10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate

10, 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041 South Africa
Traveller (65)
Breakfast delivered to our room
Dining (16)
Room in annex
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 4 boutique hotels in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE is an established, 5 Star Boutique Hotel of superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Nestled in lush, landscaped gardens, it provides gourmet cuisine and warm, South African hospitality. 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE has 12 Luxury Rooms, of which 1 is a Family Room, 2 Executive Suites, as well as an exquisite Presidential Suite, which all include Continental & Hot to-order Breakfast, flat screen TVs, full bouquet of DSTV (satellite) channels and the option of under floor heating or a fireplace. The hotel has various boardrooms and from midday guests are served our signature Deli Lunch - making it the ideal location for private affairs, events and weddings for up to 60 guests. For those seeking relaxation, the outside area allows guests to soak up the warmth of the African sun beside the sparkling pool. Evenings are enjoyed in the unique ambience of the veranda, overlooking lush landscaped gardens or indulging in a pre-dinner alcoholic drink beside a cosy fire prior to savoring 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE's renowned culinary delights. Whether it is for business or pleasure, 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE offers guests impeccable, attentive and personalized service while at all times embodying our ethos of "Gracious Living in Luxury".
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TGCSA - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Boutique

Location

10, 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate, Johannesburg 2041 South Africa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 41 out of 100
41
Johannesburg Intl Airport
19.4 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
28.7 km
See all flights
188Reviews2Q+A30Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 132
  • 38
  • 8
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lee-Ann H wrote a review Mar 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is Johannesburg's best kept secret! The rooms are spacious, ultra luxurious with an understated elegance that allows for complete relaxation. The gardens are beautiful and the perfect setting for reading a good book and the pool is stunning and heated. This hotel deserves everyone of its five stars, the service is legendary. Luke, is possible the best waiter I have ever encountered, Thandeka in reservations takes professionalism to an entirely other level and the owner Ausman is what every hotelier should aspire to His attention to detail and his care and consideration makes your stay an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: For the ultimate spoil book the Presidential Suite but all the rooms are beautiful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Companion49127347545, Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we are glad that you discovered that our hotel is Johannesburg's best kept secret! We look forward to welcoming you back again, to enjoy our spacious, ultra luxurious rooms with our beautiful garden and our stunning heated pool.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
superb luxury and effortless style in Johannesburg. Friendly staff that goes the extra mile. The Continental Breakfast was deliciously prepared. The rooms are extremely comfortable We loved the outside area and the sparkling pool, Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 10_2ND_Management, Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you for choosing 102ND Avenue Houghton Estate Hotel where we pride ourselves with 5 star service. Our staff and management are so pleased that enjoyed our breakfast, extremely comfortable rooms and our lovely pool. We look forward in welcoming you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Batia S wrote a review Feb 2020
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I couldn’t recommend this gorgeous place enough ! Exactly a year ago I got ready for my wedding at the hotel & stayed over the night .We were treated like Kings and Queens on our special day and ended off our stay with the most delicious breakfast . We went back for our one year anniversary for supper . The food & hospitality shown is just out of this world . They go over & above every expectation! We will be back every anniversary
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 10_2ND_Management, Manager at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, and we are glad that you discovered our beautiful hotel, in the heart of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back again, to enjoy the hotel and food. Happy one year anniversary! Gracious Regards, 10 2nd AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE Management and & Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roskers wrote a review Sept 2012
Cambridge, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a 1930s colonial property that has seen a few uses over the years but is now a small but very pleasant hotel. I stayed here for a couple of nights in September 2012 and could not fault the service; staff were fantastic without exception. My room, not in the main house, was fine - spacious and comfortable. The main house retains its homely charm. Sitting by the open fire during an unusual cold snap and sampling the wine list (which seems very good) was a real treat. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty; the restaurant was quiet but the quality was spot on. So this must be a good choice if staying in J-Burg, particularly if like me you like to avoid chains.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: I suspect that the rooms in the main house are even nicer than those in the annex. Pool is small...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mohamed I wrote a review Jun 2016
Benoni, Gauteng, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Salaam / Peace Be Upon You

I hope this email finds you well.

After many recommendations ,frantic raves and reviews from social media, my wife and I decided to make a reservation for dinner last night at your hotel.We saw it as an opportunity to rekindle our love and go out for a romantic Halaal fine dining experience that could be found nowhere else in Johannesburg. After putting on my best semi-formal, semi-casual, somewhat dapper, and slightly technicolour outfit, we headed off into the sunset to begin our adventure. We were greeted by a very friendly security guard at the entrance who directed us to our palace for the evening. We just could not contain our excitement as we walked rather quickly towards the hotel foyer. On arrival we were welcomed into what must have been the smallest dining hall in the world, as there were already two couples there and it was painfully quiet. I struggled to see how they could fit another two people into this awkward space. We received looks from the shocked couples that were the equivalent of "Oh no, not more people" and "They cant be serious." This had already set the scene for what would be an awkward evening with something sounding like 702 talk radio playing quietly in the background. I believe Derek Zoolander coined the phrase "What is this, a room for ants!!!"

The Bad

Our cheerful waiter took our order, with my wife having the soup of the day (Cauliflower and Broccoli) and I ordered the chicken samoosas on a bed of green salad. As soon as our order arrived, my samoosas were ice cold! Mother-in-laws everywhere would have gasped and even fainted had they felt the icy chill that was in these sacred edible triangles. Our waiter was nowhere in sight, so I opted to eat the ice cold samoosas due to a healthy appetite I had been building throughout the day, in anticipation for the "10 2nd avenue experience".
The dining hall continued to be extremely quiet, with all the people in the room being too afraid to utter more than a whisper, which could still be heard by all in the room. This gave everyone a sense of not being able to enjoy their romantic dining experience and rather rush through their food so as to avoid the awkward silence in the tiniest room in the world.

The Worse
Okay, so cold samoosas might have been a mistake that only happens once every 100000 times at 10 2nd Avenue. Right? Or maybe we're losing the plot here and need to understand the gourmet element of fine dining. With the starters out of the way, myself and my wife looked at each other lovingly until the main course arrived. I would have uttered a few loving words to her in that moment, but chose not to do so in the company of the two other couples which were an arms length away. Instead we let our eyebrows do all the talking, with a few signals being completely lost in translation. The ambience of the room gave one no sense of privacy and comfort. Instead it felt like having dinner in a library with a very cheeky librarian on duty. Sadly, our expectation of a unique fine dining experience had completely washed away at this point, after the gentleman at the other table sneezed the loudest and wettest sneeze I have ever heard, thus interrupting my loving stare at my beautiful wife. My eyebrows were devastated.

Finally, our main course arrived and a glimmer of hope appeared in my wife's eye. It was a similar look to the first time she had seen me after our nikkah ceremony, and the look I long yearned for. Her lamb chop dish looked absolutely divine, with all the right colours and the plate decorated to perfection. I opted for the chicken dish, which was equally impressive. Being a big man, I then started digging a little further. "Where is it?" I asked myself. My nervousness was visible, but I managed to keep my composure. The "chicken" dish had what must have been a chicken breast from a dwarf chicken (or midget, whatever little chickens are called). I searched under the pasta rice and even under my wife's lovely green mash just to make sure there wasn't another dwarf fillet hiding somewhere. But alas, I was stuck with a tender dwarf fillet that I had to chew very slowly in order to reap the full reward of the fine dining experience. Keep in mind that all of this was done in the painstakingly awkward, uncomfortable silence in the smallest dining room in the world. My photographic memory instantly became a curse, as I remembered the exact amount of money the dwarf chicken entree had cost me.

The Really Really Ugly
We opted not to have dessert as we really intended for an evening out where we could privately discuss things that couples like to discuss privately. Now, we all know how women like the bathroom. Pregnant women (my wife falling into this category) loves the bathroom even more so. For what must have been her 43rd trip the the bathroom that day, she was escorted to the bathroom by our waiter so she could, well, you know. She returned to our table, looking somewhat uncomfortable. The following conversation ensued:

Me: *whisper whisper*
Her: *whisper whisper whisper pss pss*
Me: "Really??"
Her "Ssshhh"
Me: *whisper*

I later realised that once we entered our car, what she actually meant was that there were no facilities in the bathroom for one to make istinjaa (removing of impurities by using water). No jug. No Inkomasi bottle. No water pipe. Not even a Valpre water bottle (although a VOSS water bottle would be more appropriate in relation to the price of my dwarf chicken fillet).

This is where I struggle to understand how an establishment, especially one operated by Muslim people and marketed as serving Halaal food, fails to meet the most basic need of their Muslim patrons. In my opinion this was unacceptable.

The Good
I always believe in giving credit where credit is due.

As far as the food is concerned, it tasted almost as good as my wifes food. For those of you who havent tasted my wifes food, the rating would be a solid 8.3 out of 10. I believe that this figure could definitely be improved by serving warm food, with MUCH MORE generous portions. Portion sizes are usually not a problem at establishments similar quality food at half the price of what we paid at 10 2nd Avenue. (Cough cough Calistos)

The property itself is magnificent and homely, and I would definitely recommend anyone from out of town to stay at the hotel. Convenience and halaal food will be readily available and Masjid ul Furqaan is literally down the road. In my opinion, it is also an ideal place to hide away if you're on the run from the authorities.

On to my favourite subject - the tiniest restaurant dining hall in the world. The dining area needs to be looked at urgently. As more and more people become aware of the halaal fine dining experience, an equal amount of people will end up leaving disappointed because the dining setting does not feel authentic, and does not allow people (whether couples or entire families) to feel at ease while enjoying a delicious meal.

All in all, the entire experience can be improved, especially for the prices on the menu. My next visit would be for a garden breakfast, hopefully in a more open space and in a setting that creates a unique and relaxing ambience. And who knows, maybe the gourmet samoosas won't be cold next time.

Bonus tip: Change "Starters" to "Appetizers" and "Main Course" to "Entree" on your menu. It just sounds way cooler.

The Hungry Husband
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GAVELondon wrote a review Nov 2011
London
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights before flying back to the UK. Lovely location, extremely comfortable accommodation, beautiful gardens, delicious food and friendly staff could not do enough for us. Very well placed for both the airport, Sandton and Rosebank market. I was particularly impressed by the way the hotel not only stored our luggage before our night flight but also served tea and made a room available for us to shower before we set off. We return often to South Africa and will definitely use this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Genevieve T wrote a review Sept 2012
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most perfect boutique hotel! We felt very spoiled as the service was superb, the gardens magnificent, the food luscious, and the rooms spacious and well-apponted. We will always fondly remember our stay at 10 2nd Avenue. This should be your only hotel choice in J-berg.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nökkvi N wrote a review Oct 2011
Reykjavik, Iceland
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is recommended for everyone! In the room (which I am actually in NOW!) we have a/c, very nice flatscreen with about 300 channels, free wi-fi, nice bathroom with separate shower and bath, security box. Also included is free drinks from the mini bar such as Coke, Coke Zero and Ice Tea. Every day the cleaning lady comes with biscuits and in the afternoon a lady comes with some snacks.

The swimming pool was cleaned three days this week, the breakfast is so nice! There is some buffet and then you can order omelette, full English and more.

The staff is probably the top! They do everything for you and the bar staff were awake until 3 am last night and were here this morning, so very hard-working staff!

The hotel staff also recommend everything for you if you are new to Johannesburg, just ask them to sort it out.

Thank you very much for everything!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The room no. 4, 5 have two doors one for the front and one at the back, so it is very good!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tshepo M wrote a review Oct 2011
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location and service was excellent. Great attitude!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Spencer B wrote a review Mar 2016
Cape Town, South Africa
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Extremely disappointing stay. Lots of potential but sadly needs some expert help.
The room was clean but dated. The Service was very blelow par. Arrived to a very grumpy person who did not even offer to take our bags to the room , or show us to the room. Very Basic food and drink. Was told that Muslim owner has recently bought the guesthouse. NO alcohol. NO Bacon. We were not pre warned by Booking.com that this is a non alcoholic hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Felipe_Costa_10_2ND, Director of Sales at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Responded 14 Mar 2016
Good Day Mr Spencer B Thank you for taking the time to express your dissatisfaction during your stay with us. We would like to apologise for the bad experience you had at 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE. We definitely did not deliver on our motto of Gracious Living in Luxury. Yes, we are under new ownership and as we are now a fully Halaal property we do not allow alcohol or bacon (and all pig related products) onto the property. We do look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
702madhu asked a question Apr 2017
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa10 contributions1 helpful vote
How far is the donald Gordon medical centre from the hotel.
Answer from Management 10 2nd
Johannesburg, South Africa
Correct, it is 4km away so less than 10 minutes drive. We offer a complimentary shuttle within a 5km radius, so we would be able to assist you back and forth, subject to availability. I trust this is of assiatnce.
Anne M asked a question Oct 2016
Lavington, Kenya4 contributions1 helpful vote
Does the hotel have a gym? Apart from the swimming pool, what other options are there for fitness?
Answer from Management 10 2nd
Johannesburg, South Africa
Good Day We do not have a gym at the hotel. But there is a Virgin Active gym 1.4km away, which could be a nice warm up jog, or we could transfer you with our complimentary shuttle. Good Day Shezad Thank you for sharing your review. Thank you for staying with us all these years. We are always happy to welcome you back. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Gracious Regards 10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE Management & Team
Lee-Ann H wrote a tip Mar 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa39 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For the ultimate spoil book the Presidential Suite but all the rooms are beautiful."
Read full review
darelvanwyk wrote a tip Oct 2017
Kempton Park, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I think that all the rooms would be nice. The one we had had a beautiful view on the stunning gardens"
Read full review
mybeautifulworld2017 wrote a tip Sept 2017
Lincoln, United Kingdom87 contributions38 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Did not stay over"
Read full review
Ahmed M wrote a tip Apr 2017
Krugersdorp, South Africa26 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose the Blue Themed room! Fireplace for the cold nights"
Read full review
blondy50 wrote a tip Apr 2017
Cape Town Central, South Africa10 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The room we occupied was in a corner pool side.I was shown around they have presidential suites."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johannesburg area.
PRICE RANGE
₹8,697 - ₹9,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
10 2nd avenue houghton estate hotel johannesburg
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

10 2ND AVENUE HOUGHTON ESTATE (Johannesburg) - Boutique Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Which popular attractions are close to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Nearby attractions include The Wilds Nature Reserve (1.0 km), Jeremy Stephen Antiques (1.0 km), and The Art Farm Craft Yard (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Conveniently located restaurants include Burger King, Pizza Del Forno (Killarney), and Xai-Xai Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate have airport transportation?
Yes, 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (2.9 km), Johannesburg Fort (2.7 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (2.1 km).
All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JohannesburgHotels near 10 2nd Avenue Houghton Estate
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire