We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield
See the most recent reviews
Showing 105: English reviews
Lusaka
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We were booked at the Protea Hatfield for a one day meeting but I stayed there for 4 nights as I was part of the organising team. Protea Hatfield is right in the heart of Hatfield, Pretoria and is conveniently located and right across from Hatfield Plaza which has a Pick N Pay supermarket, a few restaurants, a bank and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PreciousM474
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Mutemwa, Thank you for taking time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. As a valued GUEST, we are always striving to deliver the best service and service offering. I am disappointed that we did not live up to your expectation regarding the service offering. We don't like GUESTS having the wrong impression about what...

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend at the hotel and it was very pleasant! The standard king room is comfy and super clean. Everything was wonderful. This is my favorite hotel in town and I recommend. You have many choices of places to eat and you have hatfield plaza for a quick shopping

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neiva Denise B
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Neiva, Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad that we were able to ensure you had a lovely stay and not only meet but exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future! Kind Regards, Paulina Wehmeyer Rooms Division...

Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Staff well trained I enjoyed my dinner not to mention breakfast the front desk staff are so on point they give me more than enough information and always welling to help and help. Wow my bed was always made up and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tshidi L
PH-Hatfield, Rooms Division Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Phumudzo, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel Hatfield. As a Valued Customer, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

The staff at the Reception desk were friendly and very helpful. It took only 5minutes to check in. The room was clean and comfortable. Location is good. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance and the Gautrain is less than 1km away. I only stayed one night, but I had a good experience and got a good nights rest....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilchard
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Dilchard, Thank you for commenting on your recent experience at Protea Hotel Hatfield. We pride ourself in the quality of service we provide our GUESTS, being efficient and curtious is very important in the hospitality industry. We are delighted to hear that your interaction with the STAFF was positive and that you experienced our "fresh" rooms. Location and accessibility...

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel was comfortable and well maintained. The breakfast was rather average though. It's is really well situated in close proximity to the university and the Hatfield Plaza. Both of which are within walking distance. The area being a student center is rather noisy over weekends, but the rooms are pretty well insulated.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaldon N
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Shaldon N, Thank you for taking time to share your experience, your feedback is much appreciated and highly valued. Protea Hotel Hatfield prides itself in it appearance and believes that a good first impression is a lasting one. I will most definitely credit our maintenance TEAM for the effort they put in to keep the property sparkling. We believe...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Room was smelly from the drains in the bathroom. The air con didn't work in the middle of a heatwave (temperatures were over 40 degrees Celsius). On top of that there were people screaming at each other in the corridor ALL night. I would NOT recommend this establishment to anyone. Stay Away!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tum007
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Tum007, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write the above review, your feedback is highly appreciated. I want to start off by apologising for the smelly drain and for the air-conditioning that did not function properly in your room. Your experience does not reflect the normal level of facilities our GUESTS usually praise us on...

Tirana, Albania
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Recently stayed here for a week on business. Hotel staff, especially the morning crew, were friendly and very competent. The room was small but cozy. Hallways were hot and smelled of paint but that was probably due to recent work. For our purposes, the location was excellent. I would strongly consider staying here again when work brings me back this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattalbman
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Mattalbman, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write the above review, your feedback is highly appreciated. Protea Hotel Hatfield prides itself in the quality of our service and the friendliness of our STAFF, we take on everything with a ‘can do’ attitude, striving to make our valuable GUESTS feel as comfortable as possible, it is...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Although the staff was very friendly, the location was just average. We were disappointed in the quality of the air conditioner and the bed. It never got really cool in the room. The bed was hard and not comfortable. And the noise level went from OK to loud. We will not stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamSuBa
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Trooper2-12, Thank you for taking the time to write the above review on your last stay at our establishment. Protea Hotel Hatfield prides itself in the quality of our service and the friendliness of our STAFF, we take on everything with a ‘can do’ attitude, thank you for making mention of this. We are sorry to hear that your...

Port Shepstone, South Africa
Reviewed 12 November 2015

rooms are comfortable enough with all the usual amenities. Wi-Fi was a bit dodgy in different parts of the room. At the desk as opposed to around the bed. First morning of breakfast for me was Saturday. Egg frying area was abandoned from time to time making it difficult to be served timeously. This did improve subsequently. Dining area is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vpather
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear vpather, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write the above review, your feedback is highly appreciated. Although our rooms are perceived as small it is big on value and comfort, we are delighted to hear that you appreciated what we had to offer. Please accept our apologies for the WIFI connectivity issues and breakfast tardiness...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

In the heart of hatfield Pretoria, this hotel is a great value for money. Clean and spotless, safe parking, comfortable with very safe entry and exit procedures. Smart cards are used in elevators to access rooms. You would certainly not have fear over safety. However, rooms are not equipped with a fridge, paid tv channels are not local channels. Why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dk T
PH-Hatfield, General Manager at Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield, responded to this review

Dear Dk T, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We take the good with the bad and appreciate all your comments. Our goal is to always provide a clean, convenient and secure environment for all our GUESTS and I’m very happy to hear that you appreciated what we had to offer. Thank you for making...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Manor
0.3 km away
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
City Lodge Hotel Hatfield
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
87 reviews
4.2 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
4.6 km away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#23 of 73 in Pretoria
109 reviews
3.1 km away
Premier Hotel Pretoria
Premier Hotel Pretoria
#18 of 73 in Pretoria
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sophisticated Pretoria accommodation. Protea Hotel Hatfield is situated in the trendy and upmarket suburb of Hatfield. Ideally positioned close to tourist attractions, business centres, shopping malls, embassies and sports stadiums. What more could a business or leisure traveller ask for? It also offers easy access to a host of entertainment venues and restaurants in Pretoria, as well as the Union Buildings and University of Pretoria. The Protea Hotel Hatfield comprises 119 contemporary rooms, designed to offer fashionable yet comfortable accommodation in Hatfield. Every room offers en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning, colour LCD televisions, Wi-Fi connectivity and secure digital safes. Bring the kids and take advantage of babysitting services and a 24-hour reception desk, or enjoy satellite TV channels and the bar facilities. As a central hotel in Pretoria, the Protea Hotel Hatfield is located within walking distance of leading attractions and landmarks in Pretoria. These include the University of Pretoria, Loftus Versveld sports stadium and the Hatfield Gautrain station, as well as bus routes and 24-hour medical centres. Enjoy easy access to all major roads and highways, as well as to O.R. Tambo Airport and the city of Johannesburg. Whatever your reason for travelling to Pretoria, you could not ask for a more perfect location for your Hatfield accommodation requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield

Address: 1141 Burnett Street, Pretoria 0083, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Hatfield)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Price Range: ₹ 3,293 - ₹ 7,326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
maine
6 months ago
Zaria, Nigeria
2 months ago
Zaria, Nigeria
2 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Pretoria Hatfield staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the upper floors are quieter as they are far from the noise on the busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles joyce_buthelezi, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms more to the backside of hotel not experiencing a lot of the noise levels.”
 of 5 bubbles 641carelr, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“request rooms away from the elevators and as higher floor as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles Marie_Holdy, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“quiter room”
 of 5 bubbles coniraswi, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I had no problem with the accomodation. Sadly Breakfast is not included in the tarrif”
 of 5 bubbles 558lesleyn, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5