We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

HolidayInn.comUS$ 112*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 143*
US$ 112*
US$ 143*
US$ 112*
US$ 143*
US$ 112*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
See the most recent reviews
Showing 560: English reviews
London
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Get only minor complaint first ..Shower not powerful enough..that's it...great location , staff amazing , clean , modern, food excellent ! Everything you want , nothing was to much trouble , I recommend here 100% ! Try out the sky bar and pool on the 9th floor great views

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
GRHIS, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Mathew H, Thank you very much for the great feedback. The staff and management really take exceptional interest in their guests to ensure they have a memorable stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon. Thank you Annisha Hoosain Guest Relations Manager

Vigo, Spain
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I stayed for extended periods in the hotel during the first half of 2015. There were a couple of minor glitches but we always found the staff to be extremely attentive, friendly and welcoming, especially those on reception and in the dining area. The manager is very focused on the customers and we really appreciated all the small touches from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ga11ego_Ingles
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Murray H, Thank you so much for your great feedback. The staff truly value our guests and we take exceptional pride in ensuring that our guest have a memorable stay. I will forward your message to our Executive Chef regarding the dinner. We look forward to hosting you again very soon. Regards Annisha Hoosain Guest Relations Manager

Taiwan
Reviewed 9 December 2015

The location is fine. The rooms are nice. The breakfast is excellent. The decor and facilities are also excellent. However, I waited a long time to check in because the staff moved so slowly with the two other people that were checking in when I got there. My room was adjacent to construction and they wouldn't let me switch rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy E
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Jimmy H, Thank you for your feedback. My sincere apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. The reason we could not move you to another room is because we were running on high occupancy. As a standard, we do move guests to quite rooms once the rooms become available. I sincerely hope that you would...

Lusaka
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chisanga C
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Reviewed 20 November 2015

I am an IHG Platinum member and hence staying in Holiday Inn is a common thing . However this Holiday Inn was one of the poorest in quite a few hotels I have stayed in . I stayed for a day in November for a business transit through Joberg . The rooms are small and there is construction going on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aveek R
GRHIS, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Aveek R, Thank you for your constructive feedback. As a IHG Platinum member I would like to inform you that we do value you as a guest at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the noise levels you experienced. Please note that it is hotel standard practise to ask guest to take a pre-authorization on your credit card....

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

One of the more expensive hotels on the strip Terrible food Small and old rooms Tiny gym Service of staff really not great. Rather stay at one of the other hotels on the strip for significantly less. Raddison or Maslow much better

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaco B
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Jaco B, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I sincerely apologize that your recent stay with us was not up to your standard. The staff and management constantly strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay. I would appreciate it if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you back so that...

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I recently hosted my 30th Birthday party at this hotel and my guests and I had an awesome time. The team was outstanding, Nandi, Lars, Phillip and the team on the evening all went the extra mile to make my special event memorable. We also had a few rooms booked and everything was in great working condition. I loved the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stormm289
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Storm289, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such great feedback. I was pass on the message to Lars, Nandi and Phillip. We constantly strive to make all our guest stay memorable. I look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Regards Annisha Hoosain Guest Relations Manager

France
Reviewed 9 November 2015

I stayed one night at Holiday Inn and I must say I was blown away by the warm welcome from the porters and the receptionists. My check-in was quick and efficient. I had booked a standard room and was upgraded to an Executive Suite. Room was spacious, comfortable bed and a large bathroom with bath and shower. I had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MP702015
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear MP702015, Thank you for taking the time to give us such an amazing review, much appreciated. I will definately pass the message onto the rest of the staff. The Skye Bar a popular spot for sundowners after a hectic day. Our guest realy enjoy the convenience of the free shuttle bus. Looking forward to hosting you again very soon!...

Reviewed 6 November 2015

The main reason I am writing this review is that the single glazed window in my room looks directly over a huge construction size which is being excavated every morning. At 6am there starts a loud cacophony of jack hammers, truck engines and the sound of rubble being dropped into tipper trucks. So I get waken up at 6am every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 41278c
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear 41278c, Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. It is disheartening to know that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us due to the issues you had with our facilities and the noise challenges you experienced. Kindly note that we do not take light of your comments. We have shared your feedback with our...

Ongwediva, Namibia
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

My experience with the hotel is one of the best ones. Clean and strategically locared. Adjacent construction is temporary and I didn't mind the little noise in the morning. I shall definitely recommend it to my friends and colleagues. Keep it up. I'm a happy customer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ailwa
GRHIS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Dear Ailwa, Thank you very much for the positive feedback, much appreciated. The staff and management at Holiday Inn strive to constantly ensure that our guests have a memorable stay. We looking forward to hosting you again in the near future. Regards Annisha Hoosain Guest Relations Manager

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (43)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 48 in Sandton
1,244 reviews
0.8 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 48 in Sandton
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: ₹ 5,426 - ₹ 10,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
9 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
11 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look if any construction is going on close to the hotel and choose your accordingly.”
pckale, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“For view choose room on the reception side”
, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the construction side.”
MichaelF536, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the side that does not face the construction site.”
ns149, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room facing away from the construction.”
louiss650, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
HolidayInn.com
US$ 112* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 112
Hotwire.comUS$ 112
HotelQuicklyUS$ 143
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates