We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

AMOMAUS$ 141*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 153*
US$ 141*
Great Deal
US$ 152*
US$ 152*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

975 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 835: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
 Click to rate
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here while on lay over for next part of holiday, but was so dissapointed Check in was all fine with nice lady, then it went down hill, The room had no view except for a tin roof, number 125, get this ask to change The lights did not work properly and one sparked when switching on They offer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Redsell
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had used this hotel for our transit stay . The room is really clean and we got a very good sound sleep . One major glitch i faced was that the night desk staff was clueless about my reservations through expedia and was adamant on paying upfront amount again . I then agreed to pay him the amount (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rtneu
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Rtneu Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. One of our key priorities is to provide the highest level of friendly and courteous service. While it was a pleasure having you here as our guest, your feedback regarding the service our team provided caught my attention. I am very sorry to learn that the quality...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed overnight at the hotel and it ticked all the boxes. One major bad thing though is that the bathroom and bedroom are in the same room. The toilet is separate though.. This doesn't work. My wife slipped over when going to the door. As the water from drying from the shower is easily dripped in the path to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skye c
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear skye c Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was poor after a 15 hr flight. After 20min standing at the counter whilst the staff tried to reconcile why I had 2 bookings, I had to intervene and suggest they send me to the room and sort there mess out themselves. The room was quite good and very clean. Had everything that was required. The choice in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear David B Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. As a Valued GUEST, I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our dining outlet. With aspiration to always exceed guest expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your recent stay. Your valued feedback highlighted a number of...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Protea Marriott because of a late arrival into Johannesburg and needing to fly out in the morning. It is so convenient to OR Tambo airport. We were able to have a good rest and enjoy a leisurely breakfast before checking into the next leg of our journey. We've stayed at Protea hotels before and highly recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris20151024
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Doris20151024 Thank you so much for your lovely review on your stay with us. It was such a great pleasure to have you stay with us and we appreciate all the compliments on our service. We will most definitely share these with the TEAM to continue to motivate them in keeping up the good work. It is fantastic to...

George, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in and out was very easy via Booking.com. We only stayed 1 night. Dinner was really good. Very tasty and good choice of menu. Breakfast buffet was top notch and large selection of cold or hot breakfasts. Bed was comfy and shower pressure was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine A
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Elaine P Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations not only with service but also with our menu. As a Valued...

Nelspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is one of the new style Protea/Marriott Hotels and we very pleasantly surprised by the quality and service of the hotel. It has all the amenities for an overnight stay and offers good facilities, firm bed and an excellent dinner. It is very close to the airport and it took us only 10 minutes to arrive at departures....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenkJ717
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear HenkJ717 Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the Protea Marriott to have a convenient option between a late flight into JNB from CPT, and an early departure the next morning. As we were not traveling internationally, we were not able to book the hotel inside the airport, but this one looked just as convenient. Our flight landed around 11 pm and as we retrieved our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katepprince
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear katemplummer Thank you for your valued feedback on your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the manner in which your request was addressed, especially as there were a group of you needing transport to the Hotel. We are in the process of relooking our shuttle times but until then we can only arrange a shuttle after...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located if you need to overnight but that's it. After specifically mentioning I required a twin room in my reservation, I also asked if there were 2 beds in the room as I was checking in - I was assured there was. Arrived into a room with 1 bed, hmm. I rang reception and was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wiwi4
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear Wiwi4 Firstly thank you for your valued feedback on your stay and service you had received. It find it rather disheartening to hear that your check in experience was not up to the standard that we are proud at offering our GUESTS. It Is unacceptable that you had to request and return to reception so many times before receiving...

Londra, Regno Unito
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located very close to the airport it is a very convenient accommodation to organize day trip in the city. It is modern, the room is clean and big. The restaurant has a great selection of international dishes with a South African twist. Small but well equipped gym too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fedartuk
Anton M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review

Dear fedartuk Thank you for your review on the property. It is great to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you had especially enjoyed the rooms and the tour that was arranged for yourselves. We do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg. Kind...

393 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (261)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (132)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,936 reviews
0.8 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
1.1 km away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1.2 km away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport - Best Location, Ultimate Convenience. The pristine four-star Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport is set in the heart of Kempton Park, minutes from OR Tambo International Airport, South Africa's largest airport. An aviation enthusiast's paradise, the hotel is themed around an aircraft hangar. The industrial ambiance of the hotel is felt in the polished concrete floors, steel finishes, chrome lighting and top to bottom windows. Order a cocktail at the long, steel aircraft wing that is the bar, sink into a comfortable couch and relax as you watch the aero planes cruise to the landing strip. The lounge provides a peaceful setting with WiFi access where business travellers can conduct informal meetings. Time-conscious local and international business travellers can enjoy a convenient location 35 minutes from Sandton and Pretoria and is situated 800m from the Rhodesfield Gautrain Station. Protea Hotel OR Tambo Airport offers complimentary shuttles to and from OR Tambo International Airport between 06h15 and 22h45 daily, as well as a shuttle to and from Rhodesfield Gautrain station on request. Whether you're stopping over or have an extended business stay ahead, Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport has it all - trendy pool area, funky bar and The Warehouse restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport

Address: Corner of York & Gladiator Streets | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Price Range: ₹ 5,210 - ₹ 11,579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#9 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Houston, TX USA

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 125”
Stuart_Redsell, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were on the airport side of the hotel and we didn't notice any noise.”
Doris20151024, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have to stay here, make it short and go out for dinner”
rosannes125, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Breakfast is good.”
prechiel2015, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room that does not face the airport”
110349, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$ 141* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 152
Hotels.comUS$ 152
TripAdvisorUS$ 152
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates