We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 538: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great experience and the front desk staff accommodated me and really understood and helped us settle in despite the unfortunate part of Hilton . Hilton may loose a good customer. Thanks to MARONE made us so comfortable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that the staff was accommodating and that you had a good stay. Your comments have been passed onto to Marone. I trust we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Dudu Zondo Front Office Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

I was there for one night on 20 Feb 2017. Room 817. I went to the sky bar. There was no waiters so we had to get our own drinks. There were three prostitutes in the bar that made the rounds with the customers. Breakfast was cold and the kitchen ran out of eggs. The rooms however was nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kuben p
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Kuben p, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Sandton Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant management team and this...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a week. Overall it is a good hotel. The staff is at times a bit ineffective, but always friendly and helpful. The hotel is suffering a little from "wear and tear", but the overall appearance is good. I liked my room with a very decent writing desk. The TV was very high quality, although at times,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stein M
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Stein M, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we value and appreciate you doing so. Your comments and feedback has been noted and passed onto the relevant departments, as feedback from guests such as yourself allow us to improve our service delivery. I hope you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was good and the location was excellent if you're doing business in Sandton. My only gripe was that my room overlooked the construction site of 19 Rivonia and when I stayed there were casting concrete into the night. Food was great, too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antas17
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Antas17, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us well as the food, and found the location to be convenient. Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the construction that went on into the night, we always endeavour favourable room allocation, but this is not...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and welcoming front office staff. Good linen quality and bedsheets (standardized). Good and fast laundry service. Breakfast has good variety of choices. Unfortunately a huge construction is taking place next to the hotel, which might be disturbing depending on the floor or the side where the room is located. (Use earplugs). Shuttle service is provided to Mandela's Square and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saad T
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Saad T, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the construction site, we always endeavour to have favourable room allocation, but this is not always the case, I am glad the ear plugs that you were given...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great hotel, very central with hourly bus to Sandton City. All the usual nice thing apply to this hotel, nice rooms, good food and very central but the thing that stands out are the people. Great people make great businesses and all the staff were wonderful, very friendly and nothing was too hard. Thank you Fwat Hu,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul J
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Paul J, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments have been passed onto the team- especially Fhatu, Chuene, Thelma and the Busi the chef and Alfread. Their joy was clearly visible as we always strive to ensure guests such as yourself always feel at home and...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a standard business not unlike others in the Sandton area. It has a bit of an old-fashioned, "classic" look but it is fully functional both in terms of rooms and meeting rooms. Food is also standard - a little monotonous in workshops but the à la carte menu in the restaurant is varied enough. Good attention to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tiziana Z
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Tiziana Z, Thank you fr taking the time to post your review, we truly value and appreciate this. Your comments regarding the food as well as the towels have been passed onto the chef and as well as the housekeeping manager and these will be looked into and addressed. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Why would you stay in a place if you cannot sleep in the room, food is below average with very limited range of cuisine for an international chain and worse of all very poor internet speeds that don't let you do video calls or even see Facebook video without buffering interruptions! A big construction is going on next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manish R
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Manish R, Thank you for your candid review, we appreciate all feedback- both positive and not so positive. I am disappointed to read your comments as we always endeavour favourable room allocation, but i can see from your review this was not the case. Please accept my apologies as I see that your stay was not a pleasant...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The advantage of this hotel is the proximity with Nelson Mandela Square. As we stayed for only one night, it was ok. But I booked one room to 4 adults with one queen bed and one sofa bed. Ok, both were there when we arrived, but, when we opened the sofa, the size of the bed was not sufficient to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen P
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Carmen P, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we truly value and appreciate this. Please accept me apologies with regards to the mix up with your room type. I am glad you found our location convenient I trust you will afford us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is fine. The facilities are fine (I was staying there for a 2-day workshop) if a bit predictable and conventional. The food (I only had room service) was also just fine, nothing special. My room was fine, again nothing out of the ordinary but everything worked and I had no complaints. What made it special for me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichardHarriman
FOM_HIS, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review

Good day Mr RichardHarriman, Thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review, we truly value and appreciate this. Your comments have been passed onto the team, as we always strive to ensure that every guest enjoys their stay with us, and we are glad that we could do this for you. I sincerely hope that you will...

215 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#12 of 49 in Sandton
1,170 reviews
0.9 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#25 of 49 in Sandton
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Price Range: ₹ 6,619 - ₹ 11,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cape Town, South Africa
6 months ago
Mutare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room on the opposite side of the construction site, and if you plan on working: One with the large desks.”
 of 5 bubbles 770steinm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not overlook the construction site.”
 of 5 bubbles Antas17, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“High floor if on the construction side or any other side of the hotel”
  • TV
  • Single/Twin bed
  • Sink and amenities
  • View and construction
  • Shower
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles STahboub, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher up to avoid building and traffic noise”
 of 5 bubbles pauljC1065HZ, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room doesn't face the construction site”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5