We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Vineyard Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Vineyard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,082: English reviews
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Slightly off the main tourist track, the Vineyard is a genteel oasis in the leafy suburb of Newlands. There is plenty of attention to detail at the overall superb hotel. The breakfast is sumptuous, and the hotel's two restaurants are both fine dining establishments in their own right. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrewmbnl
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andre Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and taking the time to share them. Warm regards Roy Davies

Reviewed 10 September 2015

The Vineyard Hotel is one of the great hotels of the world. I have stayed in many cities and the Vineyard is very special. The rooms facing the Mountain are a must for a super view. Breakfast is one of the best you can get anywhere. The Staff are clear well trained. Three of the staff i spoke to had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter D
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Vineyard. The Vineyard is indeed special to us too, and in many cases, that is why we have so many staff that have been here so long. The benefit, is they remember so many of our guests, which of course, keeps our guests coming back. Please visit us...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 7 September 2015

This is a super hotel for both business and tourist accommodation. The rooms are very well appointed with everything you could want including fine linen and even a Nespresso machine. The view from my room onto the Newlands side of Table Mountain was great. The various restaurants serve a fine fare and the gardens make for a relaxing atmosphere. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterGrobler
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter Thank you for your kind words, we are so happy you were comfortable in your room and enjoyed the views. I am pleased to share that as I write we are completing a full overhaul of the hot water system, employing technology that may very well be a first in South Africa. We have not had any reports...

Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 4 September 2015

The gardens are just magnificent. We were very disappointed in our meat platter but the setting just made it all ok. The hotel was under renovation but that didn't interfere with my enjoyment of being there. Was a bit frustrated with reception - as I had guest meeting me for breakfast and I had told reception exactly where I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn Thank you for your feedback – we are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our gardens. We are sorry to hear about your meat platter – could you let us know if you raised this with any of our team mangers or staff on duty? We have addressed miscommunication around your breakfast meeting with our...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 September 2015

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were treated with smiles and welcomes from all the staff throughout the hotel. Our check in was fast and efficient. We booked a standard double room with garden view, and what a lovely room it was- very spacious with a large bathroom with a free-standing shower. The bed was large and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherylT166
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl Thank you for your lovely feedback! We are especially thrilled to hear that our team made such an impression. We are happy to hear that your room served as a ‘home from home’ with features to make sure you were truly comfortable. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your patio and views of the garden...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Excellent service Serene and peaceful surroundings Immaculately kept gardens Hotel has recently been refurbished since my last visit - now very well presented I took the businessmans special and even the price was a pleasant surprise I will definitely be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TLC_4play
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback – we are so happy we could offer you a peaceful escape in the suburbs, and that you noticed our recent upgrades. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Many thanks. Roy Davies

Reviewed 27 August 2015

From the minute we arrived we felt at home, genuine service, lovely room and overall a superb experience, can't wait to return next January. The gardens are truly spectacular with views of Table Mountain, sitting on the terrace eating 'continental breakfast' was a treat in itself. Service was courteous, if a little haphazard at time (but hey this is Africa)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kath O
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kath Thank you for your kind words – we are so happy to hear that we were able to make you feel at home, and are excited to welcome you again in January! Are you coming for the Cricket? As you’ll be returning in peak summer, we hope you will have a chance to enjoy the swimming pool, and...

Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Whether you are in Cape Town for pleasure or business Vineyard offers an excellent atmosphere. I was on a business trip and stayed in one of the 02 bed room cottages with my family (wife and 02 kids). The family had an excellent time in and around this Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aamir A
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aamir Thank you so much for your kind words – we are thrilled to have offered you and your family the perfect mix of business and leisure. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Many thanks. Roy Davies

New York City, New York
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Just spent one week at the Vineyard, one of Cape Town's loveliest and oldest hotels. The hotel has been updated a great deal over the years so that it's an elegant combination of very modern and historic- mixed together quite uniquely. Breakfasts are phenomenal, the grounds are gorgeous - featuring elaborate gardens and river walks along the Liesbek river. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voetsek74
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback – we are so happy to have hosted you for a week. We are glad to hear that you were able to start your day on the right foot with the help of our breakfast and that you managed to find our vineyard! We’ve recently bottled the 2014 vintage of Sauvignon Blanc...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

I stay here every year and it gets better and better. The staff are very helpful and very friendly and are always approachable for a conversation. I had a room towards the mountains and it is just breath taking to wake upto every morning. The food is award winning especially the beef fillet and the wine list is to die...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woody8276
Roy_Davies, General Manager at Vineyard Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely feedback – we could not ask for better praise. We are so happy you were able to enjoy the views of the mountain, and that our team and food made such an impression. We look forward to welcoming you back to the city and Vineyard. Thank you again for your...

846 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (613)
Viewed
View from Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (191)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (197)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Garden View Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (5)
Viewed
Mountain View Room (32)
Viewed
Mountain View Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,571 reviews
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,377 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,912 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A preferred 4-star hotel for discerning Cape Town visitors, the Vineyard Hotel offers 207 luxury accommodation options, 2 award-winning restaurants, an acclaimed spa and fitness centre, indoor (heated) and outdoor swimming pool, free wireless internet, as well as a top-rated conference and functions venue - all set in an idyllic 7-acre garden estate on Table Mountain's eastern slopes, close to airport, city and the many delights of Africa's No 1 leisure destination. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vineyard Hotel

Address: Colinton Road (off Protea Road), Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Price Range: ₹ 10,442 - ₹ 29,687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vineyard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vineyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vineyard Hotel And Spa
Vineyard Hotel Newlands, Cape Town
Vineyard Hotel Cape Town
Vineyard Cape Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Vineyard Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“never had a bad room”
 of 5 bubbles Ianjamber, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view is much better than Courtyard room”
  • View from Mountain view room
 of 5 bubbles Joannie707, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for a Mountain Facing Deluxe room if you can, with a terrace and beautiful views”
 of 5 bubbles Shawfamily5, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 117 downstairs, one of the newly decorated rooms which was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles carolbhickman, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room 353 was very spacious & a large modern bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles PaulW111, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay