Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel

Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 Ormonde, Johannesburg 2159 South Africa
Traveller (209)
                  Hotel Room
Room & Suite (20)
Great Breakfast
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#12 of 79 hotels in Johannesburg
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value

Escape to an age of elegance and grandeur at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel. Located within Africa's biggest theme park, the hotel is reminiscent of an authentic turn-of-the-century mining town. Staying at the hotel also gives you free access to a multitude of fun filled attractions and entertainment in the theme park.

Please note the Theme Park is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays during Gauteng School holidays.The adjacent Gold Reef City Casino complex offers a variety of dining and other entertainment options.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Zulu

Location

Shaft 14 Northern Parkway, 2159 Ormonde, Johannesburg 2159 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Johannesburg Intl Airport
26.2 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
34.2 km
See all flights
925Reviews9Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 498
  • 257
  • 86
  • 44
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
joe2007Dorset wrote a review Feb 2023
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We started at the Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel in November, and the first noticeable and pretty unique thing about this hotel is that, unlike most theme park hotels which are outside the parks’ gates, this one is literally in the middle of the theme park. This makes it an ideal location to enjoy the park and not have to faff around with taxis, monorails or the other methods of getting into other theme parks around the world.

Entry to the park is free for hotel guests. You go the reception every morning and they give you a wristband which get you on to all the rides. This is a nice little extra which also makes it exceptional value for money. We have stayed at theme park hotels at parks in Europe and the US, where you get charged extra for park tickets so it was great to see that wasn’t the case here.

The theme park itself is stunning and I’ve written a separate review just of the theme park. There’s also a casino on site with various chain restaurants and the Apartheid Museum which are both easy walking distance, or the staff are more than happy to take you in the mini bus or golf buggy, just ask at reception, they did this several times for us.

The room felt a bit dated. The bed was comfortable enough, but the room just felt a bit bland and like it needed modernising. The front door to our room was very thin and that could do with being replaced. The light in the bathroom also stayed on permanently which was kind of annoying.

The hotel grounds are very nice. They have gardeners everywhere and they do an amazing job at keeping the gardens looking nice. We didn’t bother eating at Barney’s restaurant in the evening but we did have breakfast there which was also included (again, making it a great value experience).

The breakfast was pretty good, but at dinner time the restaurant looked too bright and didn’t look to have much atmosphere, so we instead ate at the restaurants over in the casino building which were ok, but nothing amazing.

There’s also a small pool at the hotel which had some table and chairs around it but surprisingly no sun loungers so we only sat by the pool once in the evening, when Barney’s bar was busy with a corporate function.

It looks like some new rooms are being built, and so perhaps the hotel are in the process of updating all the rooms.

Either way, I’d still return here. The location of the hotel, the helpfulness of the hotel staff, especially the reception team who were very kind and friendly, and the overall experience we had were all pretty excellent, so I’d definitely return and I’d recommend this hotel to others.

The hotel also offer an airport transfer service, our driver was very friendly and took us all the way to the hotel reception, which was very handy for us as we’d not visited before so would probably have got lost otherwise.

It’s also worth mentioning that the site is kept very safe. It’s gated and security staff are everywhere, as well as safes in the hotel rooms for valuables.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine v wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg South, South Africa
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Buy your tickets online! It saves time and you can avoid the queues, especially over weekends.

Go early, popular rides get very busy quickly. Loads of eateries, restaurants, take-out spots etc. A 4D theatre, with shows throughout the day, included in your themepark ticket price. Take note: 2 x ticket options - rider and non-rider.

So many rides and other entertainment. No dull moments here! Take a hat and sunscreen, summer is a scorcher.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AndrewRichard, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Charmain Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel We are thrilled you had a great stay and enjoyed the Theme Park to its fullest Warm Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
prashniegopi wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very unhappy and will not recommend this hotel to my friends and family due to the poor standards. This year was the first time we left gold reef city theme park hotel and my entire family said it wont be advisable to come back because of the cleaniness and poor quality of food.Renovations should be considered. many guests feel the same way and the hotel will be losing business.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AndrewRichard, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear Prashnie Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel We appreciate the feedback and have taken note of your feedback during your stay and specifically the issues that were raised at Barneys restaurant and were addressed on the evening in question Thank you once again for the feedback Kind Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
637kerstinr wrote a review Jan 2020
Cape Town Central, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay this time was rather unplanned and unexpected, but because of previous stays and my love for theme parks, I chose Gold Reef City. I must say that for close to R2000 a night, the room was super disappointing and feels like it is stripped to the bare minimum. There was no hotel directory, no air con remote, coffee was not refilled, no lotions, nothing extra at all that would justify the price. It also smelled miffy, and the airing machine just made that worse. Luckily the theme park makes up for some of it, and the receptionist / shuffle staff are all very good. But for the actual overnight stay, I will likely not come anymore as I think this is very poor value for money.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Richard, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Dear Kerstin Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay entirely. We have removed the Hotel directories from the rooms after surveying guests over an extended period to see if it was beneficial to our guests experience , the lack of amenities has been addressed with the Housekeeping team as all rooms are fully stocked on arrival and refreshed during guests stays I am pleased that you did enjoy the park and that the reception team made a positive impact during your stay and trust that you will return in the future Warm Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
retail2020 wrote a review Mar 2020
Ballito, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Always a pleasure to stay at the theme park hotel. Just a few issues during this stay. Gecko in room upon arrival. Staff are very noisy at 6 am outside your bedroom when you are trying to get some sleep. Not halal friendly, so cannot enjoy the breakfast. The security team need to be more friendly, very harsh especially when you ask for a cart to take you back to your room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Richard, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear Retail 2020 Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us barring the issue with security Barneys breakfast products which are fit for consumption by our Muslim clients are purchased from Halal certified suppliers , as are the products . The kitchen area is not halal or kosher due to the range of products within the area but the kitchen team are cognoscente not to cross contaminate various proteins etc prior to serving so you would be more than welcome to enjoy our breakfast Thank you once again for the review Kind regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fransbrandow wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was such a treat that the hotel restaurant baked a special cake for my wife's birthday and brought it to our room.
The shuttle service is fabulous and our driver always helpful and friendly. All in All great value and the staff make sure you ae aware of all the benefits.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Richard, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear Frans Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel Special occasions equal great memories and we are thrilled to have been part of a special birthday for your wife Nothing beats value for money and greats service and I am proud that my team delivered on your expectations Thank you once again for the fantastic review Warm Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TGD_being wrote a review Jul 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was the day before my birthday and I needed a quiet space to work. Siphiwe and his team were so accommodating to me and my family. They organised accommodation for us and took time to mind the little details like ensuring the room was warm upon arrival and they left me a slice of the yummiest chocolate cake with orange slices - a surprisingly divine pairing.

Thank you Siphiwe, Tshidi and Sebi. We really appreciated the exceptional service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sightseer51194054442 wrote a review Sept 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Gold Reef Theme Park Hotel from 6 to 9 September.
My room number was 131. Once entering the block of rooms, there was a sewerage smell on the ground floor.
The latch on my door lock was broken.
These are relatively insignificant against the poor service and food quality at the Barney Restaurant. On the Thursday night I ordered a fairly simple dish, fish and vegetables. I waited 45 min for the food and on arrival the vegetables were raw. Uncooked butternut is very hard to chew and swallow. I sent a piece back for the chef to try. The waiter came back and said the chef agrees. With that, he put down a bowl of salad, said sorry, and left.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mikeE653ZB wrote a review Jan 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Attitude can spoil a good thing. Customer service is key and treatment must always be the same as we all pay to use the facility. Our room had an awful smell and it wasn't what we booked. The assistant didn't handover our request to the late team and we had to wait longer than necessary
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AndrewRichard, General Manager at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel My apologies for the team not delivering on what should have been a seamless process , similarly for the room not being absolutely perfect on your arrival I have taken your issues up with my team to ensure that the delivery of a really great experience is first of mind Thank you once again for the review Kind Regards Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
themohuns wrote a review Jan 2022
Pinetown, South Africa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed with family for three nights. This was our second stay at the hotel but first time for my nephew and his parents as it was his birthday. I understand and accept Covid Changes but Breakfast has minimal and repetitive options. Theme Park cannot even be called one. It's just a glorified amusement park with rides and games. After interacting with some Eateries and fellow guests, closing times of those establishments should be extended past the closing times of the park. On a positive note, some of the staff both at the hotel and park were accomodating and helpful whilst I duly noted that others literally didn't even want to be there to do their jobs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mduplessis875 asked a question Oct 2018
Johannesburg, South Africa
Closest parking to the hotel?
Answer from Jacques B
Pretoria, South Africa107 contributions43 helpful votes
The hotel has its own secure parking close to the entrance. Security will direct you to it once you enter Gold Reef City.
FatmaRZahra asked a question Nov 2017
Amsterdam, The Netherlands6 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there WiFi in the rooms or anywhere within the hotel?
Answer from MoKad
Johannesburg, South Africa143 contributions67 helpful votes
Yes reasonable WiFi exists, although it’s capped so no heavy video streaming etc, okay for whatsapp/ FaceTime
Answer from Johan WC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa26 contributions5 helpful votes
There is a swimming pool at the Theme park hotel, but it was green when we were there in September. Also looked like a hangout spot for the staff, with all the hotel chairs standing around there.
EricS7184 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Gonubie, South Africa30 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you happy to wait hours to get on rides, then its worth a visit but if not, give it a skip. Spend your money elsewhere. "
Read full review
Passenger630718 wrote a tip Aug 2019
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"no comment"
Read full review
BoodyRocco wrote a tip Mar 2019
Johannesburg, South Africa73 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are quiet and there is no view in the surrounding area to be mentioned. There are also very good family rooms."
Read full review
Mick wrote a tip Dec 2018
Manorhamilton, Ireland147 contributions70 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room on the second floor, as they have a conference room on the first floor near the rooms."
Read full review
louise28olivier wrote a tip Sept 2018
Potchefstroom, South Africa23 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go! I'm sure all the rooms are awesome!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Johannesburg area.
PRICE RANGE
₹9,437 - ₹11,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
protea hotel johannesburg
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Southern Sun Gold Reef City Hotel
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgJohannesburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOLD REEF CITY THEME PARK HOTEL (Johannesburg) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Apartheid Museum (0.6 km), Gold Reef City (0.1 km), and Lyric Theatre (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Golden Falcon Spur Steak Ranch, Calisto's Portuguese Restaurant, and Anat.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (5.9 km), Johannesburg Fort (6.1 km), and Bus Factory (3.8 km).
All Johannesburg HotelsJohannesburg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in JohannesburgHotels near Gold Reef City Theme Park Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire