We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Residence Boutique Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 606: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the Residence and everything about it was perfect. Our first day was a quiet on at the hotel after our flight from the UK and we enjoyed 2.5 hours of the most amazing spa treatments on the rooftop spa. We enjoyed two evening meals in the restaurant and both times it was incredible! Including the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MKEG2014
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Finally, we were able to return to the Residence, which really has the residence/home away from home feeling for us! The combination of professionalism, coziness, pampering and a very personal feeling is exceptional and unique. Expecting a lot since it is indeed the best hotel we've ever stayed in, the Residence did not disappoint this time either. Rather, the "wows"...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stisnert
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff at hotel are very friendly and try best to make your stay a pleasure. But....the whole layout of hotel is poorly designed. The courtyard in the middle looks all nice, but the noise travels up into the rooms, making for a peaceful sleep almost impossible. Food is very basic, but adequate for any who don't wish to travel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am sorry to hear that you did not find the property to your liking and will take up the issues raised. From all of us here at The Residence, we would like to thank you once again and wish you all the very best.

Walnut Creek, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As with a number of other reviewers, we stayed only one night before heading up for safari, arriving after two marathon red-eye flights from the US west coast. We had no idea what to expect as this was our first visit to Jo'burg, but we were extremely pleased with the staff and facilities at The Residence. Since we were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RM_LiveAloha
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your feedback. Due to the property consisting of 3 large homes, that have been joined together, the challenges we faced was trying to even out the elevation changes. Regarding the proximity to a mall and restaurants, we do have a mall that one can walk to which is a...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed just one night en route to a safari holiday. A beautiful hotel, staff were very helpful at all times. The bedrooms are individual and very well appointed. The bed was so comfortable. The Dining Room was excellent one of the best meals we have had. We would love to return and stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwjedin
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and your compliments regarding our food, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here near the end of our time in SA. The hotel is exceedingly beautiful and calming. We were fairly tired, so we stayed in and relaxed. There is an amazing outdoor space! Our only complaint is that we ordered too much room service! They even packed us a nice breakfast in the morning since we had to leave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmarie208
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and would like to wish you all the very best and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful Hotel ,well appointed rooms,great premises,good food Downside was in small details : shower head - not working properly and required attention Sufficient size pool with relaxing facilities around it Otherwise excellent hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph D
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback we really appreciate it. We will most definitely look into the shower head, as pointed out, and would like to wish you all the very best from The Residence team.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After Safari two nights before the trip home was just the ticket.iits position as number one is truly justified,from the ambiance, service,food and feeling of luxury.the little add-ons, miniature amarula by the bed, complimentary sherry, sorbet by the well heated pool as well as complimentary coffee ,cake all added to the experience.believe the reviews this deserves to be number 1...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry C
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate your comments and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The...

Waterville, Maine
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Residence is a perfect first stop when traveling the South Africa, if you land in Jo-burg. Each room is an elegant suite; our had a whirlpool, which was perfect for unwinding after a 15-hour flight from Atlanta. The staff could not be more accommodating, providing drivers to take clients to the Apartheid Museum, which is a must stop, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicklaus
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we really and truly appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. From all of us here at The Residence, we would like...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just the most luxurious hotel I have ever visited. The quality of service is unparalleled... the design of the hotel is refreshing as well as exceptional in its ability to offer guests the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. A beautiful, opulent sanctuary. We will definitely be back! Thank you for a phenomenal stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaraBotha
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it, but more importantly are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future.

973 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (477)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (149)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (72)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Other (155)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (469)
Viewed
Amenities (60)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Pool Villa (136)
Viewed
Dining (87)
Viewed
Second Pool (5)
Viewed
Second Pool Villa (84)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)
Viewed
Third Pool (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
2.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.5 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
346 reviews
3.5 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
534 reviews
3.1 km away
The Peech Hotel
The Peech Hotel
#3 of 70 in Johannesburg
510 reviews
3.7 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Residence is a five star boutique hotel which is truly one of a kind. No effort has been spared in creating a warm, luxurious, elegant and inviting atmosphere. With eighteen designer suites with ultimate comfort and privacy, here you can sit back and take in the views of the garden, tennis court and pools. Explore the serene sanctuary of the senses with our spa and unwind in the sauna and steam room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Residence Boutique Hotel

Address: 17 4th Avenue | Houghton, Johannesburg 1477, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: ₹ 16,735 - ₹ 27,623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Residence Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Johannesburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#1 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#3 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Residence Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from The Residence Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not overlooking the courtyard, pool area”
 of 5 bubbles 710kenw, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be sure you have a whirlpool--some do not.”
 of 5 bubbles Nicklaus, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I stayed inside close to the spa with an outside bath and shower”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieMackinnon, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“When booking via the phone , ask for Suite 5”
  • Suite 5 Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles 771andrewr, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Madiba or pool suite are beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles 609leab, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5