oasis like gardens and outdoor pools. In taking great care in our colonial hotel...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Location away from the rather unsafe area of downtown Jo'burg. Very spacious room. Adequate gym area, 2 outdoor swimming pools which we didn't use because they were not very clean. Hotel receptionists were more than happy to accommodate our requests for 2 beds in a double room, early check-in, currency exchange, advice on safaris, tours and other places to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mobutt786
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear "mobutt786" Thank you for your candid review on TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. Yes our location is superbly set in the heart of Sandton. JSE is on our doorstep, and down the road is Nelson Mandela Square and the Sandton Gautrian Station. One of our key priorities is...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have given Balalaika Sandton 2 stars for the wonderful staff members plus the proximity to Sandton City. And the Country/Colonial style, would agreeably be perfect in this location. As it stands, we found this Marriot Hotel generally tired, musty and lacking maintenance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra5A
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear "522riDebra5A" Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. We are located in the hub of the business district and our location is superbly set in the heart of...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Big and very comfortable bed. The room is big and clean. All services were fine. Breakfast is good, nothing more. They have a shuttle service to the Mandela Square that helped me a lot. Also the proximity to the Gautrain is very important.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruno A
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear "Bruno A" Thank you very much for your candid review on ‘TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. As mentioned we are located in the “heart of Sandton", with Sandton City and Nelson Mandela Square and the Gautrian Station, just down the road and we offer a complimentary shuttle to...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As a regular Protea Hotel guest, I have become used to critical observations of management and staff competence...and the Balalaika Protea seems to have improved consistently, in recent years. Rooms are comfortable and clean, dining options are varied and tasty; while parking and other services are professionally managed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill434
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review

Dear "Bill434" Thank you for your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor’, of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to our team. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. So good to hear that you had time to enjoy some options of our tasty menus and that...

258 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sandton
852 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#12 of 49 in Sandton
1,142 reviews
1.0 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#24 of 49 in Sandton
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: ₹ 5,667 - ₹ 12,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to try and get a room nearer to the top pool or lobby. It's a bit of a trek back if your key stops working.”
 of 5 bubbles JoFo74UK, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose one close to reception if you have any disabilities”
 of 5 bubbles panamamike2016, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room adjacent to the gardens; quiet and scenic.”
 of 5 bubbles Bill434, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms far away from the lift are better”
 of 5 bubbles ogutud, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Close to a train station and hop on hop off bus tour location”
 of 5 bubbles 522rick, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay