We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Melville Turret Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Melville Turret Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Melville Turret Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 42: English reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I ended up at Melville Turret by accident, but I'm glad I did. The rooms are clean, well-presented and cosy, breakfast was delicious, and most importantly, Ellie went above and beyond in helping me to manage when my bag didn't arrive with me at the airport. Melville itself is a nice leafy area, and I didn't feel at all uncomfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lizzi M
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 February 2015

I stayed for 3 nights recently and the rooms were fine but my issues are with the service, if I didn't feel like they were major i wouldn't bother complaining; I arrived and was given a key to the gate, the security guard was on holiday and I had to open the gate manually, i'm not against the act of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryansdbn
JFHeymans, Owner at The Melville Turret Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I am very sorry to hear about your experience and can assure you that it is not the norm . We have many regular visitors from all over the world who come back again and again and also good feed back reports which prove otherwise. However, during the time of your visit we were operating...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 22 November 2014

I stayed two nights, and really enjoyed my stay, the guesthouse is well-located in Melville, the rooms were comfortable, clean and lovely design, staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 101volunteer
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at Melville Turret for 3 nights in late July, 2014. This was our second visit, having stayed in the Loft room back in 2011. So, this review focuses on the Loft room, we don't know much about the other rooms. We love this guesthouse and highly recommend the Loft room, which costs slightly more than a standard room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig45
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A nice place to stay in Melville. It is in a quiet end of Melville, but not far from restaurants and attractions. It represents good value. Staff are great. Room chosen was a budget room, which was small but functional. ti had a small courtyard. Everything promised was there. Staff are very helpful. It is well priced and the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seanw090
Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed in the luxury suite upstairs at the back of the premises for 10 days in winter and thoroughly enjoyed it. This room is unique, so my comments on the suite will definitely not apply to the other rooms. The suite is clean, well-appointed and very spacious. The interior design is unusual but appealing in my opinion. It has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeijingTimetraveler
Tokyo
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This place is nice. The building has a nice character and the lady at reception was nice. The only issue with room we had was ventilation was not working, so room had a bit of humid feel as shower steam does not ventilate without window door open. Also location is in suburbs so don't expect walking distance to city centre,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aftab A
Gloucester MA
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My son and I had an excellent stay at the Melville Turrett. It's a pleasant, attractive place and our room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed the walk to Melville and sampled several of the establishments there. The low-key funky Melville scene was perfect for us. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank makgloucester
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have stayed in this guesthouse in Johannesburg for 3 nights all together. It is very clean guesthouse, in better location of Jo'burg and close to Park station where most of the trains leave to travel to majority of South African cities. Breakfast and room are great with very good showers. Stay there it is great stop over in Jo'burg.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miriam b
Brasilia, DF
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was undecided between two or three guesthouses before I chose Melville Turret. I just chose it because it supposedly had air conditioner. When I arrived I saw there wasn`t. I complained in the reception about it and the lady told me that there was air conditioner only in more expensive rooms and then I answered that, in booking.com, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcelomaiocoelho
JFHeymans, Owner at The Melville Turret Guest House, responded to this review

Good evening. I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience at the Turret. I checked the description on Booking.com and notice that they do list air conditioners whereas we only have air conditioners in the more expensive rooms. I will request Booking.com to rectify this as soon as possible. I will also address the problem of the breakfast...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
1.0 km away
Blu Trea
Blu Trea
#20 of 281 in Johannesburg
105 reviews
6.1 km away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#29 of 281 in Johannesburg
77 reviews
0.0 km away
Melville Manor Guest House
Melville Manor Guest House
#5 of 281 in Johannesburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 281 in Johannesburg
161 reviews
5.8 km away
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
Lucky Bean Guesthouse
#3 of 281 in Johannesburg
246 reviews
0.0 km away
Life on 3rd
Life on 3rd
#15 of 281 in Johannesburg
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Melville Turret is a landmark building in Melville, Johannesburg and was built in 1906 by Erik van den Berg who owned a bicycle shop in downtown Johannesburg. The house is a mix of the old and new, traditional and contemporary. The guest house is very conveniently situated for visitors to Milpark Hospital, Media 24, SABC,Wits University and University of Johannesburg and within walking distance from the famous 7th Street and Bamboo Centre. We pride ourselves in our friendly service and relaxed atmosphere, whilst striving to provide the best service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melville Turret Guest House

Address: 118 Second Ave | Melville, Johannesburg 2092, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: ₹ 3,191 - ₹ 4,277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Melville Turret Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melville Turret Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check their website for options, but for luxury at an amazing price, choose the loft”
  • Private outside seating area (stoop)
  • Expansive seating, dining & kitchen area of loft apartment
  • Large king size bed in sleeping area of studio
  • View across from bathroom
  • View into bathroom which is large and well appointed
 of 5 bubbles DiscoMatt, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Access to the rooms are from the outside and when you have a downpour it may be difficult.”
 of 5 bubbles Sakkie58, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“The Loft as well worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles Craig45, 28 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Budget rooms are perfect for 1 or 2 people. Basic but comfortable. Ask for room with courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles seanw090, 1 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Ask for the upstairs suite at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles BeijingTimetraveler, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay