We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Roodepoort

PricelineUS$ 109*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 154*
US$ 109*
Great Deal
US$ 129*
US$ 126*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Roodepoort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had made a internet booking Upon arrival we were told they had cancelled out booking, despite us completing all necessary documentation They had apparently been fully booked and had overbooked. The lack ethics and apology that they displayed was astounding We checked into the town lodge not far away Staff in arrival was awesome, despite us just walking in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reddydesiree
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear reddydesire, I would like to apologize sincerely for my delayed response and assure you that I take full responsibility. You are indeed correct that you booking was received well in advance. We again take full responsibility for having to move you to our neighbor hotel. I can assure you that we have strengthened our procedures with regards to confirming...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Really good place to stay. Well located with a Spur Restaurant next door.Ample spacious parking with 24 hour security. Accommodation is awesome, modern rooms, tea/coffee, fridge in room, free wifi, flat screen TV. Restaurant has a nice deck outside. Food is nice, variety buffet. Bar opened till late.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HiltonGanesen
Reviewed 22 August 2016

I recently stayed at this Protea for there nights while visiting Jhb. Although it is a little dated my room was nice and clean, a good size and very quiet. I did not use any hotel facilities but we had breakfast at the Spur which is attached to the hotel. The staff were super friendly, very accommodating and generally very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenL1965
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We booked one room for a family of 4. Upon arrival there were only 2 towels. After various phone calls to reception and eventually leaving our room to ask for towels at reception,we finally received towels. When informing reception that we didnt have hot water,she responded that we probably didnt know how to operate the tap. 😲😲😲😲😲 We were too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stellavm
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Stellavm. Thank you for taking the time to communicate your feedback to us. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and the discomfort that that was caused to you. We regret the unacceptable service you received at our hotel. You are indeed correct that should the room be booked for four GUESTS we need to cater accordingly....

England
Reviewed 7 May 2016

I had a very pleasant stay here last week.. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms were clean and well-maintained. The restaurant has a good range of dishes, and the breakfasts had a wide choice of delicious foods, ranging from the full cooked breakfast, fruits, yogurts, cereal, cheese, ham etc Despite the busy roads nearby, the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JimboAndCoco
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear JimboAndCoco, We were delighted to receive your commendations about the impressive service offered. GUEST perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with us is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. I should, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback Please be...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Colleagues and I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions in the last two months. Whilst the rooms are a little dated - but redesign and refurbishment are on the cards for later this year - the warmth of the welcome and attentiveness of the staff cannot be faulted. Nothing is too much trouble and any problems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Gillian B. Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback on your recent stay with us. Meeting and exceeding GUESTS' expectations can only be achieved through efficient and friendly, personalized service. We will make sure we commend the TEAM for their excellent service. As discussed with you personally, it is indeed correct that our design TEAM...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

As much as big corporates and large chain operations want to believe and aim to get “the coke to taste the same” at all branches it very seldom is the case. However, I do believe they getting it right at Protea Roodepoort as reception is friendly, alert and ensure a rapid check-in. Have stayed here a number of times because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christelle S
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Christelle S, Thank you for your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Roodepoort. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience for all our GUESTS travels. We have shared your feedback with the hotel TEAM to ensure they continue to meet and exceed GUESTS expectations. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve...

Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is probably not one of those you would put among the "must go back" ones. Rooms are pretty basic, no wardrobe, no complimentary water, room key that stopped working three time in four days, there is often bad smell in the corridors... But if the hotel itself should probably need one star taken off the declared 3, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlbertNijn
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear AlbertNijn, I refer to the feedback you kindly sent to us after your recent stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback is viewed in a serious light. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. It is correct that we offer only standard rooms with an open...

Italy
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel seemed good but after our arrival, we had bad surprises!! The hair dryer was out of order, I stayed wit my wet hair waiting for service and they arrived after two hours!!! No iron in room... Empty and dirty chiller in the room and no international channels in TV... Nothing to do in spare time, no pool, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pattykiari1980
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear Patrizia G, I refer to the feedback that you kindly sent after your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and the inconvenience that was caused to you.We wish to assure you that your feedback about your service experience at Protea Hotel Roodepoort is viewed in a serious light. We have noted your comments...

Reviewed 18 February 2016

nice hotel, nice people, nice room. no complaints. Good location near highways. Parking in the evening a problem though, due to Spur resturant next door.Breakfast was nice, good menu, could use a few more DSTV channels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mohamedallie
Thabo R, General Manager at Protea Hotel Roodepoort, responded to this review

Dear mohamedallie, Thank you for such a wonderful feedback. We apologize for the delayed response. We are delighted to have hosted you recently. We have communal parking which we share with Spur Patrons, our security personnel are always alert to ensure that the hotel GUESTS get preference to park near the hotel at all times, we will once again communicate...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roodepoort
0.4 km away
Town Lodge Roodepoort
Town Lodge Roodepoort
#2 of 2 in Roodepoort
25 reviews
8.3 km away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
37 reviews
15.0 km away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Palm Continental Hotel - Johannesburg
8.6 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
14.1 km away
Road Lodge Southgate
Road Lodge Southgate
#37 of 68 in Johannesburg
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel Roodepoort - modern comfort you can afford. The Protea Hotel Roodepoort is ideally located in the West Rand, connected to the major business parks and head offices. Let everything go after a busy day whilst overlooking a beautiful lake and gazing at the lovely views of the city to the east and Magaliesburg to the west. Mix business with pleasure - make the most of your trip and visit some of the many attractions in the area. Get in touch with your roots with a trip to the Cradle of Humankind, and then explore your wild side at the Lion Park. Other sites nearby include Soccer City Stadium, Monte Casino and the Witwatersrand Botanical Gardens. The hotel has easy access to the N1, providing easy access to Greater Roodepoort, Krugersdorp, Sandton, Soweto and Johannesburg CBD. Roodepoort also has a busy business centre, with a large variety of shopping centres for guests to choose from; perfect for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Roodepoort

Address: corner of 14th Avenue & Hendrik Potgieter Street | Weltevreden Park, Roodepoort 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Roodepoort
Price Range: ₹ 4,525 - ₹ 8,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Roodepoort 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Protea Hotel Roodepoort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Roodepoort Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Roodepoort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Roodepoort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a different hotel instead”
sharonmW9823QL, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Get a room facing the lake, away from the motorway.”
StevenL1965, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ground floor”
mohamedallie, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face the busy intersections.”
KiloDelta65, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms are qreat, we stayed on the 3rd floor. Very quiet.”
MadeleinB_12, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 109* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 129
Hotels.comUS$ 126
CancelonUS$ 154
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates