Margaret's Place

Margaret's Place

47 Nottingham Road Kensington, Johannesburg 2094 South Africa
Traveller (20)
                  Nice views all around
Room & Suite (27)
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 8 cottages in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Centrally positioned for easy convenience to the city centre, you can easily access the major highways, shopping centres and malls, and access the business hub of Johannesburg. Relax after a day's business in a safe and tranquil space. Restaurants and entertainment are within easy reach. Secure parking, get-up-and-go accommodation, specifically tailored for the business traveller on the move. Choose from any of the 5 units to meet your needs. King, Queen, double and single/twin beds available. Margaret's Place offers the "unit" which allows for more than one person to stay for this rate.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Outdoor fireplace
Express check-in / check-out
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Zulu

Location

47 Nottingham Road Kensington, Johannesburg 2094 South Africa
146Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 27
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jandaniel99 wrote a review Feb 2024
Davenport, Florida
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were met by Veldeen on arrival, who was extremely kind and helpful the 2 nights we spent there. Everything you need is provided in the room and small kitchen area. Only negative point was the bedding had seen better days. Otherwise very good value for money and safe location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Veldeen Louw, Inhaber at Margaret's Place
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Hello jandaniel99, thank you for your stay at our guest house and the review. We are currently busy replacing the bedding to ensure a positive experience for every guest. Best regards Martin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robertB6669JU wrote a review Jul 2020
East London, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Margaret is a super friendly and hospitable host.
Comfortable room which had everything and some extra's.
Safe location with easy access. Staff and owner make this a great place to stay.
Look forward to my next visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marianne594 wrote a review Mar 2020
Wakefield, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Margarets Place is a home from home to stay . What a pleasure to be there, Margaret and Quinton are the most honest and helpfull people you can meet. Would recommend to stay here most definatley.. Well done Margaret . Steve and Marianne. See you again soon.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place
Responded 2 Apr 2020
Thank you so much for the great review! We miss you and are really looking forward to your next trip to SA. Lots of love Margaret and Quentin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tebogo l wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The treatment is so great and the owners are so friendly with their guest..clean yard and safe place, clean rooms and well catered for.... I will definitely recommend Margaret's place to my friends if they need accommodation.. Thanks for the lovely stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Margaret Adams, Owner at Margaret's Place
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
H3184JTjessicav wrote a review Apr 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very well equipped, clean and neat.
Close to East Gate shopping mall which makes accessibility really easy and quick.
We were received in a very friendly manner and we felt at home. Cosy, comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Veldeen Louw, Inhaber at Margaret's Place
Responded 4 Apr 2023
Thank you for your positive review and the stay at our guesthouse. We are happy that you enjoyed it and would love to see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HermienLamprech wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our two night stay was amazing. The bed was very comfortable, the whole apartment was excellent. The kitchen had all supplies needed for a self-catering stay. Margaret and the supervisor were super friendly and helpful. The location is perfect with East Gate shopping centre just a short ride away. We loved spending time with their pup Leo who was such a friendly and loving fella. I can definitely recommend Margaret's place to anyone thinking of visiting JHB.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kristin H wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I only stayed her for a couple of hours before having to head to the airport at 1am, but it was a cute spot located in a quiet Johannesburg neighborhood. The one thing that I wished that I would have known before arrival is that there would be a two-hour window where they wouldn't have power due to power load sharing in the city. This forced me to stay out and about longer than I wanted to and as a result I didn't get as much rest. Overall the room was quiet and clean, the bed was nice, and the staff was helpful.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Veldeen Louw, Owner at Margaret's Place
Responded 2 Mar 2023
Hello, thanks for your stay with us and the positive review. We appreciate it and are glad that you had a good stay with us despite the load shedding. Unfortunately we don't have any influence on this issue which is happening in the whole of Johannesburg at the moment.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eschal484264 wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were all friendly. It was very relaxing and quiet. Fully equipped kitchen and the most comfortable bed. I would recommend staying here to anyone. My wife and I enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave. Good value for your money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LondonJustin wrote a review Sept 2014
london
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed as a last minute thing and wished it had been longer, the welcome was warm and the accommodation was top notch, don't go to a hotel in jozi go to a guesthouse. The beds were firm, the security was very good, good range of TV and the outdoor social areas where a plus too. Reasonable rates over hotels and a better service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place
Responded 11 Sept 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review! We thrive on helping our guests out and assisting with getting around in our city. We are looking forward to seeing you again one day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
233moniquem wrote a review Nov 2014
Kasane Botswana
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean and very friendly staff. Magarates place was beyond our expectations! Margarate is a very nice and friendly person always there when you need assistance. We will definitely come back! It was like home away from home! We loved it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MargaretAdams, Owner at Margaret's Place
Responded 7 Dec 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Margaret's Place, it was lovely to have you and your family coming to rest and relax here with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Margaret's Place
Kensington, South Africa2 contributions
Thank you for your inquiry. We do have two units available for the dates requested. These units are charged at R899 per unit per night. All units are self catering and have a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. Bookings can be made via the Margarets Place website. Regards Margaret
Addie T wrote a tip Jun 2019
Liverpool, United Kingdom82 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're stopping over for a night and don't feel like going walkabout, Debonairs Pizza are good to order from."
Read full review
Conram wrote a tip Aug 2014
Giv'atayim, Israel413 contributions126 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and get the Mbala or Khaya rooms for the great view"
Read full review
Barbara R wrote a tip Mar 2014
Melbourne,Australia89 contributions186 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the front room as it I overlooks the car park and isn't very private."
Read full review
Adam A wrote a tip Jan 2014
Pietermaritzburg31 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Khanyi had some road-noise (not cars, but people walking past) during the night, Imbali was very quiet."
Read full review
Fatima K wrote a tip Mar 2013
Vancouver, Canada53 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in Khanyi which was very comfortable for three and the walk in dressing room was enviable!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johannesburg area.
PRICE RANGE
₹3,092 - ₹3,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARGARET'S PLACE (Johannesburg) - Cottage Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Margaret's Place
Which popular attractions are close to Margaret's Place?
Nearby attractions include Rhodes Park (0.5 km) and Cathedral of Christ The King (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Margaret's Place?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Margaret's Place?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Margaret's Place?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Margaret's Place?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Margaret's Place?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ottimo Pizza and Pasta, Cut and Craft Bistro, and Gema Deli & Italiano Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Margaret's Place?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Margaret's Place?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Margaret's Place?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Margaret's Place?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, and Zulu.
Are there any historical sites close to Margaret's Place?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (6.4 km), Johannesburg Fort (5.8 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (6.9 km).
All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JohannesburgHotels near Margaret's Place
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire